We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great small hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco
Ranked #20 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great small hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

I stayed here with my family three times over a three week trip to Peru. On each of our visits the staff were the friendliest and most helpful of any of the hotels we stayed in. The courtyard and small lounge were vey pleasant places to drink some of the free and always-available coca tea. The rooms were clean and well-equipped and the wi-fi was excellent. The hotel is only a few minutes walk from the main square and we walked about every evening and always felt safe.
To be fair the noise from the renovations was a tad annoying on one occasion but did not spoil our stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Janni1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZuleikaRodriguez, Gerente at LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Huésped

Muchas gracias por compartir con nosotros su excelente comentario en la página de Tripadvisor.

Nos alegra leer que Ud. disfruto su estadía con nosotros a pesar de los trabajos que se realizó, que en realidad fueron por las mejoras de nuestro servicio de WI-FI, por lo cual les pedimos las disculpas del caso.

Tenga toda la seguridad que compartiré su excelente comentario con todos nuestros colaboradores y así reforcemos el compromiso en seguir brindando un servicio de primera a todos nuestros huéspedes.

Estaremos a la espera de su próxima visita.

Saludos Cordiales,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    211
    34
    4
    3
See reviews for
117
266
47
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

First off, I have no idea why people gave this place bad reviews.

In any other city a hotel like this would cost you 4x as much.

This place is great, not only for the money, but overall.

Amazing, friendly staff, great, clean room with hot showers and a mini fridge. Free breakfast. Free WiFi. Free coca tea 24/7.

Also it's so close to everything, including the Plaza De Armas. Safe location too! We walked around at night with no worries.

I'll be happy to stay here the next time I'm in this amazing city!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZuleikaRodriguez, Gerente at LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to read your comments on the tripadvisor website.

We value our guest comments and appreciate the time you have taken to share this excellent feedback.

We are more than happy to read you had a memorable stay with us.

Hope to welcome you as our guest soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lower Heyford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I have a number of reasons for scoring this hotel badly:

1) there were renovations going on whilst I was there...which I understand the need for; however having drilling and hammering going on until 18.30 in the evening after a long day walking round the city was awful.

2) the food quality was substandard; and this was not down to the quality of raw produce, as having eaten in other restaurants in Cusco, they were all superb. When I came down to Breakfast at 7.30 the "hot breakfast" (Scrambled eggs) was cold and the glass orange juice jug had a cracked spout, which is very unhealthy.

The rooms are rather poky, however for a 3-star, I cannot complain too vehemently.

The staff did try to bridge gaps by being helpful...however the two points above nailed it for me.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZuleikaRodriguez, Gerente at LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, 8 August 2015
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your valuable review with the trip advisor community.

We take seriously all our guests feedback, and we are really sorry to know that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Your opinion is very important in order to improve our service quality.

We really appreciate the time taken to express your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a tour and what a great place to stay. The staff were very helpful,the breakfasts were good and the location was perfect as it was only a 10 minute walk to the main square where there were some excellent restaurants, and the historic sights.

We left our luggage,at no extra cost, while we went to Machu Picchu.

I would highly recommend this comfortable hotel to any travellers.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mary_mccann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZuleikaRodriguez, Gerente at LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to read you go back home with a memorable experience at Los Portales Cusco Hotel.

Thank you for the recognition to our staff wich will be shared with our entire team.

We will be glad to have you here again.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburgh, Indiana
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

With many fellow travelers experiencing the nausea/headache of altitude adjustment on our first night in Cuzco, having a supportive staff with remedies available (oxygen, over-the-counter medicines, and directions to a nearby pharmacy) made the Los Portales Cuzco Hotel a winner in the hearts (and heads and stomachs) of us all. The 5-story inner courtyard where one could have breakfast also was a delightful addition to this modern and comfortable hotel in the heart of Cuzco, very near to the town square (Plaza de Armas) and several sights. A good hotel!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZuleikaRodriguez, Gerente at LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to read your kind words and description of our property, of course our staff is trained to meet all the requirements of our guest, specially altitude sickness that sometimes affect them.

Thank you very much and hope to attend again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed here at two different times-before and after our MP adventure. Very convenient location - 10 minutes walk to Plaza De Armas and almost across from the Inca Temple of the Sun (Qorikancha). Nice size rooms, modern showers with always hot water. The hotel complimentary held our extra luggage during our MP and Sacred Valley excursion. The breakfast buffet was great - eggs, sausages, ham, bread, cereal, granola, yogurt, fresh fruits, coffee, tea, fruit juices, milk....and always available coca tea for the altitude sickness! And of course the very helpful and professional staff - Jonathan, Noe, Rosa and Belisa - thank you for making our stay in Cusco even more enjoyable! Our only complaint - the towels - they really need to be replaced by new ones.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YoLa2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZuleikaRodriguez, Gerente at LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Los Portales Cusco Hotel on Trip Advisor.

Our goal is to give a best quality service in all our areas. We value our guest comments since they provide us valuable information on areas to improve.

We will share your comment with our personal, specially with the front desk department , which will feel motivated to continue working hard to give our guests an unforgettable stay.

It will be a pleasure to have you at Los Portales Cusco in a near future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

The bright, modern rooms, spacious courtyard, and tasty food of the restaurant aren't even the highlight. The staff was extremely professional and helpful in dealing with an unprofessional tour company, and helped us with what would have otherwise been an issue. Great location to boot!

Room Tip: If you're not used to city noise, you may not want to be in a room that faces the street, as you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZuleikaRodriguez, Gerente at LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest

Is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay at Los Portales Hotel and we appreciate the time that you have taken to write a comment.

We will share your comment with our personal, which will feel motivated to continue working hard to give our guests an unforgettable stay.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
0.5 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
0.2 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
#12 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco

Property: LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco
Address: Av. El Sol 602, Cusco, Peru (Formerly LP Cusco Hotel)
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is a few steps from the historic and financial center of Cusco. We are located in front of the Temple of the Sun “Koricancha” and just four blocks from the Main Square. Los Portales Cusco Hotel is your best choice to enjoy the archaeological Capital of America or do business on El Sol Avenue, the main street passing through downtown. Los Portales Cusco is a comfortable hotel with services suitable to the needs of the modern traveler. Our restaurant offers a complete breakfast buffet and a selective menu of national and international food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing