We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy Hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mama Simona Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mama Simona Hostel
Ranked #6 of 409 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Comfy Hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Mama Simona Hostel is cute and quaint. It has a very homestyle comfortable feeling and is located on a quieter street within 5-7 minutes walking distance from the Main Square. The staff are extremely polite and helpful (from arranging for a taxi to assisting with local phone calls). They are also very hard-working as the communal areas and washroom are always clean. For the four of us, the rooms we stayed in pre-Inca Trek were 2 private bedrooms. Both rooms and bathrooms were spacious and clean. Post-Inca Trek we stayed in 2 bunk-bed rooms. Again relatively spacious and very clean. The added bonus was that all the beds were comfortable with warm duvet covers too. I wasn't expecting that for a hostel! However, the water pressure for the showers is a bit weak but there is hot water. I tried to avoid showering between the typical 10pm-12am, which worked out well for me.

The free daily breakfast consists of bread with jam/butter, and a fresh juice. Coca tea available all the time from the dining room as well as the lounge. For an additional 3.50 sols you can also get an omelette or a hot ham with cheese sandwich. We tried both and they were delicious. We also noticed that the kitchen is for communal use for lunch and dinner times. It looked a little small but everything including the fridge looked very clean and well-organized. I encourage other travellers to make use of the kitchen as it can sure save a lot of money and time. Or maybe meet new friends, cook together?

But for dining out, we really recommend eating at Kushka..Fe Cafe Restaurante, Inka Grill, Limo and Jack's Cafe. All are within walking distance from Mama Simona Hostel.

Nothing about Mama Simona Hostel made us uncomfortable or unhappy during our stay. We were very satisfied and glad to have chosen this place. We will happily recommend to others, too!
One tidbit that sort of annoyed me however, is the lady from the travel agency within Mama Simona Hostel. She seemed very pushy with her tour packages and the prices are clearly way more expensive. Just be sure to do your research, first.

Room Tip: Because the hostel has old floor boards, they do creak a bit when people walk (more noticeably at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pattochan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    210
    64
    16
    2
See reviews for
54
227
98
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Mama Simona Hostel exceeded our expectations. A very friendly place, where the staff will go out of their way to be helpful to the wayward traveler. Centrally located, you are on a side street which means less traffic and noise. This is not a party hostel. It has a central hall with a wonderful sky light where you can meet people and enjoy complementary coca tea, but the mood is mellow and we never were bothered by noise in the evening even though our room was close to the central hall. The internet worked fine, and the showers where great.
While we where here, the staff figured out it was my daughters birthday and offered her a cake. Nice touch!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christophe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

This is a well located hostel about a 7 min walk from the historic centre & restaurants. Staff are helpful & speak English and they helped us out by booking taxis for us to the train and bus stations. The hostel is very clean and importantly, the showers were hot. There is a supermarket 5 mins walk away except the kitchen is very small so cooking is near impossible. Breakfast is the usual South American fare of coffee, tea, bread rolls and jam but they have toasted sandwiches and omelettes available for purchase for about 3 or 4 soles. This was a really quiet hostel, most people staying are either resting before or after Machu Picchu so most people are in bed by 10pm. Wi-Fi only works downstairs. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

I'd definitely recommend this hostel for anyone travelling to Cusco. Firstly it is well located in the centre and feels very safe. The staff are very friendly and are more than willing to help out with any problem, big or small. The rooms are decent, with comfy beds and big lockers and the bathrooms have hot showers are are very clean. You can get wifi in the rooms too. There is a great kitchen, with good space to keep both dried and fresh food and a nice sized dining room with a TV. There's also big lockers to keep your backpack when you do the trek, and a great in house travel agency to book it for you. It is so hard to fault this hostel as the design and atmosphere is great and the price is very good. There's no bar but Cusco is brimming with good restaurants and bars so it isn't really needed. It felt like a home from home.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jess G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

If you are traveling on short budget and are looking for a comfortable place, a good location, 5 blocks from Main Plaza, 3 blocks from the Main Market, Mama Simona its the perfect choice.
Includes breakfast, wifi.
Friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ernesto O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

It was our first experience in a hostel but it far Beyond our expectations.
The room was spacious and comfortable, the cleaning of the room was included in the price and very well done. After long excursions the hot water in the shower was highly apreciated.
The staff was nice and friendly, the in-house presence of a travel agency was a great plus since it made our last-minute arrangements very convenient.
We definitely liked the decoration of the public areas.

I would definitely recommend this place..

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gent, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Mama Simona is a fantastic place in Cusco.
We arrived at 5 in the morning because our bus arrived too early. And the man at the reception took care of us. We could rest in the sofas. Off course we fell asleep. At 7 he gave us a room, while normally check-in is at 1 pm. Then he even carried my backpack to the room because I was sooo tired. Just to say service is great!!!
Its very beautiful, cosy, GREAT beds, nice showers, perfect internet, friendly service, next to the center... What do you want more?!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieBurez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#114 of 163 in Cusco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Golden Inca
Hotel Golden Inca
#35 of 163 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 409 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 409 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.3 mi away
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
#10 of 409 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kokopelli Hostel
Kokopelli Hostel
#7 of 409 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mama Simona Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mama Simona Hostel

Property: Mama Simona Hostel
Address: Calle Ceniza 364 | Barrio de San Pedro, Cusco 260408 , Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 409 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mama Simona Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel is named after the sacred peak Mama Simona – the only female mountain deity among twelve others surrounding Cusco. Mama Simona Hostel is like a good conversation over a cup of coca tea rather than a wild party; a comfortable and welcoming refuge away from the standard “just-another-hostel” kind of place; simple wooden furniture and lots of room rather than cramped kitschy interiors. Staying with Mama Simona is like being invited into the warmth of a Peruvian home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mama Simona Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing