We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Improve the service!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Francisco Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
San Francisco Plaza Hotel
Ranked #65 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Improve the service!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

The service at the Front Desk did not fill our expectations, my friend and I stayed for two nights there and the agents were not symphatics. Smiling is the best thing to have in a receptionist. Besides that the lack of communication was very poor between them. During the night we spoke with the recption to have a late check out at 11:00 due to our fly and the receptionist of the morning was not inform, they call us at 10:00 to get out of the room. The first night the location of the room was very bad and was not warm enough.
Even though the service at breakfast was good, people was friendly and the food was delicious.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuscoJim, Director General at San Francisco Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Google Translation
Estimado huésped, muchas gracias por dejar sus comentarios en la web tripadvisor, los mismos que nos servirán para mejorar en la calidad de nuestros servicios, disculpe por los inconvenientes que tuvo durante su estadía. Estoy tomando nota para corregirlos.

Atentamente.

Saludos Cordiales
Jimmy Cruz Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    147
    45
    9
    12
See reviews for
70
108
31
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

I'm working in Northern Peru for a few months so I was able to book my flight and hotel with LAN, which gave me a better deal on the hotel ($60USD per night instead of $80)...but even for 80 dollars, I think it's totally worth it. The hotel was very nice and clean, comfortable rooms and beds, and most importantly, beautifully luxurious bathrooms with fancy showers that made me never want to leave.

The staff was friendly and helpful, though it should be notes that I am fluent in Spanish, so I can't speak for purely anglophone tourists on the subject of staff helpfulness...

I also found the location to be quite central and convenient, yet far enough from the Plaza de Armas (about a good 5-6 minute walk) that you don't hear all the noise and commotion from the centre.

Overall, I would recommend it, if you can afford it, and I myself would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shabri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuscoJim, Director General at San Francisco Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Google Translation
Estimado huésped,
Agradecemos ante todo el tiempo dedicado a darnos su opinión sobre nuestras instalaciones y servicio, acabamos de recibir con mucho agrado su invalorable opinión y son muy motivadoras para todo el equipo del Hotel.
Agradecemos su preferencia y estamos alegres de haber contribuido a que pase un buen viaje en nuestro país y ciudad.
Reciba un cordial saludo y los mejores deseos de parte del equipo del San Francisco Plaza Hotel
Muy cordialmente,
Jimmy Cruz Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

Having been traveling in Peru for 10 days I had basic expectations of hotels and their services. As my trip was planned, I spent two nights at the San Francisco Plaza Hotel. The first was during Festival so I cut them a bit of slack (in my head). I was on the fourth floor in a slanted room that even me, five foot four, continually bumped my head on the low ceiling. The room was clean and presented well but had no heat nor enough water pressure to flush the toilet. Dinner was convenient but seemed an expensive Kraft meal. After a very chilly night, I was awakened shockingly around four am, when fellow travelers were rolling their luggage (no lift) down the stairs. Upon leaving the Hotel, I shared my experience and they assured me a different room when I returned.
Second night at the San Francisco Plaza. Imagine my delight to find I am now booked in a "Suite". Giant tub, beautiful shower, King bed... the works. I was very pleased and went to get my 77 year old mother settled in her room. Some time later I returned to my suite, expecting my luggage to be inside, it had been deposited in the hall. Usually, in my experience, bags are secured inside a room. Later that evening, the beautiful shower I spoke of sprayed water over the entire bathroom, filing it quickly with an inch of water. It was the fancy sort with six heads all looking different directions. I ran to turn the water off, slipped on the giant tub and fell (ouch on my scapula and leg, new bruises). The sink leaked, the shower sprayed and leaked, it was a mess. The worse part was, I was given two moth eaten towels that absorbed nothing. I resorted to using my own tops to save their hardwoods (shame on me). This toilet did flush, I have to say. And, I had heat.
5:30 came quickly and loudly. I carried my bags down to the dining hall, kept my parka on due to the frigid temperature they maintain, and ate an average breakfast. My advice, go somewhere else, spend a few more dollars. Or, stay at a Hostel.

Room Tip: Hard to say, my two rooms were equally bad for different reasons
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LolaBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuscoJim, Gerente at San Francisco Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
We strongly apologize for the inconvenient that you had during your stay at our hotel san francisco.

the water pressure you are referring in your comment was due to the opening off a new tubs in our street permitted by the Municipality of Cusco We have talked to the Municipality and the problem has been solved. and about the room here in cusco we have a colonial houses and one of them is our hotel and the municipality don't give us the permition to build the room high to preserve the colonial house. about the problem with your bathroom is because you didn't n know how to use the control of our shower that is why the problem that you have in our shower, about the towels if you wanted more towels you should have ask to the front desk an we lovely bring you to the room as well as to your luggage problem.

Once again, we strongly apologize for the bad night that you had during your stay at our hotel and we hope to have the opportunity of serving you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

The hotel was very clean and the personnel was always willing to serve their customers. Location was very convenient. Breakfast buffets were good. The options were limited but the available ones were very good.

Room Tip: Make sure to turn on the heater during the cold nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eortega1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuscoJim, Director General at San Francisco Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Google Translation
Estimado huésped.

Muchas gracias por compartir su experiencia con nosotros, yo aprecio mucho sus comentarios ya que nos da la oportunidad de conocer su opinión sobre nuestros servicios y nos ayudará a mejorar para ofrecer un mejor servicio.

Cordialmente

Saludos Cordiales
Jimmy Cruz Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocoa, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

We rented the honeymoon suite for two nights. But the jets in the bathtub didn't work, the tub was the main reason we rented the room. You can hear everything in your room that is going on in the lobby. And after we got home from a long day at Machu Picchu, arriving back at 8:45, we were hungry and tried to order something from the hotel restaurant. We were told they were closed, even though they advertised that they stayed open till 9. The hotel knows that most their guests return late from Machu Picchu, why wouldn't they keep their restaurant open later to accommodate? Great hot breakfast though! It was a nice place but would pick something a bit nicer next time.

Room Tip: Don't rent the honeymoon suite, not worth the extra money. It is a 2-story room, bathroom and l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank floridabeyondusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuscoJim, Director General at San Francisco Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por compartir su experiencia con nosotros, yo aprecio mucho sus comentarios ya que nos da la oportunidad de conocer su opinión sobre nuestros servicios. Yo creo que los comentarios de nuestros huéspedes son una herramienta poderosa para mejorar el servicio.
Me gustaría informarle de que tomamos nota de todas las cuestiones que usted ha mencionado. Había tomado acción sobre las cuestiones de servicio que estaban fallando, las cuales ya fueron corregidas.
Una vez más, por favor, acepte mis más sinceras disculpas.

Cordialmente,

Saludos Cordiales
Jimmy Cruz Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

I recently (april 2013) stayed at this hotel. Staff were super friendly and helpful. I cant fault them. They tried to anticipate and fulfil our request in a timely and helpful manner. The hotel facilities were lovely, the deco made you feel as if you were imbedded in the history of Cusco. The bedrooms were comfy, there was plenty of hotwater and the room was clean daily.
The hotel food was good, thou the menu could do with more choices and also better quality of paper. The only thing, I would have like to have tea and coffee facilities in my bedroom, rather than having to do the trip to the main lounge every time I needed a cuppa.
The hotel is only 5 minutes away from the city center.
I will definitely stay here again and I highly recommend it to any visitors of Cusco.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mokaonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuscoJim, Director General at San Francisco Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Google Translation
Estimado huésped, muchas gracias por dejar sus comentarios en la web tripadvisor, los mismos que nos servirán para mejorar en la calidad de nuestros servicios, disculpe por los inconvenientes que tuvo durante su estadía. Estoy tomando nota para corregirlos.

Atentamente.

Saludos Cordiales
Jimmy Cruz Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

This was my daughter and I second trip to Peru, we were there in 2010. I loved the location of this comfortable, clean, attentive hotel. We could walk from here to the main square a short two blocks away, and from there easily to famous artisan's market. Sometimes everything is not perfect and this was one of those journeys, I got ill, BUT, staff at the hotel arranged a physician to come to the hotel, VERY QUICKLY, and my care at the local tourist clinic hospital was everything I needed. Very different from American hospitals, they did all that I needed and no more. I am so impressed with this country. I love Peru! I do not have pictures. The showers were HOT, and powerful sprays, daily changes of bedding and towels etc. and the Hotel itself is beautiful charm. You can walk to the rooftop and see Cusco surrounding area; the view up there at night was a sea of lights. The staff responded to my emergency instantly, I spent one night at the hospital but returned to a room cleaned and staff concerned for my well being.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patti60878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuscoJim, Director General at San Francisco Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Google Translation
Estimada Huésped.

A nombre de los colaboradores de San Francisco Plaza Hotel, reciba nuestro atento saludo por haber dejado tan motivador comentario acerca de nuestro servicio, es muy importante para nosotros saber que logramos cubrir sus expectativas, sus apreciaciones a cerca de nuestro servicio nos impulsan a seguir mejorando en lo que más nos gusta hacer - servir a nuestros huéspedes -. Sin otro particular esperamos que en alguna otra oportunidad vuelva a visitar Cusco y se hospede con nosotros será un placer servirle nuevamente .

Atentamente.

Jimmy Cruz Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.6 mi away
San Agustin International Hotel
0.4 mi away
Anden Inca Hotel
Anden Inca Hotel
#87 of 162 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garcilaso
Hotel Garcilaso
#63 of 162 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Taypikala Cusco
Hotel Taypikala Cusco
#27 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cusco Kenamari Hotel
Cusco Kenamari Hotel
#78 of 162 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
1.0 mi away
Samay Hotel
Samay Hotel
#105 of 162 in Cusco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Plaza Hotel

Property: San Francisco Plaza Hotel
Address: Calle Ceniza 147, Cusco 084, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — San Francisco Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Francisco Plaza Hotel is a three star hotel which is located in the heart of Cusco the ancient capital of the Incas Empire, located three blocks from the Plaza de Armas, main square of Cusco , where is located the cathedral and most museums and attractions of the city.Our hotel is in a large and beautiful colonial house, where they celebrated the traditional festival of the Cruz Velacuy Mr. Ash, which has been restored seeking to preserve the typical characteristics of colonial architecture in order to give our tourists recognized attraction, has 30 rooms, two patio and porch elements characteristic of the colonial architecture of Cusco, the facade has three balconies with beautiful wood carvings typical of a colonial house and an area of ​​dream sleep.San Francisco Plaza Hotel is designed to give the best quality and individualized service to our guests with all necessary facilities. Our hotel offers great hospitality and a warm hug service to make your trip unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your San Francisco Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing