We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Francisco Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
San Francisco Plaza Hotel
Ranked #65 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

Clean, neat, lovely staff. Welcomed with a cup of coca tea and by warm, friendly staff. Beds are comfortable, and warm. Large shower and bathroom. Wifi is just in the lobby, but it is nice to go out and sit there on comfortable sofas. Breakfast buffet is lovely. Hot water/ coca tea available 24/7. Breakfast from 5am-10am. There is lunch and dinner and a alcohol bar there if desired. Downtown is 10min walk. The place is like a little medieval castle... lots of character. Staff are very helpful. Tours come to the hotel to pick you up, well known hotel. Convenience store 5min walk away. Lots of great restaurants 5-10min walk away. Cusco is an awesome place, highly recomment you spend a few nights there. Nice to go on city tour + day trips and come back to Cusco. Lovely local people. I only spoke English, easy to get by.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reviewingdec2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    146
    44
    9
    12
See reviews for
70
107
30
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

i stayed in this hotel on my way to machu picchu it was great the staff were pleasant and helpfull and the chef new how to cook, the food was fantastic, and the most helpfull of all were the desk staff who went out of there way to help me navigate the city,all mesages were given as soon as i entered the hotell, the room was spotless and large, i also had three beds, i am going back to machu picchu again next year and this is the hotel i will stay at. for service, quality, and price. this hotel has it all........ignore the winers they are never satisfide with anything

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norman m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuscoJim, Director General at San Francisco Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Google Translation
Estimada Huésped,

Gracias por tomarse el tiempo de compartir sus buenos comentarios sobre su experiencia durante su estancia en el Hotel, estamos realmente complacidos de saber que pudimos exceder sus expectativas en todo sentido.

Esperamos contar con su visita en un futuro cercano.

Atentamente,
Jimmy Cruz Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

There were 4 of us. We got a big room, but by the looks of it, about 7 people total would fit in this room. For some reason in Peru, to find a big room for two couples was impossible. So, they gave us a suite of sorts. There were two double beds and one single bed and then a pullout sofa. A ton of people would fit there.

This place has no elevators and we were on the 4th floor. Since you can't breath yet due to freakin' elevation the 4th floor climb felt like Mt. Everest. Seriously! They will help you with your luggage ofcourse, but we tipped. YOU SHOULD TOO!

The views from their roof are stunning and picture worthy. Amazing, amazing, amazing.

Mel at the front desk was a gem. She helped us with everything we needed. She speaks perfect English and very knowledgable. We went to Macchu Picchu from this hotel and we left a brand new $600 phone behind. The phone was found and returned to us with a charger. We came back for a night after Macchu Picchu. I found Cuzco to be absolutely breathtaking. It is also a bit sketchy and dangerous. It seems to me that unless you are on a street with hotels or a touristy area in general - you are in a dangerous area with locals and absense of security, police, etc. This place was similar. Great hotel, good location, but a wrong turn and you are in a very unfriendly neighborhood. This place serves coka tea as they welcome you in and a nice breakfast with hot breads, juices, eggs on some days, and cheese. Simple, but good.

ONE THING I HAVE TO SAY ABOUT THIS PLACE. I have been to five continents. I have slept in many hotels. As lovely as this place is - THEIR PILLOWS WERE THE WORST IN THE WORLD. I have no idea why or what's in them, but their pillows suck. That is my only complaint.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alek2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

I would never recommend this place to anyone!!!
The environment is terrible ... dark and depressing.
The staff works grudgingly.
The breakfast was cold and the bread seemed to be old. It was not possible to eat there.
You have no privacy in the rooms. You can listen to what happens in the next room and outside, in addition, if your window is facing the hall, the curtains are not enough to give you total privacy. The two days that I was in this hotel seemed like an eternity.
If you want to have an enjoyable trip, consider another option!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmo_Nella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

I recently visited this hotel and it exceeded my expectations. I was looking for a different hotel but it was sold out for the days I needed. I'm glad it was! As soon I entered the hotel I knew my trip would be unforgettable (and it wasn't as expensive as the hotel I originally checked). The manager, Roy, helped us with everything- make sure you meet him. Beside the luxury and beautiful decor it felt very family-friendly. It was close to the main plaza and local attractions. They have a patio on the roof so make sure to go there and take many pictures, even at night, because the view is awesome.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuscoJim, Director General at San Francisco Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Google Translation
Estimada Huésped.

A nombre de los colaboradores de San Francisco Plaza Hotel, reciba nuestro atento saludo por haber dejado tan motivador comentario acerca de nuestro servicio, es muy importante para nosotros saber que logramos cubrir sus expectativas, sus apreciaciones a cerca de nuestro servicio nos impulsan a seguir mejorando en lo que más nos gusta hacer - servir a nuestros huéspedes -. Sin otro particular esperamos que en alguna otra oportunidad vuelva a visitar Cusco y se hospede con nosotros será un placer servirle nuevamente.

Atentamente.

Jimmy Cruz Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pawtucket, RI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

My trip to Peru was beautiful. My advice is don't spend time in Lima (there is not much to see). As soon you get there, fly to Cusco stay in this hotel. It feels like a 5-star hotel with excellent rooms, service, decor, location, and view. We stayed in a two-floor suite with a balcony, hot tub, and sitting area. The ambiance is romantic and has a classic yet modern feel, with stone walls, gorgeous arcs, fountains, statues, and rooftop patio with a spectacular view of the city, even at night. It is also a stone's throw from the main square.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuscoJim, Director General at San Francisco Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Google Translation
Estimada Huésped,

Gracias por tomarse el tiempo de compartir sus buenos comentarios sobre su experiencia durante su estancia en el Hotel, estamos realmente complacidos de saber que pudimos exceder sus expectativas en todo sentido.

Esperamos contar con su visita en un futuro cercano.

Atentamente,
Jimmy Cruz Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland Hills, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We started our adventure in Cusco, Peru with staying at the San Francisco Plaza Hotel. It was an assigned hotel by Best Peru Tours. We were only going by their recommendation. When we arrived they welcomed us with a cup of Coca Tea, copied our passports and promptly assigned us our room. The room was the "Tika Suite" with a double person jacuzzi tub, King size loft bed and cable TV. The hotel & bed was extremely clean, the staff exceptionally welcoming, polite and helpful and the hotel is located within walking distance of anything you may desire to see in Cusco; shopping, restuarants, churches, plaza's (and we're in our seventies) and we travel a lot. They had a complimentary breakfast buffet every day which was was delicious and had a great variety of foods offered. They would fry you an egg if they were serving scrambled eggs that day on the buffet. If you're tired in the evening the in hotel restaurant is to be recommended and serves food late. They had a variety of musical entertainments going on in the hotel the various nights we were there. Just an example of their honesty we accidentally dropped a money pouch while we were exchanging dollars for solares and didn't miss it for a half an hour or so. Went down to see if they had found it and they had and not a penny was missing. Their front desk help was so kind in helping us get our boarding pass, locating businesses in town and taking all our messages of what was happening the next day. Yes, we were very pleased with the San Francisco Plaza Hotel and June was a great month to visit Peru. Not too many people and the weather was perfect the whole 10 days.

Room Tip: Any room in the house is good but we also liked our second room we stayed in which was on the 3rd fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JayLeeWoodlandHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuscoJim, Director General at San Francisco Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Google Translation
Estimado huésped,

Muchas gracias por darse el tiempo de dejarnos sus comentarios en la web de tripadvisor, los cuales aprecio mucho ya que demuestran que tuvo una estadía grata con nosotros.
Gracias por mencionar el excelente servicio brindado por el personal, siempre dispuesto a ayudarlo en todo momento, también por destacar las características de nuestro hotel y por recomendarnos.

Cordialmente,

Jimmy Cruz Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.6 mi away
San Agustin International Hotel
1.0 mi away
Samay Hotel
Samay Hotel
#102 of 162 in Cusco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anden Inca Hotel
Anden Inca Hotel
#85 of 162 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garcilaso
Hotel Garcilaso
#63 of 162 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cusco Kenamari Hotel
Cusco Kenamari Hotel
#78 of 162 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Suenos del Inka
Hotel Suenos del Inka
#55 of 162 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Plaza Hotel

Property: San Francisco Plaza Hotel
Address: Calle Ceniza 147, Cusco 084, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — San Francisco Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Francisco Plaza Hotel is a three star hotel which is located in the heart of Cusco the ancient capital of the Incas Empire, located three blocks from the Plaza de Armas, main square of Cusco , where is located the cathedral and most museums and attractions of the city.Our hotel is in a large and beautiful colonial house, where they celebrated the traditional festival of the Cruz Velacuy Mr. Ash, which has been restored seeking to preserve the typical characteristics of colonial architecture in order to give our tourists recognized attraction, has 30 rooms, two patio and porch elements characteristic of the colonial architecture of Cusco, the facade has three balconies with beautiful wood carvings typical of a colonial house and an area of ​​dream sleep.San Francisco Plaza Hotel is designed to give the best quality and individualized service to our guests with all necessary facilities. Our hotel offers great hospitality and a warm hug service to make your trip unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your San Francisco Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing