We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mama Simona Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mama Simona Hostel
Ranked #6 of 401 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

nice and cozy place, you do feel comfortable and welcomed. bit cold, though, especially in the lobby(the couch there is veeeeery dirty-needs cleaning from time to time:). we loved it cause the check out is at 1 pm :) extremely nice staff!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellashmella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    209
    64
    16
    2
See reviews for
54
227
95
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Molde, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for three days while adjusting to the altitude before embarking om a 4 day Inca-trail hike.

We got the room overlooking the common area with 3-4 windows. We LOVED it!

Decided to return for a couple of nights to re-charge after our hike and got another room. It was fine but hardly compared to the one we got to stay in earlier. That one was extra-ordinary, so if you stay here - ask for that one :D

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SigurdurMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

we stayed 2 nights (1 before our trek and 1 after) and wanted to stay longer but they did an uncredible mess with the booking.

+ nice place with cozy common areas
+ free wifi (however not in the rooms and not very reliable)
+ good breakfast

what has to be improved:
- improve your booking system!!!!
- make sure that guests get their confirmed room (we got an bunk bed although we had a confirmed booking for a twin)
- do not throw guests with a confirmed booking out (we assume that they needed our room for a big group)
- make sure that guests do not have to deal with booking/room matters during their stay (we lost a lot of time because of their mess)
- do not touch the stuff of your guest and for sure do not throw things away (our water bottle was missing)
- be generous if you do so crazy misstakes (we had to change the hostel and they did not even pay the taxi...)

our conclusion: to be avoided - it is actually a nice place but this does not help you if you have to deal your whole time with booking matters and if you cannot rely on your confirmed booking... sad!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swisscouple1983-rtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

A very good and affordable hostel. The rooms are nice and they have dorms as well doubles with or without private bathroom (which are hot and clean!). The rooms have a good price but were fully booked when we arrived at Cusco, so we could only spend one night there. The staff luckily arranged a room in another hostel which I experienced as good service.

If you want to stay here, which I recommend, it may be smart to book in advance.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lottevw90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Basic accommodation, you do get what you pay for at this hostel. Staff were friendly and helpful, however this hostel seems to be more geared up to the younger traveller. Unfortunately for us our room was situated on the same floor as the dorms and directly opposite the communal toilets. We found that there was a lot of noise due to the number of guests and unfortunately on our second evening we were kept awake into the small hours by a group of students who were celebrating a birthday. Although not ones to be party poopers, this was unfair on the other guests, having to listen to foul language, vomiting and un-tuneful singing (we can laugh about this now!). All in all, a cheap and cheerful place to stay but probably a place for the younger traveller.
We raised our concerns the next morning and felt that the hostel dealt with this to the best of their abilities which we were happy with.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewandbex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

We were so pleased we found this place, and a bit gutted we didn't stay longer. It was so homely, immediately we got there we met people in the communal area. The room was lovely, beds amazingly comfortable and the duvets did not disappoint!
Shower was hot and powerful, everything was clean, and the breakfast was really good. Kitchen facilities seemed good if you want to cook and there was coca tea and coffee available all day.
Staff weren' very communicative but helped us when we needed it

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenT12_3456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibenik, Croatia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Clean and nice hostel located in center of town. Staff is frendly, helpfull and they speak good english. There is also kitchen that you can use and a common place where you can meet other people. I would recommend it and go there again. We slept very well there. And also we had breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nestashna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#104 of 162 in Cusco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Golden Inca
Hotel Golden Inca
#36 of 162 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 401 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
#9 of 401 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 401 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.6 mi away
Supertramp Hostel Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mama Simona Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mama Simona Hostel

Property: Mama Simona Hostel
Address: Calle Ceniza 364 | Barrio de San Pedro, Cusco 260408 , Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 401 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mama Simona Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel is named after the sacred peak Mama Simona – the only female mountain deity among twelve others surrounding Cusco. Mama Simona Hostel is like a good conversation over a cup of coca tea rather than a wild party; a comfortable and welcoming refuge away from the standard “just-another-hostel” kind of place; simple wooden furniture and lots of room rather than cramped kitschy interiors. Staying with Mama Simona is like being invited into the warmth of a Peruvian home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Mama Simona Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing