We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Heart of Cusco”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel La Casa De Selenque
Ranked #44 of 364 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“The Heart of Cusco”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Casa Del Selenque is the perfect location at the south end of the Plaza de Armas. Located off a side street and opening onto a courtyard (shared with the entry to Starbucks!!) it is quiet and very comfortable. Coca tea is available for the altitude, and especially Jessica and Janice were most helpful. You can leave luggage when you go to Machu Picchu and they can arrange an airport/ train station transfer for you. In fact we hired the driver for a day drive to Pisac - he was wonderful, helpful and knowleable, and a safe driver.
Hot breakfast is very adequate served in an airy room. There are heaters in the rooms and hot water 24 hours, plus extra blankets.
Cannot recommend this hotel enough.

Room Tip: Be aware some rooms are internal, looking onto a corridor, the ones that open onto the courtyard unf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brysc01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    40
    7
    6
    3
See reviews for
14
28
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

The location is great, the staff is very friendly, we were there while there were doing some workings in the nearby building. In our last day there disaper our money. The staff was concern and supportive, they try to help. But the money dissapered.
Be careful.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mxmale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
detroit area
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Just steps away from the action in the Plaza de Armas. Clean comfortable rooms and the staff is extremely helpful. This is a great base of operations in Cusco and considering the location not badly priced. Cusco is a great city explore it all and don't miss the market it's outrageous, skip the cathedral in our opinion.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keith n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

This hotel in Cusco is excellently located on the Plaza de Armas.
My room looked brand new with a wooden floor and was very clean and equipped - the only room in Peru I had a heater, which I needed....
Breakfast was good and nicely served.
The reception stuff is very friendly and helpful, and the owners are a very nice local couple.
Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matterhorn4478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genf
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Right behind the South East corner's of the historic Plaza de Armas located small, simple hotel built on Inca walls of an ancient street. Spacy, clean rooms with hot showers. Very friendly and helpful people who run the hotel. Offers a small breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mohave2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antigua, Guatemala
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Owned by the same family as the slightly chic-er and slightly pricier Hostal Loreto below, this exceptionally well-located hotel has a more traditional feel to it. The staff were exceptionally helpful and the breakfast substantial. There's a common area with mate de coca and other teas available for self-service all day.

Room Tip: My suspicion is that the rooms leading off the lounge area behind the reception are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elcadejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.0 mi away
Yabar Hotel Cusco Suite
Yabar Hotel Cusco Suite
#144 of 168 in Cusco
44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Inka I
Royal Inka I
#38 of 168 in Cusco
394 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Cusco Catedral
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Del Prado Inn
Del Prado Inn
#88 of 168 in Cusco
255 reviews
0.0 mi away
Loreto Boutique Hotel
Loreto Boutique Hotel
#29 of 462 in Cusco
395 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Virrey Boutique Hostal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Casa De Selenque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Casa De Selenque

Property: Hotel La Casa De Selenque
Address: 115, Calle Loreto - 2do piso | Plaza de Armas, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 364 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Casa De Selenque 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently opened hotel in the heart of Cusco, right next to the main square (Plaza de Armas). Conversion of historic picturesque colonial property with a a charming style patio with all modern conveniences.The rooms have private bathroom with amenities, hot water 24 hours, LCD TVs, Wi-Fi and internet conexion,telephone, heating, hairdry. We offer 24 hours front desk,safe box,luggage deposit,bilingual staff, transfer,tourist information,telephone public and the breaksfast included in the price (cereals,milk,coffee,butter,jam,eggs,fruits,orange juice, cheese, ham,te and bread) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel La Casa De Selenque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing