We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for money”
Review of Chakana House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chakana House
Ranked #85 of 517 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This place has a fantastic location, by Plaza de Armas and all tourist attractions of Cusco. Excellent service, clean rooms. It looks like recently renovated. Basic but good breakfats for the price paid. We had hot water without any problems. Free WIFI and computers to use. Highly recommended if not looking for luxury but a comfortable and quiet place. It was better than expected.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pepitopulpito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 21 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2013

This hotel has moved from it's original location & has new owners since 6 months ago. Everything is new. The bathrooms, the beds (which are very comfy) and there are plenty of lounge areas. I stayed for over a week and it felt like home. It's literally 2 minutes walk to the main plaza yet it is in a small quiet street. You can use the kitchen which was great, although there are only 2 gas burners which can create a wait if there are a few people cooking. The staff were very helpful and the place was very clean. The water in the showers was warm at most without using the cold tap but if you wait more than 5 minutes it gets nice and hot (which is a waste of water though)!
We paid 80 soles per night for 2 people in a room with our own bathroom which for this quality is a great price. I looked at other hotels for over 160 soles a night and they were horribly dark and old. I would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tara842013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Good staff, very clean but please a hot shower would have been great, especially after the Ica trail in december.

We asked two days in a row at the reception if they could heat the water and they said yes, that i had to wait 5 or 10 minutes before that the water become hot but it never became hot.

I had to cut the arrival of the cold water to get a water warmer but not hot.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Plr72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We are retired world travelers on a budget, but sometimes you have to spend a bit more to get a satisfactory accomadations. We rented the matrimonial room which is actually a matrimonial closet. The accustics are alful and if anyone did anything matrimonial in the upper room, they might as well join you in your bed. You have been warned. Dont rent the matrimonial room.

The manager moved us to a quieter, larger room with fairly new beds. They had two lamps in the room but no plugs to operate them. They had florescent tubes to light the room but these were not placed right to read by. We had to get an extension to use the small lamps. The rooms themselves are in a hacienda type building that probably was built 200 years ago and at lease our room had not been renovated since it was built. Floors and ceiling sagged and squeeked. There was a musty odor. There are no private baths in this hotel unless you dare to use the matrimonial rooms.

The breakfast was satisfactory and the front desk tried to be as helpful as possible. However, the english language is very limited.

One of the employees, Mitchel, works as a travel agent. He sold us bus tickets to Copacabana that were almost twice the cost of the trip. He also told us that the bus was heated. It wasn{t and we almost froze to death during the overnight trip. Be warned.

Room Tip: no matrimonial room under any circumstances
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ish_Kabibble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We weren't looking for very much in a hostel. Our criteria were good location, clean accommodations, and cheap. We had a nice, clean room with a bathroom across the hall. The bathroom was always in excellent condition and hot shower was never a problem. The staff was also really accommodating to us. We left Cusco a few times to go on multi-day hiking/camping trips, but when we got back, we always went back to stay at Chakana.

Room Tip: I didn't really see very many rooms in this hostel. We stayed in the matrimonial room just at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rm27_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We did not really enjoy our stay at this hostel. The staff were pretty helpful, but difficult to find at times ( no one at the front desk ). Our room, a matrimonial room, on the main floor, was very noisy. This was our main concern and the reason we only stayed one night at this hostel. There was no noise isolation from the room above and we could hear every movement upstairs. The room was decent, with a television, and the bathroom was alright. Would not stay at this hostel again, at least not in the main floor bedroom, we don't know about the other rooms.

Room Tip: Do not sleep in the main floor Matrimonial room, specifically request another room, as the main floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

I have been to Cusco many times and every time I return to Chakana House! The service is brilliant, all the staff are lovely and attentive. Service is 24hours and the hostel is behind a security gate. Breakfast is included and any extra portions are small prices. The hostel is cosy with a fire and as there is only one dorm room and 4 or 5 private rooms it is quiet and comfortable. They have two computers and a big tv with lots of dvds and a kitchen for everyone to use. Highly recommend this hostel!! Would always return!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura-Ellice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#161 of 171 in Cusco
88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pirwa Colonial Hostel
Pirwa Colonial Hostel
#64 of 517 in Cusco
263 reviews
0.4 mi away
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
#11 of 517 in Cusco
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
El Tumi de Oro Cusco
El Tumi de Oro Cusco
#63 of 398 in Cusco
54 reviews
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.4 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 517 in Cusco
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chakana House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chakana House

Address: calle Tecsecocha 490-B, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 517 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Price Range: £15 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chakana House is a backpackers hostel set in a beautiful colonial house located 5 minutes walk from the Plaza de Armas, in the old town. It is a cosy, comfortable and safe place for you as an independent traveller, where to soak up the Peruvian atmosphere in one of the most historical places in Peru. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Chakana House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing