We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and service in a quiet setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco
Ranked #21 of 172 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Attentive, multi-lingual staff. Modern, comfortable rooms. Lovely "living room" to relax in off the lobby (computers, T.V., sofas, chairs, fireplace), "sunroom" for meals or just chatting over a cup of tea. Buffet breakfast featuring fresh fruits along with hot entrees, juices and cereals is included. (My one surprise was being charged nearly $5 for a single, local phone call to make dinner reservations)

Room Tip: I preferred my view overlooking the street ... Other windows looked into alleyways
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephieland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZuleikaRodriguez, Gerente at LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking a excellent review of our hotel on tripadvisor page, we hope that your stay has been pleasant and your entire satisfaction, hope to have it back soon.

best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (728)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

201 - 207 of 728 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We had an amazing time staying at Los Portales.
From the moment we arrived we were welcomed by Homar who helped organise our check in after he'd sat us down with some coca tea. He carried our luggage up the stairs for us too while we took the elevator.
We were lucky enough to get a room upgrade as it was our honeymoon and the agency we'd booked with had pulled a few strings. The room was fantastic with a huge comfortable bed and everything we could need.
During our 4 day trek to Machu Picchu the hotel stored our luggage and it was in our room when we checked back in. Sadly we had to have the room that was booked this time but it was still more than enough with another huge bed.
Homar was again on hand to look after us in the morning while we had breakfast, always with a big smile on his face.
Breakfast is a very well put together buffet and is served from 5am so you can get a good breakfast before trek pick ups.
All in all it was a great experience on all counts and we had a fantastic stay.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZuleikaRodriguez, Gerente at LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking a excellent review of our hotel on tripadvisor page, we hope that your stay has been pleasant and your entire satisfaction, hope to have it back soon.

best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

This is definitely one of the best hotels we have stayed in, I totally agree with the other comments that this standard of hotel in other countries would cost you three times as much!

We arrived very early but Homar looked after us and made sure we were comfortable with some free coca tea whilst we waited - 10 minutes later we were in the room, really great service!

Breakfast buffet was the best we've had in Peru, all staff are friendly and courteous, the rooms are of a very high standard (biggest bed I have ever slept in!) and we were able to leave our luggage here, free of charge, whilst on the Inca Trail. Upon returning, our luggage was waiting in our room!

Thank you to Homar, who treated us like old friends, and the rest of the staff for making our honeymoon very special.

100% recommend!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank TheBrigRumBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZuleikaRodriguez, Gerente at LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking a excellent review of our hotel on tripadvisor page, we hope that your stay has been pleasant and your entire satisfaction, hope to have it back soon.

best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We arrived to Cusco from Puno 4 hours before our check in time. Jonatan was the front desk host and was very friendly. He made sure we were comfortable and allowed us to rest in the lounge until our check in time. Jonathan even found a way to get us our rooms 3 hours before our check in. This was amazing since we were a group of 8 traveling together. We stayed at several different hotels in Cusco and this was the best. The staff was friendly, the decor of the room was beautiful, very accommodating, and amazing service above all. We were happy to have found this hotel and will definitely recommend this place to anyone traveling to Cusco.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank trishie524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZuleikaRodriguez, Gerente at LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to read you had a great stay with us and especially the recognition of our team in particular Jonatan, make sure I will share your excellent comment with him.

We hope to have you as our guest in a near future.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I stayed here with my family three times over a three week trip to Peru. On each of our visits the staff were the friendliest and most helpful of any of the hotels we stayed in. The courtyard and small lounge were vey pleasant places to drink some of the free and always-available coca tea. The rooms were clean and well-equipped and the wi-fi was excellent. The hotel is only a few minutes walk from the main square and we walked about every evening and always felt safe.
To be fair the noise from the renovations was a tad annoying on one occasion but did not spoil our stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Janni1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZuleikaRodriguez, Gerente at LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014
Google Translation

Estimado Huésped

Muchas gracias por compartir con nosotros su excelente comentario en la página de Tripadvisor.

Nos alegra leer que Ud. disfruto su estadía con nosotros a pesar de los trabajos que se realizó, que en realidad fueron por las mejoras de nuestro servicio de WI-FI, por lo cual les pedimos las disculpas del caso.

Tenga toda la seguridad que compartiré su excelente comentario con todos nuestros colaboradores y así reforcemos el compromiso en seguir brindando un servicio de primera a todos nuestros huéspedes.

Estaremos a la espera de su próxima visita.

Saludos Cordiales,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

First off, I have no idea why people gave this place bad reviews.

In any other city a hotel like this would cost you 4x as much.

This place is great, not only for the money, but overall.

Amazing, friendly staff, great, clean room with hot showers and a mini fridge. Free breakfast. Free WiFi. Free coca tea 24/7.

Also it's so close to everything, including the Plaza De Armas. Safe location too! We walked around at night with no worries.

I'll be happy to stay here the next time I'm in this amazing city!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Dan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZuleikaRodriguez, Gerente at LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to read your comments on the tripadvisor website.

We value our guest comments and appreciate the time you have taken to share this excellent feedback.

We are more than happy to read you had a memorable stay with us.

Hope to welcome you as our guest soon.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I have a number of reasons for scoring this hotel badly:

1) there were renovations going on whilst I was there...which I understand the need for; however having drilling and hammering going on until 18.30 in the evening after a long day walking round the city was awful.

2) the food quality was substandard; and this was not down to the quality of raw produce, as having eaten in other restaurants in Cusco, they were all superb. When I came down to Breakfast at 7.30 the "hot breakfast" (Scrambled eggs) was cold and the glass orange juice jug had a cracked spout, which is very unhealthy.

The rooms are rather poky, however for a 3-star, I cannot complain too vehemently.

The staff did try to bridge gaps by being helpful...however the two points above nailed it for me.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZuleikaRodriguez, Gerente at LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2015

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your valuable review with the trip advisor community.

We take seriously all our guests feedback, and we are really sorry to know that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Your opinion is very important in order to improve our service quality.

We really appreciate the time taken to express your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.4 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Centro
0.1 mi away
Hotel Taypikala Cusco
Hotel Taypikala Cusco
#26 of 172 in Cusco
911 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
0.6 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.8 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#5 of 172 in Cusco
1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco

Address: Av. El Sol 602, Cusco, Peru (Formerly LP Cusco Hotel)
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 172 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range: £42 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is a few steps from the historic and financial center of Cusco. We are located in front of the Temple of the Sun “Koricancha” and just four blocks from the Main Square. Los Portales Cusco Hotel is your best choice to enjoy the archaeological Capital of America or do business on El Sol Avenue, the main street passing through downtown. Los Portales Cusco is a comfortable hotel with services suitable to the needs of the modern traveler. Our restaurant offers a complete breakfast buffet and a selective menu of national and international food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing