We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to Relax”
Review of Chakana House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chakana House
Ranked #88 of 499 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Reviewed 30 August 2011

My experience in Chakana House was excellent, as I was looking for a place where to relax, that was exactly that. It was clean and the location perfect. As the place is relatively new, the owners are still working hard and always asked me for my opinion for further improvements. The staff is very friendly and offers a personalized service, with representatives of tour agency inhouse (I believe it is new) and the chimney is great.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gkq224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 31 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2011

My friend recommended this hostel for me and I had to thank her a thousand times for her advice. Had a very good time there, apparently it has just been open at the time I visited but the staff was dedicated, facilities great, and the location quite convenient.

It made my stay perfect and I am longing to comeback, possibly with my special.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maithuha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

I would definitely NOT recommend this hostel to anyone. Our booking was a disaster from start to finish. First, my girlfriend and I made our reservation for a matrimonial suite (with private bath) about 3 weeks before our arrival in Cusco, and we even exchanged e-mails with the staff prior to our stay. However, when we arrived, it was discovered that the hostel had pulled a “bait and switch” because construction on our reserved room was nowhere near complete. The staff did offer us a different room at a discounted price, but when we checked-out, they refused to honor our HostelWorld downpayment. Second, the hostel’s bathrooms were in unacceptable condition throughout our stay. The seat fell off of one toilet on our first day, and six days later, was still waiting to be replaced. The bathroom garbages were often overflowing with paper, and the showers rarely had hot water or pressure at any time of day. One of the bathrooms has a glass ceiling from which a person possibly watched my girlfriend bathe! The owners were helpful, but unknowledgable about referencing any reputable tour agencies for a hike to Machu Picchu. There are many better and dependable options in Cusco- please look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TeachL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Fantastic hostel, particularly the personalized service they provide... Looking forward to coming back next year.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PepeGarcia_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We stayed in Cusco far longer than we intended to because we loved this place so much. After so many shabby and slightly dirty hostels, this place felt like home. Brand new (several weeks old), with attractive and extremely comfortable furnishings. Lots of natural light. The propietar, Dennis, was really helpful in recommendations on places to visit, finding an affordable, comfortable hostel in Aguas Calientes (harder than youåd think!), buying bus tickets, restaurants, etc. Chakana House is opening a restaurant soon, and Im sorry we missed it.

Room Tip: The private double upstairs is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lk0215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: elegir la habitación con vista interna o bien las que se encuentran en la planta superior (3er piso)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luciana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Aline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel
0.8 mi away
Chakana Hotel
Chakana Hotel
#169 of 499 in Cusco
39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 499 in Cusco
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hostal Corihuasi
Hostal Corihuasi
#22 of 499 in Cusco
293 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rumi Wasi
Rumi Wasi
#15 of 393 in Cusco
241 reviews
0.3 mi away
LOKI Cusco
LOKI Cusco
#4 of 499 in Cusco
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chakana House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chakana House

Address: calle Tecsecocha 490-B, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 499 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Price Range: £27 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chakana House is a backpackers hostel set in a beautiful colonial house located 5 minutes walk from the Plaza de Armas, in the old town. It is a cosy, comfortable and safe place for you as an independent traveller, where to soak up the Peruvian atmosphere in one of the most historical places in Peru. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Chakana House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing