We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up up and away”
Review of La Morada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Morada
Ranked #15 of 413 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Phew, first stop in South America and the altitude went straight to my head. Luckily we were welcomed with a soothing cup of Coca tea, though I nearly went for the oxygen bottle next to reception for a much needed boost. Wi-Fi throughout and a pc at reception. Rooms were large in traditional colonial style, very accommodating and the breakfast was lovely, plenty of fresh fruit, cereals and eggs, done any way you want. Beautiful views from the balcony but it's a fair walk uphill from the main square (15 mins), but the beauty is it feels miles away from the mayhem. We had a late bus and were given a later check out time at no extra charge and they looked after our bags for us. Would definitely stay here again, next time for longer so we get to enjoy the surroundings rather than dart around the Cusco area at breakneck speed (we only had three days here)

Room Tip: I would need an extra day to acclimatize...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 58 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

A wonderful hotel with 9 rooms/suites. The suite was very cozy and an awesome view over Cusco. Always hot water in the huge shower, that can be used by 2 persons;)
The breakfast has all that is needed and when you go to a trip to Machu Picchu they pack you a breakfast for take away. Also they can help you to book a trip there (you should contact them best 1-2 months before your arrival to book the trip. Train tickets are sold out fast). Also they are super friendly and can help you with everything.
The was to the hotel has few stairs which r exhausting, but the view makes you forget about it :)
In the end it was the perfect choice for my girlfriend and me.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Aron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Great hotel, excellent breakfast and nice room.
There's a nice common area to chill out or have a coca tea (which is offered by staff when you arrive).
They let me leave luggage in a storage for 5 days while I took the Salkantay tour.
IMPORTANT: if you aren't in good health conditions, think twice: to reach the hotel, you need to walk on a street where cars don't fit (actually , a hill). If this is a problem for you, think twice.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndreChaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed at la morada before and after our inca trail and it was just perfect. Clean, nicely designed and homely spacious rooms, some within amazing view over cusco. The hotel has a beautiful terrace with panoramic views over the city, perfect to relax a little reading or enjoying the sun. The stairs leadin to the hotel in the upper psrt of cusco are a good way to train for machu picchu!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lena l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My friend and I had the pleasure of staying at La Morada last week and had the best experience. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. The rooms were large, with your own separate kitchen. The view from the terrace is outstanding. The hotel is a ways up a hill, but the walk is not that bad and the view is totally worth the walk. I happily recommend this hotel to anyone that doesn't mind the walk to it. Great Wifi, cable, airport shuttle, and laundry service if requested.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I have absolutely no complains. The hotel is i little bit up the hill and has a great view of Cusco.
Rooms are clean and the staff is friendly and helpful.
Free airport shuttle and free breakfast are a nice bonus.

Room Tip: I think they are all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthonyfonzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Very classy, though unpretentious, rooms and common areas.

Great wifi and very friendly staff.

Very interesting old area, with cobblestones and great architecture. An easy walk to the main square, and not hard to walk back to La Morada once you've acclimatised.

Light-intolerant sleepers will need their eye masks, as early morning sun is part of the design.

We loved Cusco and should have stayed longer.

BTW, for aviation nerds, the approach and landing at Cusco is quite spectacular!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#5 of 172 in Cusco
1,526 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.6 mi away
Ninos Hotel Meloc
Ninos Hotel Meloc
#25 of 172 in Cusco
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Andenes al Cielo
Andenes al Cielo
#4 of 413 in Cusco
523 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tika Wasi Casa Boutique
0.4 mi away
Hostal Wara Wara
Hostal Wara Wara
#10 of 413 in Cusco
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Morada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Morada

Address: Kurkurpata 230, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 413 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range: £33 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Morada 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Morada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing