We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Small Hotel - Great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco
Ranked #21 of 168 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Fairhaven, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Small Hotel - Great location.”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The pictures really do not do this hotel justice. It is located below Plaza de Armas by about 3 blocks and across from the Santa Domingo and the Temple of the Sun. The rooms are small, but well-appointed. Our hotel overlooked the central courtyard. There is a small parlor off this courtyard with various books for borrow, a dining room where a limited by quite adequate and tasty breakfast is served. Linens and towels were of good quality, bathroom facilities were modern and clean. Free WiFi in all areas of the hotel was a huge plus. The only thing that was somewhat disappointing is that the front desk never seemed to have any change for the large bills that the ATM gives you. A tip is to use ScotiaBank ATM just outside the door from the hotel as most non-bank ATMs charge a fee in addition to that which your own banking institution does.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a room not facing Courtyard as it can become noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HoweAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZuleikaRodriguez, Gerente at LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving your great comment on the TripAdvisor page , we are very grateful for every one of the details that you described , we will consider your recommendations. We hope to have you back soon .

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    232
    38
    5
    3
See reviews for
132
293
51
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jupiter, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Nice clean hotel with good restaurant at very reasonable prices. It is walking distance to the old church. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean and the staff friendly and helpful. I don't think you could find a better value.

Room Tip: Some rooms have windows on the enclosed courtyard area that can be noisy if you are very sensitive t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingKeats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZuleikaRodriguez, Gerente at LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to write your great comments about our Hotel on TripAdvisor page. We are glad that you felt comfortable and had a pleasant stay. We hope to have you back soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This hotel is a great value for your money. Great location - close to city square. Very personal and professional service by hey clearly take pride in their hotel and their work here. I highly recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kdog123453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZuleikaRodriguez, Gerente at LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment your stay at Los Portales Cusco, we appreciate your candid descriptions of their stay with us, we hope to have it back soon.

best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Great location, excellent staff, helpful and knowledgeable. very nice rooms, excellent breakfast. One of the best hotels we stayed in in Peru.
Highly recommended - they were most helpful and stored our luggage for us twice with no charge

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZuleikaRodriguez, Gerente at LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for sharing your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, rest assured that we will share your comments with all the staff to continue working in the service offered to the guests.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Disappointed that we chose this hotel. They kept close tabs on bottled water where our hotel in Lima furnished 2 bottles a day and the water in Cusco is dubious at best. We were the last to be delivered and always first to be picked up when you could have used more time to eat breakfast. Breakfast was full with fruit, yogurt, toast, rolls, sausage, scrambled eggs and was included. As said before, Saturday night was so loud we didn't sleep all night long. Also, no AC so you have to either open the window or suffer if it is warm. The bed was low. There was a refrigerator stocked with beer, wine, water but it was not FREE as some one mentioned in one of the TA reviews. We did not eat dinner in the restaurant. There are no convenient restaurants in the area. The hotel was very clean and nice.
About 4 blocks away uphill there is the Inka Restaurant where we ate. If you want to know more about Cusco, please feel free to ask.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Flyinggal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZuleikaRodriguez, Gerente at LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, 8 August 2015
Dear guest

We are really grateful for the time taken to share your experience at LP HOTEL CUSCO by trip advisor.

We apologize, That you did not feel comfortable during your stay. Our main priority is offering the best experience to our guests. Your comment will help us to improve our service quality.

Thank you for let us know about your stay. We hope to receive you as a guest again and meet all your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicoya, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Los Portales, in Cusco was one of the most amazing places I´ve ever been to! The rooms where so clean and lovely, our staff was so friendly and helpful, and the location could not be better! I must point out, in particular, the receptionist Jonatan, was just the best guy, we had some trouble getting to a restaurant, and he made sure that we found the place, and got home safely! We love him!!!! Thanks again for such a friendly experience!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripgurl k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZuleikaRodriguez, Gerente at LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor.
Your excellent comments of our staff will be shared with then specially with Jonatan, because comments like yours motivate us to keep getting better and better .
Thank you again for your kind words, we hope to see you again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This hotel is located on a busy street, so sleeping was made difficult. But it wasn't just the ordinary street noises, it was the noise coming from fighting dogs all through the night that kept us from sleeping. It was pretty bad! I didn't notice as many wandering dogs in Lima as I did in Cusco. The hotel is clean and has all of the basic amenities. The bathroom was updated, and was large as compared to the size of the room. Although Cusco is almost always in the 60s, it gets quite chilly at night, and we thought that a heater was needed. They could have added portable heaters, as some of the hotels have provided, rather than an entire heating system. So hotel guests who need the heat could have it, and others wouldn't need to use the heater. The restaurant had very good food. We ate dinner there on two occasions, and found the food to be really good. The breakfast buffet was not extensive, but provided the basics. The atrium was beautiful, as were the other public areas. I didn't like the location of the hotel, because the area seemed a bit dicey. It was not very close to other restaurants or hotels.

Room Tip: 305 was on the front. Avoid it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank memphistraveller214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZuleikaRodriguez, Gerente at LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing with us your recent stay at Los Portales Cusco Hotel on Trip Advisor.

Our hotel has a privileged location that is the main avenue “El Sol”. We regret that the noise from the street you could not rest however all rooms have anti-noise windows.

About the heating, our hotel does not have a heating system but We have the portable heaters which can be requested at the front desk and placed in the rooms.

We are more than happy that you could try the meal from our restaurant and it was to your liking.

My apologies again for the inconvenience.

We will be glad to have you as our guest in a near future.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 168 in Cusco
1,482 reviews
0.6 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.2 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
#14 of 168 in Cusco
2,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
0.8 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco

Property: LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco
Address: Av. El Sol 602, Cusco, Peru (Formerly LP Cusco Hotel)
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 168 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is a few steps from the historic and financial center of Cusco. We are located in front of the Temple of the Sun “Koricancha” and just four blocks from the Main Square. Los Portales Cusco Hotel is your best choice to enjoy the archaeological Capital of America or do business on El Sol Avenue, the main street passing through downtown. Los Portales Cusco is a comfortable hotel with services suitable to the needs of the modern traveler. Our restaurant offers a complete breakfast buffet and a selective menu of national and international food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing