We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of pros, lots of cons....”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cusco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Samanapata Comfort Hostel
Ranked #273 of 554 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Reviewed 17 December 2012

A mixed bag in this hostel - I stayed here for a week, while I organised my Machu Picchu tour. The pro's were helpful staff, a quaint location, a semi-decent inclusive breakfast. The con's were that sound travels really badly throughout the hostel - you'll be able to hear people talking, using the shower, going to the toilet...

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesSteerforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2012

We stayed on three separate occasions, and found it to be a comfortable place and a good value. The staff is friendly and it has a laid back atmosphere. Arturo (night staff) is especially fun, and someone you could ask about Ayahuasca trips. Well except for the night a school group stayed. The only other downside to the place was that their bookkeeping wasn't great. Be sure you are clear on the price of the room.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Doubles go for 50 soles. This is pretty good for Cusco.
It is located about 5 blocks from the Plaza de Armas, however location is very nice.
Rooms are very clean and there is hot water (gas) 24/7.
The staff and manager are very kind and helpful and went out of their way to help us.
Windows are problematic in the rooms... Some have no light and some cannot be darkened. Ask to see the room first if possible.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms make a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank odedfos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Samanapata is definitely a good option in the San Blas district. Very good location, competitive price (50 S for a double) including an OK breakfast (bread & butter, coffee, piece of fruit) and towels. They have two locations, the main one where the reception is, and a second one 50 meters away around the corner with no reception/kitchen (a bit more inconvenient as you need to walk to the other building to get to the reception or to have breakfast). Both have internet & fast wifi.

Now, do check several rooms before you put down your bags! Try to avoid rooms 1 and 2, as they are noisy (close to entrance door), dark (no windows!) and damp. After staying in #2 for half a night after a 4am arrival, we asked to be moved, and found the rooms upstairs to be much nicer in all aspects.

Room Tip: avoid rooms #1 and #2, dark and damp!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inaki294306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Located in the heart of San Blas, Samanapata is a small hostel that offers great value for Cuzco.
Rooms are cleaned every day, towels are included, there's cable TV in every room, and the price is unbeatable: 50 soles for a double room with private bathroom.
Just bare in mind:
- staff are a little too casual
- basic breakfast, although there is a fridge available to guests (no other kitchen facilities)
- not all rooms are as spacious so ask to see the room first
- the wifi doesn't work in the rooms at the top floor

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2rtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitsuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann_R0driguez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.5 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#161 of 173 in Cusco
89 reviews
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#5 of 173 in Cusco
1,527 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 554 in Cusco
767 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Golden Inca
Hotel Golden Inca
#41 of 173 in Cusco
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samanapata Comfort Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samanapata Comfort Hostel

Address: Calle 7 Angelitos No 643 | San Blas, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #273 of 554 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Price Range: £14 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostels Cusco Samanapata is located in the heart of the city of Cusco, we are a chain of hotels Cusco since 07 years. We are pleased to offer our guests a quality accommodation service and comfort. We work with highly qualified professionals for their expertise and courtesy. We offers a personalized service that will meet your expectations making them feel at home, we invite you to be part of our family. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing