We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Far from the activity”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco
Ranked #20 of 163 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Far from the activity”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Disappointed that we chose this hotel. They kept close tabs on bottled water where our hotel in Lima furnished 2 bottles a day and the water in Cusco is dubious at best. We were the last to be delivered and always first to be picked up when you could have used more time to eat breakfast. Breakfast was full with fruit, yogurt, toast, rolls, sausage, scrambled eggs and was included. As said before, Saturday night was so loud we didn't sleep all night long. Also, no AC so you have to either open the window or suffer if it is warm. The bed was low. There was a refrigerator stocked with beer, wine, water but it was not FREE as some one mentioned in one of the TA reviews. We did not eat dinner in the restaurant. There are no convenient restaurants in the area. The hotel was very clean and nice.
About 4 blocks away uphill there is the Inka Restaurant where we ate. If you want to know more about Cusco, please feel free to ask.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Flyinggal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZuleikaRodriguez, Gerente at LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, 8 August 2015
Dear guest

We are really grateful for the time taken to share your experience at LP HOTEL CUSCO by trip advisor.

We apologize, That you did not feel comfortable during your stay. Our main priority is offering the best experience to our guests. Your comment will help us to improve our service quality.

Thank you for let us know about your stay. We hope to receive you as a guest again and meet all your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    214
    34
    4
    3
See reviews for
118
271
47
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nicoya, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Los Portales, in Cusco was one of the most amazing places I´ve ever been to! The rooms where so clean and lovely, our staff was so friendly and helpful, and the location could not be better! I must point out, in particular, the receptionist Jonatan, was just the best guy, we had some trouble getting to a restaurant, and he made sure that we found the place, and got home safely! We love him!!!! Thanks again for such a friendly experience!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripgurl k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZuleikaRodriguez, Gerente at LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor.
Your excellent comments of our staff will be shared with then specially with Jonatan, because comments like yours motivate us to keep getting better and better .
Thank you again for your kind words, we hope to see you again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

This hotel is located on a busy street, so sleeping was made difficult. But it wasn't just the ordinary street noises, it was the noise coming from fighting dogs all through the night that kept us from sleeping. It was pretty bad! I didn't notice as many wandering dogs in Lima as I did in Cusco. The hotel is clean and has all of the basic amenities. The bathroom was updated, and was large as compared to the size of the room. Although Cusco is almost always in the 60s, it gets quite chilly at night, and we thought that a heater was needed. They could have added portable heaters, as some of the hotels have provided, rather than an entire heating system. So hotel guests who need the heat could have it, and others wouldn't need to use the heater. The restaurant had very good food. We ate dinner there on two occasions, and found the food to be really good. The breakfast buffet was not extensive, but provided the basics. The atrium was beautiful, as were the other public areas. I didn't like the location of the hotel, because the area seemed a bit dicey. It was not very close to other restaurants or hotels.

Room Tip: 305 was on the front. Avoid it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank memphistraveller214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZuleikaRodriguez, Gerente at LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing with us your recent stay at Los Portales Cusco Hotel on Trip Advisor.

Our hotel has a privileged location that is the main avenue “El Sol”. We regret that the noise from the street you could not rest however all rooms have anti-noise windows.

About the heating, our hotel does not have a heating system but We have the portable heaters which can be requested at the front desk and placed in the rooms.

We are more than happy that you could try the meal from our restaurant and it was to your liking.

My apologies again for the inconvenience.

We will be glad to have you as our guest in a near future.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed here when we were coming from the sacred valley and flying out of cusco. We got a great deal on bookings.com, but the front desk didn't have the reservation. We had to log onto their computer and email them the reservation which wasn't ideal. The room was comfortable though, and very easy to catch a cab outside and get to the airport quickly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoraMango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZuleikaRodriguez, Gerente at LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Mrs. Mango

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Los Portales Cusco Hotel on Tripadvisor.

My Apologies for the inconvenience at the check in time but We already had your reservation just for procedures we need your confirmation of booking to validate all the data.

Anyway apologies again for the bad time.

We hope to see you again in the future.


Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Stayed here as part of a tour, and couldn't be more pleased. Great location, quiet, very clean, great staff. Was happy to meet the currency changer in the hotel. This hotel is a gem. The restaurant service was good, with limited menu. No AC, but you won't need it. Our room faced the courtyard; our son's room had a view of the mountains. Will stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank forjwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZuleikaRodriguez, Gerente at LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time taken to share your recent experience at Los Portales Cusco Hotel on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to know your stay here at our hotel was fully successful; our staff is always looking the best way to make you feel satisfied.

We will be waiting for your return.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wash dc
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, for our trip to Machu Picchu. The hotel is centrally located, barely 3-4 blocks from the main plaza. The rooms and facilities are of a high standard - e.g. the bathrooms had shower stalls with thick glass doors and rainfall shower heads. The facilities definitely meet international standards for a 4 star hotel, yet its still very reasonably priced. The staff were super nice and friendly, and whenever we had an issue (e.g. the first day i could not figure out how to set the safety box, or once my room card did not work), the response was almost immediate from the front desk. The only suggestion i have for improvement would be the food. We had breakfast included, and the breakfast spread was actually pretty nice. But because our itinerary was so packed, we ended up having lunch at the hotel restaurant on one day and dinner the next - we were just too tired and short on time to go anywhere else. The food was mediocre and kinda blah at best, but priced similar to some of the really nice restaurants in cusco - it just did not have much of a taste. So that was a bit disappointing for such a beautiful and well-run hotel, and that's why i am taking a star off.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank purplefeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZuleikaRodriguez, Manager at LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Gust,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Los Portales Cusco Hotel on Trip Advisor, we will consider your recommendations, and we will do our best to improve our service in these small flaws, We will be waiting for your return.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

I was in cusco one month ago stayed at Los Portales for 3 night. I was just feeling like being in home. The staff is really nice and helpful, they make me feel really comfortable,i had a really great time there, enjoying food, having relaxing, just feeling like being home. The location is perfect, I could walk everyday and see the beauty of this city and it took me just about 5 minutes. For sure I would recommended this hotel. It was a really nice experience and Im planning to came back next year whith my friends from Vancouver.
Regards.

Room Tip: From rooms on the second floor you can enjoy a nice view and the sunny days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vancouvergirl_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZuleikaRodriguez, Gerente at LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Los Portales Cusco Hotel on Trip Advisor.
We are more than happy about your excellent comment. Our Staff are dedicated to make each one of our guest´s experience a memorable one.
I am sharing your comments with our staff which I am sure will be encouraged to keep up their level of service.
We will be waiting for your return.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 163 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
0.6 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
#12 of 163 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,588 reviews
0.4 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco

Property: LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco
Address: Av. El Sol 602, Cusco, Peru (Formerly LP Cusco Hotel)
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 163 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is a few steps from the historic and financial center of Cusco. We are located in front of the Temple of the Sun “Koricancha” and just four blocks from the Main Square. Los Portales Cusco Hotel is your best choice to enjoy the archaeological Capital of America or do business on El Sol Avenue, the main street passing through downtown. Los Portales Cusco is a comfortable hotel with services suitable to the needs of the modern traveler. Our restaurant offers a complete breakfast buffet and a selective menu of national and international food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing