We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, good breakfast and decent wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Unumizu Cusco
Ranked #48 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed here for a couple nights following a machu pichu hike. Having stayed in other hotels in cusco (arranged by the tour) we can say this is head and shoulders above these.

On the 2nd floor there is a computer tucked in a corner and small sitting area with coffee/tea facilities, with cocoa leaves. The WiFi was decent and quicker than other hotels we stayed at.

The Breakfast was simple but well presented and some of the better offered during our 2mth stay in South America.

The hotel also provided free airport transfer which was a nice bonus (saving approx $10ish), I believe this is offered to most.

Location wise, it's not right in the plaza and the area is verging on a more blue collar industry zone, positioned a couple doors off a main throughfare. We never felt unsafe and is only 10-15min walk to the main tourist area of cusco.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seahawk11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 77 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed one night in Cusco and picked this place based on the Trip Advisor reviews. They were right on the money. From the outside it doesn't look like much. But the room was clean, it had hot water (might need to let it run a few minutes), comfortable bed and cable tv. But by far the service is the highlight. The staff was super friendly and helpful with all my questions. They picked me up at the airport, and kept my bags while I toured other places in the region. Breakfast was served at 5, so I could make the train and arranged for the taxi there.
This is not a luxury hotel, but you definitely get luxury service.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank TROY F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

They have ho water, its clean and good internet. When my card was eaten by an ATM, they went to the square to tell ban, as i was away at Machu Pichhu...they cleared my mind on that day. And when we had to wait 6 hours we waited on the second floor lounge and could use the computer they have for hotel. Stay here, the hospitality is unmatched. Thx Unumizo, Ill be back with more people.

Room Tip: 2nd floor has computer...was able to wake up early and do some work...like from home..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Unumizu does everything right from the smiling and helpful personnel to the clean rooms and comfortable bedding. The location is not where everything is going on but in an automotive supply area. You are with the Peruvians, not with other tourists. The people at the desk will be happy to call a cab for you so you can go to town--fare is about $2.50. When you return, to the hotel be sure to establish the cab fare with the driver before you get in the cab,. There are few restaurants in this area. If you have problems with stairs this is probably not your hotel. The included breakfast (pretty good and it includes eggs to order) is on the 5th floor and there is no elevator.
Don't miss the large Mercado a block and a half away. Go left out of the Hotel door, turn left at the first street, walk 1 1/2 blocks and look for the stairs across the street on the right.
The hotels provides free airport pickup and drop off service. If your destination is Machu Picchu the cab fare from the hotel to the Poroy Train station is about $13.00.
Again---these nice people do everything right!!

Room Tip: We had room 302---large, bright and above the traffic noise.
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank asfem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The Hotel Unumizu staff was very helpful and friendly. The hotel is simple, but clean and well maintained. It is in a quiet location about 0.75 miles from the Plaza de Armas. It was a comfortable walk between the hotel and downtown attraction. Hotel Unumizu was a great value. It was everything that we hoped for.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KC_213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

First, if you want to step out the door and be in the tourist section, this place is NOT for you. If you don't mind a 15-minute walk or $1.60 cab ride and/or if you like seeing a safe part of Cuzco where locals live, work and attend school (as I do), then this is a great choice. At $50 or $70 a night, you would pay DOUBLE for this quality of lodging in the tourist zone. Comfortable rooms, heaters, hot hot water, ample breakfast buffet and an amazing staff. My traveling companion fell ill and needed a bland diet for some days -- Oscar, the cook, went out and bought chicken to prepare with steamed rice and delivered it to the room daily! Freddy, Gil, Antonio and the entire staff are great. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Some rooms have stronger WIFI signal (above reception). Each room is different, some with writing ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brosoLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We chose this hotel based on the reviews on Trip Advisor and great price. We stayed for five nights during the 2014 Easter holiday, and thoroughly enjoyed our time at Hotel Unumizu. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the interior of the hotel was quite aesthetically pleasing. It was an easy walk to the more touristy parts of town, and the staff was incredibly helpful (and very patient with our lack of Spanish language skills). They helped us to navigate our way through getting tickets to Machu Picchu and to find the various festivals/parades going on in town during Easter weekend. The staff were also very helpful when my fiance fell ill on Saturday of holy week, and walked me through finding the best pharmacies. It's a relatively easy walk to the tourism office for Machu Picchu tickets, one of the local markets, and the local crafts market. For the price, it seems like one of the best hotels in Cuzco.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Golden Inca
Hotel Golden Inca
#36 of 171 in Cusco
458 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#5 of 171 in Cusco
1,509 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Royal Qosqo
Hotel Royal Qosqo
#89 of 171 in Cusco
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Garcilaso
Hotel Garcilaso
#73 of 171 in Cusco
240 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mirador de Santa Ana
Mirador de Santa Ana
#66 of 171 in Cusco
219 reviews
0.8 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Unumizu Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Unumizu Cusco

Address: Av. Huayna Capac 210- Wanchaq, Cusco 5184, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range: £37 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Unumizu Cusco 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unumizu Cusco Hotel, with our strategic location and close proximity to the Center of the city of Cusco. Enjoy the best hospitality and quality service in Unumizu Cusco Hotel. Our name, Unumizu, means ‘water’ in the native Andean language Quechua (unu) and in Japanese (mizu). It signifies the convergence of two cultures, the Inca and the Orient, and the tenacity of preserving the environment. Unumizu is a concept that allows us to put into practice our vision of sharing and preserving the Inca and Peruvian cultures while sustaining tourism and a great respect for our natural environment. All of these are expressed with water, Unumizu, one of the essential elements of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Unumizu Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing