We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (857)
Filter reviews
857 results
Traveller rating
506
282
56
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
506
282
56
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coca tea the main square machu picchu llama travel room faced the street inca temple historical sites fast wifi favorite hotel hotel is located room was clean and comfortable walking distance breakfast and dinner internal courtyard other hotels stayed nights excellent location
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 857 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2018 via mobile

The staff here is amazing! We stayed five nights and leaving was like leaving family. Upon arrival we were greeted immediately, given tea in the atrium to help adjust to the altitude, and bags taken to our room. Majority of the staff speaks English quite well. The rooms and entire hotel was very clean! One day we walked in and two individuals were on their hands and knees scrubbing each of the stones for the staircase. You would see their cleaning staff working diligently from early morning through the evenings. Whenever we requested anything whether it was room service, laundry, recommendations for food or tour exhibitions, etc., everyone immediately assisted professionally and courteously. The outside street noise was bad at times, but the hotel is on a busy street of pedestrians and cars. Otherwise, bring some ear plugs and enjoy this family style hotel. Thanks Brian, Pamela, Caesar & crew for a great Cusco stay!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Errol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyV2115, Gerente at LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Dear Errol

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at LP Los Portales Cusco hotel.

We feel proud to know that your enjoyed your stay with us and that all our staff assisted you properly in all your requirements thank for your acknowledge to our team they do their best to provide memorable and unique experiences to our guests. Your review will be share with all our team in order to motivated them.

Grateful for your kind words we look forward to serve you again in a close future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018

The room size was quite small compared to the other hotels we stayed in.
The bed was large and comfortable, although our room faced onto the main road which was noisy.
Staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful, there was good wifi too.
Breakfast was standard buffet style hotel offerings - nothing spectacular, but nothing offensive either.
There was a friendly, family feel to the hotel, which we liked. Situated about 10-15 minutes walk from the main square. Be warned that the walk is uphill and if this is the first time you have experienced being at such an altitude it will be difficult for the first couple of days.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ExploringThePlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyV2115, Gerente at LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2018

Dear Guest

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at LP Los Portales Cusco Hotel.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your review motivates us to keep improving ourselves to deliver better experiences to all our guests. your feedback is very important to us

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018

These were the smallest and darkest rooms we have seen in Peru. The window opened on to the central courtyard where they started laying for breakfast at 4.30am.
The breakfast was also very limited for choice but that seems to be par for the course in Peru.
The bedroom also had very limited wardrobe space.

Room Tip: Not facing the courtyard
Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyV2115, Gerente at LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2018

Dear David

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at LP Los Portales Cusco Hotel. The opinion of our guests is always very valuable for us. We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations.

Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem. We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns,

We hope you could give us the opportunity to change the impression that you got from us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

Los Portales gives you a reassuring feeling when you check in with the helpful reception staff. In fact all the staff are helpful although some of the waiters at breakfast seemed a little reserved (possibly because their English wasn’t great and our Spanish or Chechua very limited / non-existent).
The atrium is a bright area to sit at tables and the lounge is cosy and smart but the restaurant / breakfast dining room was a bit gloomy.
Breakfast food selection was limited, no muesli or porker granola and no cereals with any fibre. The fresh fruit was limited in choice and largely a bit under- ripe for our taste. Various teas and coffee available to order but service was a bit on the slow side. Our meal at dinner was ok but not outstanding and we dined out on other evenings.
Our room faced the street and was a little noisy at times despite double glazing. The room was a reasonable size for a double with ensuite and adequately equipped bit decor and carpets seemed a little tired.
The location is very convenient on the busy Avenue El Sol, with a slightly breathless 10 minute uphill walk to the main Plaza. The street is lined with banks and a few shops and so is lively without being at all edgy. One of Cusco’s top Inca sites is across the road, as is a very interesting co-operative textile exhibition and shop - highly recommended. Wanchaq Railway station (for Puno) is also fairly nearby.
Overall, the hotel provides a pleasant, safe and convenient place to stay in Cusco but could do better with a few relatively minor tweaks. As we stayed as part of an overall holiday package I can’t comment on the value for money.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Travelblag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyV2115, Gerente at LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Dear Travelblag

Thank you very much for investing your time on writing a review to us

We are very glad you found your stay enjoyable. We really apreciate your detalied review becouse give us different improving oportunities and we would do our best to address all the issues that you mentioned.

Grateful for tou review we hope to have the opportinuty to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018

Earlier this month, my husband and I stayed at Los Portales twice -- before and after our Salkantay trek (see Tierras Vivas for that).

What I loved:
- The staff were very helpful and friendly.
- Free wifi, and free breakfast starting at 5a!
- The hotel in general was very clean.
- They held onto our luggage and had it ready in our room when we returned from the hike -- at no cost!
- The hotel also had hot water, toilet paper, and soap in the bathrooms. You'd be surprised how many places in Peru only had 2 out of those 3. Just sayin'
- It's within walking distance of lots of touristy areas and local food.

Not a fan of:
- The cheapest room unfortunately had two twin beds. Not a major issue though.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lngalarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyV2115, Gerente at LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Dear Lngalarz

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent stay at LP Los Portales Cusco hotel.

We are proud to know that you loved your stay with us and you enjoyed our services and facilities. All our team continuously strive to meet our guests´s needs and expectations; therefore, your feedback is very valuable to us.

Thank you again for sharing your wonderful review and we look forward for welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews