We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish joint with outstanding views of Cusco” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Morada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Morada
Ranked #11 of 339 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Stylish joint with outstanding views of Cusco”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Very classy, though unpretentious, rooms and common areas.

Great wifi and very friendly staff.

Very interesting old area, with cobblestones and great architecture. An easy walk to the main square, and not hard to walk back to La Morada once you've acclimatised.

Light-intolerant sleepers will need their eye masks, as early morning sun is part of the design.

We loved Cusco and should have stayed longer.

BTW, for aviation nerds, the approach and landing at Cusco is quite spectacular!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    68
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
95
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

We arrived at 6am and they greeted us with tea and took care of our luggage. Very nice nd tastefully decorated rooms, breakfast served in your room which you can eat on a sunny terrace with the nicest view in Cusco. Great value for money!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Astrid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

The hotel was a little difficult to get to because taxis do not go all the way up to it. Plus at the time of our visit there was construction on the road. The hotel was really nice with clean rooms. The staff was really friendly. They sent out my clothes to be cleaned and I was able to pay extra to get them back quickly. Ask to have your breakfast served on the terrace and enjoy the view of Cusco!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Very nice place, I enjoyed it. The room was clean and tidy, decor was nice. The layout was a bit strange (room upstairs, bathroom downstairs) but no complaints. Great breakfast. The place just feels good and fresh. Please note that taxis don't go all the way up, you will have to walk from San Blas square to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pedro0045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Normal, IL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

The first thing we found about this hotel, was that it was a little difficult to find. Make sure that you know exactly where it is before trying to find it, because likely you will be in Cusco for the first time and all the steps and the thin air make it difficult to search around. However, once we found the hotel, it was nice with a modern design. The staff was friendly and spoke English pretty well. Breakfast is delivered to your room with a phone call and is pretty good, if a little repetitive after a day or two. The hotel is about 10 minutes from the central plaza and close to a lot of shopping and anything you would need. They were happy to help us with a free cab to the airport at the end of our stay, possibly because we didnt use one to get to the hotel from the airport. My only complaints were that the room was very cold and the heaters they have done seem to make much difference at all. Also, in order to get hot water in the shower you need to turn it on and then leave it for at least ten minutes, then you can have a decent shower. They also had dvd players and some dvds for you to watch if you wanted. That was a nice addition when we were tired.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem about the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stevencbyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

First class cusco accommodation with free airport pickup. The walk up stairs takes your breath away due to the high altitude, but the fantastic terrace views make the climb worthwhile.

Very nice service: free airport pick up, coca tea upon arrival, fresh fruit in the rooms, free wifi, pleasant staff and very clean rooms! (Not a given in Peru). Rooms also have electric heaters, which come in very handy on those cold winter nights.
Yes, you need to walk the steep hill to get to it and that may seem a bit of a challenge with altitude, but the quietness and amazing terrace views of Cusco city makes it worthwhile.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We chose to stay at La Morada after reading some great reviews - All very true!

I stayed here for 2 nights before heading off on the Inca Trail and then a further 2 nights upon our return. We were met at the airport by Willy who took us to the beautiful La Morada, this is a free transfer service that La Morada offers and they arrange it with you once you make your booking - Great service!

The accommodation is just off San Blas square - You can only get so far by car so the rest you reach on foot - There are some steps you have to go up which I will admit are a challenge but that is only due to the altitude which left me very short of breath! Once you get to La Morada it is all worthwhile - They have a beautiful big terrace with tables and chairs and we were served Coca tea here on our arrival. The terrace has wonderful views all over Cusco, its stunning.

For our first 2 night stay we were in room 3 which was a split level room over 3 floors - It was just beautiful and so spacious - Ground floor was a seating area, kitchen and bathroom, then up to a twin room then up again to a double room. The beds in this place are so comfortable and with lovely big duvets - These are needed as it was quite chilly when we were there.

The people who run this place are so helpful and gave us some great recommendations for restaurants to go to and also local sights - They also helped us in taking our laundry and getting this done and they very kindly looked after our luggage whilst we went off on the Inca Trail at no additional cost and then delivered this to our room as soon as we were back.

For the second 2 night stay when we returned from the Inca Trail we were in room 9 which was an apartment in the corner of the terrace and all on one floor - This apartment was huge!! It had a lovely big kitchen with dining table then one room had 3 single beds and the other a double and single .. again amazing comfy beds and duvets! The bathroom was lovely and big as well with separate toilet to the shower.

The breakfast here is just lovely and is brought to your room every morning - All you have to do is call the front desk and they bring it along! It was fresh fruit, pastries and breads and freshly cooked eggs with great coffee and fresh juice - Yummy!

The location of this place is great though as it is away from all the noise and really very peaceful but easy walking distance to everywhere. Once you get your bearings and get used to all the little windy streets its easy to find your way round - We went to Plaze de Armes which is about 10 mins walk, San Blas Square is just a minute away and the Coca Museum is without doubt worth a visit - Its a bit tricky to find but only 10 mins away, the guys on reception will help you find it!

Whilst you stay here make sure you visit a restaurant called Pacha Papa which is just 2 mins away in San Blas square - La Morada recommended this place to us and we're so pleased they did! The food, drinks and setting is just incredible :-)

If you go to Cusco make sure you stay here, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.1 mi away
Amaru Hostal
Amaru Hostal
#32 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.6 mi away
Ninos Hotel
Ninos Hotel
#24 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Morada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Morada

Property: La Morada
Address: Kurkurpata 230, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 339 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Morada 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS and TravelUp so you can book your La Morada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing