We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!”
Review of Chakana House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chakana House
Ranked #86 of 478 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Reviewed 7 December 2012

I have been to Cusco many times and every time I return to Chakana House! The service is brilliant, all the staff are lovely and attentive. Service is 24hours and the hostel is behind a security gate. Breakfast is included and any extra portions are small prices. The hostel is cosy with a fire and as there is only one dorm room and 4 or 5 private rooms it is quiet and comfortable. They have two computers and a big tv with lots of dvds and a kitchen for everyone to use. Highly recommend this hostel!! Would always return!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura-Ellice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
There are newer reviews for Chakana House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 27 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2012

We chose Chakana Guesthouse based on the reviews on trip advisor. We arrived 4 hours before check in, extremely tired after 10 hour bus journey and were promptly offered coca tea and to our delight a room to have a nap in whilst waiting to check into our room. Staff were extremely helpful and we recommend you book any tours in Cusco – Machu Picchu through their agency. The hostel itself is quite small with one large dorm room directly at the top of the stairs. We were given the room beside it, comfortable bed, good space for 2 people, cable TV. Initially the room did not have a bedside lamp but when we requested one they brought immediately. Hot water was available all the time and the shower was probably the nicest we had in South America but be warned that if the hostel/B&B be prepared to queue for the bathroom for a long time (unless you get a room downstairs with a private bathroom). We did, however, encounter what can only be described as a teen house party upstairs directly outside our room. Management did not seem to be able to handle the situation and the party (based on the fact that this is a B&B and not a Backpackers hostel) let the scenario spiral out of control. It is not nice when you’re coming to terms with high altitude in Cusco to have 15 people directly outside your room drinking, smoking, listening to loud music and when we approached management about this they seemed inexperienced in handling it.
Just be advised ( couples or people who prefer quite places) when booking to question if the dorm is full and what young clientele is going to be there.
P and K

Room Tip: Our room was upstairs opposite to the bathroom, it was lovely and it had a flat screen TV.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cristina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Dennis, the owner, was extremely helpful and hospitable. He went out of his way to help us as much possible and particularly in when were in a difficult situation. Rooms were clean, breakfast was ok and it was nice a close to the main square. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amelia711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

I recommend this hostel to people who want to take a rest and enjoy.
Is a really good place if you want to relax.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

My experience in Chakana House was excellent, as I was looking for a place where to relax, that was exactly that. It was clean and the location perfect. As the place is relatively new, the owners are still working hard and always asked me for my opinion for further improvements. The staff is very friendly and offers a personalized service, with representatives of tour agency inhouse (I believe it is new) and the chimney is great.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gkq224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

My friend recommended this hostel for me and I had to thank her a thousand times for her advice. Had a very good time there, apparently it has just been open at the time I visited but the staff was dedicated, facilities great, and the location quite convenient.

It made my stay perfect and I am longing to comeback, possibly with my special.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maithuha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

I would definitely NOT recommend this hostel to anyone. Our booking was a disaster from start to finish. First, my girlfriend and I made our reservation for a matrimonial suite (with private bath) about 3 weeks before our arrival in Cusco, and we even exchanged e-mails with the staff prior to our stay. However, when we arrived, it was discovered that the hostel had pulled a “bait and switch” because construction on our reserved room was nowhere near complete. The staff did offer us a different room at a discounted price, but when we checked-out, they refused to honor our HostelWorld downpayment. Second, the hostel’s bathrooms were in unacceptable condition throughout our stay. The seat fell off of one toilet on our first day, and six days later, was still waiting to be replaced. The bathroom garbages were often overflowing with paper, and the showers rarely had hot water or pressure at any time of day. One of the bathrooms has a glass ceiling from which a person possibly watched my girlfriend bathe! The owners were helpful, but unknowledgable about referencing any reputable tour agencies for a hike to Machu Picchu. There are many better and dependable options in Cusco- please look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TeachL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Dragonfly Hostels Cusco
Dragonfly Hostels Cusco
#13 of 478 in Cusco
412 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chakana Hotel
Chakana Hotel
#159 of 478 in Cusco
39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kuska Hostal
Kuska Hostal
#42 of 478 in Cusco
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 478 in Cusco
1,426 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Pakcha Real
Hostal Pakcha Real
#170 of 478 in Cusco
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#125 of 170 in Cusco
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chakana House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chakana House

Address: calle Tecsecocha 490-B, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 478 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Price Range: £26 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chakana House is a backpackers hostel set in a beautiful colonial house located 5 minutes walk from the Plaza de Armas, in the old town. It is a cosy, comfortable and safe place for you as an independent traveller, where to soak up the Peruvian atmosphere in one of the most historical places in Peru. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Chakana House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing