We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Cusco”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wild Rover Hostel Cusco
Ranked #12 of 454 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Cusco”
Reviewed 23 December 2012

The best Wild Rover of the three, and I loved the other two as well! The atmosphere here is just great, no matter what time of day. The staff are really friendly and the rooms are nice and clean. The bar is the best bar I've been to in South American hostels, great people and the fod they serve is good value and quality. The hostel is in a great location as well, safe and easy to get to and from the clubs and bars in the centre. Friends of ours staying in Loki spent their whole time with us in the Wild Rover and some of the guys from Milhouse hang out here as well. The best hostel is Cusco by far.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrazyPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    150
    58
    32
    22
See reviews for
7
53
106
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

I checked into this hostel knowing full well what to expect: a lively scene and an interesting habitat. The facilities are great, plenty of showers and toilets, spacious beds, great bar, good kitchen, and friendly staff. The location is awesome too, right next to Av San Francisco chock full of restaurants and bars. The in-house travel agent is awesome and can book your tour to Colca Canyon : a must-see!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasonSLTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caen, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Good hostel with comfy beds, hot showers with good pressure and great food at the bar.
The staff wasn't as helpful as the one in Arequipa, with the exception of one americano peruvian guy.
Wifi was good.
Big downer that there was no plugs in the rooms, and my laptop didnt fit in the lockers (did in the other wildrover in arequipa)
All in all a good hostel, but Cusco was not a good experience for me so I wouldnt recommend you stay too long there.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie_Astrid_FR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Comfy beds, nice hot showers, great menu in the kitchen. Basic bread and butter/jam with coffee and tea for included breakfast. Fun Irish bar with happy hour. Helpful staff and clean rooms/bathrooms. Close to plaza de armas and San Pedro markets.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank em119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Stayed a couple of days, in double rooms. Quitecomfortable beds, but must say is not the cleanest place. No major problems with hot water/pressure. We were expecting a bit more noice, but th experenice was ok in tha t aspect. o a bad option to stay in Cuzco

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greta p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Not as good as the Arequipa Wild Rover at all... more expensive, dirtier, quieter bar but noisier rooms. My main disappointment was when I was using the computer service one morning. One of the bar staff came over and told us he was disconnecting the internet on all three computers so that they could stream the football in the bar!! He then had a massive go at us when we objected. All three o us using computers were at the time either booking flights, writing a job application and sorting accomodation! Soo unbelievably rude and arrogant. Kind of ruined my opinion of the place. Would not reccomend- go to lovely Pariwana across the road.

Room Tip: Away from the bar if at all possible. Bigger dorms are more fun and cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broughton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

This hostel is only there for people who want to party. If you want a quiet night's sleep then stay somewhere else!

It's nowhere near as nice as the Wild Rover in La Paz, but it does the same thing - loads of people in the bar, traveller staff and parties every night. It's in a really good location near the main plaza, which is good.

I stayed in a 4 bed room with an en suite and it was okay. My bed was comfy and the lockers were big bit the en suite was absoltely filthy, and the 2 days we were there it wasn't cleaned and the toilet paper wasn't replenished. I expected there to at least be a bathmat/towel on the floor, but as there wasn't, all the water and dirt mixed and it was disgusting.

I woldn't recommend this hostel, stay in the Kokopelli instead, it was fantastic!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Ninos Hotel Meloc
Ninos Hotel Meloc
#21 of 167 in Cusco
1,095 reviews
0.1 mi away
LOKI Cusco
LOKI Cusco
#5 of 454 in Cusco
1,344 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 454 in Cusco
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 454 in Cusco
446 reviews
0.5 mi away
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
#10 of 454 in Cusco
742 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mama Simona Hostel
Mama Simona Hostel
#6 of 454 in Cusco
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Rover Hostel Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Rover Hostel Cusco

Property: Wild Rover Hostel Cusco
Address: Calle Cuesta Santa Ana 782, Cusco, Peru (Formerly Wild Rover Backpackers Hostel)
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 454 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All service Hostel with suites, pods and private rooms available. The best Irish bar in Cusco on site showing all live sports, amazing food options so you never have to leave the comfort of your accommodation. Games room, TV room, football tennis, big garden and free parking. 24 hour security and not to mention the best parties in all of Cusco. The new Wild Rover has taken hostels to another level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wild Rover Hostel Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing