We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hostel”
Review of Mama Simona Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mama Simona Hostel
Ranked #7 of 480 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014

As many people, I stayed here before doing a trek to the Machu Picchu.
The hostel is good and clean. There are various dorms available, all of them are comfortable. The bathrooms are clean and there are hot showers. There are lockers where you can store your luggage while you go on a trek.
There is a comfy common area. Wifi is best in this area. Breakfast is basic (bread is really good and fresh). If you pay extra, you can get eggs and sandwiches too.
The staff is helpful. I arrived in Cusco very early and I got a blanket and could sleep on the couch. Only downside is that there was a lot of confusion on which dorm I was staying. One minute it is possible to stay in a small dorm and the next minute it is not.
The hostel is in a good location; in a quiet side street. About 5 mins from San Pedro Market and 15 mins from Plaza del Armas.
Good place to stay here when going to Cusco.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank askok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (624)
There are newer reviews for Mama Simona Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

149 - 155 of 624 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

This place provides a comfortable, quiet option, so you get a good night's sleep and are not far from all that you want to do and see in Cusco. Staff are very friendly; there are always 2 PCs available for guests; constant supply of cacoa tea and the showers are great.

You can stay in dorms or rooms, we chose a double with en-suite and it was fine. This is not a luxury hostel but it is comfortable and excellent value. We were cold in our room and were supplied with an extra quilt without any hassle.

Breakfast is very basic but an omelette or toasted sandwich is only 3 soles extra; the coffee is excellent and the catering equipment is enough for you to cook a complete meal if you desire.

This is a good choice hostel for all types of traveller.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BritoninAnkara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This place was my temporary home while exploring the Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu. It was perfect because the dorms were never full, (in March) beds were very comfortable, and the place was super clean. The social atmosphere wasn't the best, but I still met one or two people in the time I stayed there. I would highly recommend this place if you are looking for a place to rest and relax before or after Machu Picchu or if you want a hostel with a little more peace and quiet.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank Calvin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Cute, great, clean hostel. This was an amazing location on a quiet street in Cusco. The breakfast was very basic unless you pay more for eggs but the coffee was strong and for the most part, the free coca tea was free flowing. The water was always hot and the furnishings were new. I liked sitting out in the living space, it was very flowy and bright. I had a few receptionists during my stay there but the main guy speaks English fairly well and helped my friend and I get a cab to Cristo Blanco.

Before we went to Macchu, we stayed in a 4 person dorm private bathroom and the bathroom was good but with the lack of ventilation there was some mold and mildew in the shower wall. The shower itself was always clean. They hotel allowed us to store our luggage for no extra charge and we picked it up after come back from Aguas calientes.

Some families stayed here and lots of couples. Not a rowdy hostel, which I was thankful for.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mai H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The best choice if you want to stay in a calm hostel.
People who work in there are very kind.
Excellent location.
Value is fine too.

I recommend this hostel if you are traveling with family.
With you want to party, this is not the best hostel for you.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mateus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MamaSimonaHostel, Gerente at Mama Simona Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thanks for recognizing what Mama Simona Hostel has for you : a calm atmosphere with a friendly staff. Hope you can see again at our house. Safe travels !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This hostel was one of my favourite ones in South America. It had a great location, close to the main square and without steep ascent from the square (you will appreciate it once you are over 3000 m above sea level :)). I loved its colourful design, newish furnishing and welcoming atmosphere. The hot showers and free coca tea were life-savers. The receptionist was very helpful and spoke good English. I would definitely recommend this on, we stayed twice!

Room Tip: We had one in the groundfloor next to the main room and it was nice, not too noisy, good showers, ve...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tereza H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MamaSimonaHostel, Gerente at Mama Simona Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Really thanks for your nice comments! Even we are not ON Cusco´s Main Square, our neighborhood is very close to usefulareas. Very happy to hear you like our colorful refuge in the lovely city of Cusco. Safe travels!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

nice and quiet hostel in cusco, center in a 5min walk, nice and helpfull staff
breakfest is simple (as everywhere) but okay
very comfortable beds!!
nice atmosphere, lobby works as meeting place, travel agency in the hostel

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tuti V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#125 of 170 in Cusco
82 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mirador de Santa Ana
Mirador de Santa Ana
#67 of 170 in Cusco
213 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 480 in Cusco
1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 480 in Cusco
562 reviews
0.3 mi away
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
#11 of 480 in Cusco
757 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kokopelli Hostel
Kokopelli Hostel
#8 of 480 in Cusco
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mama Simona Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mama Simona Hostel

Address: Calle Ceniza 364 | Barrio de San Pedro, Cusco 260408, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 480 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Price Range: £9 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mama Simona Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel is named after the sacred peak Mama Simona – the only female mountain deity among twelve others surrounding Cusco. Mama Simona Hostel is like a good conversation over a cup of coca tea rather than a wild party; a comfortable and welcoming refuge away from the standard “just-another-hostel” kind of place; simple wooden furniture and lots of room rather than cramped kitschy interiors. Staying with Mama Simona is like being invited into the warmth of a Peruvian home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mama Simona Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing