We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like marmite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wild Rover Hostel Cusco
Ranked #14 of 437 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Like marmite”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

If you are a solo traveller, looking to make friends and have a wild time - this place is for you! Every night they have something going on from open mic nights, rock bands, fancy dress parties etc so there is always something to join in with.

If however, you like SLEEPING, I would definitely avoid this place. We were unfortunate enough to arrive on the open mic night, which started at 7pm and went on til 2am. The noise from the bar can be heard in every room in the hostel so there is no avoiding the noise. If you can sleep through concert volume noise, you will be ok.

The place is run by some Irish guys who get stuck in with the partying and drinking big time. If that's your bag, you will love this place. If however you are looking for somewhere quaint and quiet where you can actually get some sleep, I would look elsewhere, as I wish I had!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank castaway2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    149
    56
    30
    22
See reviews for
7
53
104
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medellin, Colombia
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2011

What can I say...this place is been by far the best hostel we have stayed in so far on our travels, every night there is something new between uv parties sing song nights etc. The place is brilliant for meeting new people and the staff and owners are so helpful, always will help you with any query you have whether its the location of something, how much a parcel home would be (they even weighed it for me and told me around how much it should be)! There is also a travel agency in the hostel which is beyond handy! The beds...oh god I miss those beds would literally rival your own at home!! This place was like a home away from home and the bar was actually like being back in a bar at home in Ireland!! We were close to tears leaving this place and would give anything to go back and stay here! We did nearly say good bye to our livers at one point but when in rome...and when there is always a serious party night...you cant say no!! Also the TV room for chill out nights is unreal...massive bean bags to relax in! Really loved this place and I have yet to meet someone that isnt sad leaving!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lcozie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Overall a good hostel with all facilities needed including comfortable beds and pillows.

HOWEVER, private rooms are located near where the staff stay and they are very noisy and inconsiderate (noiser than the travelers). At all hours of night they would open and close (read: bang) doors loudly and talk loudly in halls and outside guest rooms. Even when confronted there was no apology and admission of there inconsiderateness. Unfortunately for Wild Rover some of their supervisors were the worst offenders.

Overall the place was let down by some of the terrible staff (not the locals who were employed who were all very helpful and considerate).

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WebsterSpaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

This is by far the best hostel I stayed in while in Peru. I stayed there twice with friends and one alone, and both times were great!

The staff are lovely, can help out with everything (they broke the locks of my bag with pliers after I lost the keys). The prices are very reasonable, they have dorms, double rooms and girl only rooms (which have more bathroom facilities, mirrors and hairdryers available). Each room has a bathroom also, which is great compared to communal bathrooms, you are only sharing with the people in your room instead of the entire hostel.

The communal area is great two, although the computers are a little slow, but there are internet points all over cusco. There is a travel guide onsite which can organise tours for you.

The breakfast is good too, only bread and jam, but definately sufficient. The bar is fantastic, a great feel, and the cheapest happy hour I've ever seen, two drinks for s/6! Definately a must.

Also, as advertised, the most comfortable beds in south america, and they were great! A central location too. Overall, no complaints about this hostel!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cadence05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Stayed in the Wild Rover for over a week and it wasn´t long enough. The bar has a great atmosphere, but if you need a good kip, the rooms are far enough away from the music so that you can still sleep. Also, it´s true they have the comfiest beds in south america, by far!!I had altitude sickness when I arrived first and the staff were amazing giving me coca tea and hot lemon and honey drinks all day. Everyone from the reception to the bar staff to the door men were so helpful!It´s also right around the corner from the big market selling everything from alpaca to frogs!And just 2 blocks from the main plaza.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollymark2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mullingar,Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Great hostel to party and meet people and a good chill out area away from bar with bean bags.The rooms are far enough away from the bar to be affected by the sound from the bar,Had a great game of killer pool in the bar. Food is same as other wild rover hostel in la paz so not really a place for local cuisine. Excellent location walking distance of the main plaza.Supermarket right next door.Staff were sound.

Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank gecko36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Stayed there for a week in Sept 2011. Great craic and good staff. Theres also an Irish lad (Aidan) who does a walking tour of Cuscoe that is well worth doing. (just bring plenty of water) The breakfast is basic but at that altitude i found the bread jam and coffee really hit the spot and anything more would have been too much. There is an agency located in the hostel who can assist in organising any trips and activities in the area. The rooms are basic but we stayed in the couples room with an en suite bathroom and it was fine, if a little loud. The night staff are sound and really for the money i paid i was happy out with the service i received. They also do nice bar food and it's five minutes from the very center of town.

Room Tip: The couples rooms with en suite to me appeared to be a bit more secure than the dorms but it all see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irish-slappywag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
LOKI Cusco
LOKI Cusco
#5 of 437 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 437 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 437 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
#10 of 437 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kokopelli Hostel
Kokopelli Hostel
#7 of 437 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mama Simona Hostel
Mama Simona Hostel
#6 of 437 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Rover Hostel Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Rover Hostel Cusco

Property: Wild Rover Hostel Cusco
Address: Calle Cuesta Santa Ana 782, Cusco, Peru (Formerly Wild Rover Backpackers Hostel)
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 437 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All service Hostel with suites, pods and private rooms available. The best Irish bar in Cusco on site showing all live sports, amazing food options so you never have to leave the comfort of your accommodation. Games room, TV room, football tennis, big garden and free parking. 24 hour security and not to mention the best parties in all of Cusco. The new Wild Rover has taken hostels to another level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wild Rover Hostel Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing