We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paris in Peru.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Soleil

Le Soleil
Ranked #12 of 691 Restaurants in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$25
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Le Soleil is the first restaurant gourmet French food in the city of Cusco. Proposes true flavors and wines of French culture, the only place where you can taste the classics of this kitchen, for example, rillettes, confit de canard, creme brulee. Offers an exclusive menu prepared only with fresh products according to market dishes available. In the space bar you can taste wine by the glass even the excellent French wines. The restaurant is open for all age groups and is also available for private events such as: Weddings, cocktails.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Paris in Peru.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

We were advised of Le Soleil, by a fellow traveller when visiting Machu Picchu and tried to book it via our hotel without success, then or next hotel on route and finally, directly with the restaurant, despite limited wifi. It was certainly worth the effort, being gourmet Paris, without the hissy fits. Excellent food, ambience and service. Highly recommended and not just because you miss Europe!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cmwellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcinart, Owner at Le Soleil, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear Madame and Monsieur Wellington,

It was such a pleasure to host you in le Soleil. Thank you for insisting to make a reservation ;)) I am glad you made it through.
Many thanks for you great comment about us and your experience. Thank you as well for your recommendation to other users of TA.
Our team sends you greatings from Cusco and we do hope to see you again one day.

Best regards,

Arthur Marcinkiewicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    667
    122
    28
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Le Soleil does not need any more 5s”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Although Le Soleil has plenty of "5"s, as a foodie I have to still give it another 5. Very authentic French food in Cusco. It is also reasonably priced. The owner Art is very attendant to your needs. It is tucked away in an alley but the ambience inside is great.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hridoydaktar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcinart, Owner at Le Soleil, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for loving us on TA; and yes, we need more 5s ;)) it is our daily bonus to know that people appreciate our efforts to provide a good food and service.
We are proud to be able to fullfil our guests' expectations.
If one day you visit Cusco again please drop by le Soleil for more authentic French food.

My best regards,

Arthur Marcinkiewicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

What a wonderful surprise!! We expected to be pleased, but our experience there went way beyond that. The food and service were excellent and the restaurant is beautiful. I can't think how it could have been better. We chose the seven-course tasting menu -- every course was better than the last. Whatever else you choose to do in Cusco, do not miss Le Soleil.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank magjo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcinart, Owner at Le Soleil, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Magjo,

Thank you for your last week visit at le Soleil and thank you for your nice comment about us.
We like when people say that we are e nice surprise in Cusco ;)) Thank you for rating us as excellent for both food and service. I am glad that you liked our deco which is not the case of everybody...;) taste is taste we said...
I do hope that one day you can visit us again: it will be a great pleasure to host you.

Best regards,

Arthur Marcinkiewicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Do not miss the chance to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

What can i say that others have not said already, the food is outstanding, the service is excellent. Try the seven course tasting menu and do not miss the chance to visit this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eoireitum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcinart, Owner at Le Soleil, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent visit at le Soleil and thank you for your great comment; I was pleased to contribute to your special event and I am glad that everything went right and your lady was happy ;)
Have a great trip back to Scotland and if one day you visit Cusco again please stop by le Soleil.

My best regards,

Arthur Macinkiewicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sparkling French gem in Peru”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Refreshing, welcoming, fabulous food! A group of 9 went for dinner, and were awed by the innovation, flavor, and great wine pairings (when Customs allows the wine to get into the country). Art is a wonderful host. Two people enjoyed the 7-course tasting menu, and Art generously brought the other seven people two of the courses. Two of us went back the next day for lunch to have items we didn't have the night before! A MUST visit in Cusco.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcinart, Owner at Le Soleil, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Karen,

Great to hear from you! I do hope your journey back home was safe.
Many thanks for your visit and many thanks for your superb review about le Soleil.
It was so nice and fun to host you and your group and the second day you and your friend!
Happy faces we saw after your meal, are our bonus and recognition of all team's hard work.
Thank you for mentionning customs ;)) sometimes people do not understand that bringing delicacies from France to Cusco at 11000 feet is not that easy.
It was such a pleasure to host you and I really do hope that one day our paths can cross again and if it is in Cusco, it will be definetly at le Soleil ok? ;))
Please say hello to everybody, my very best regards,

Arthur Marcinkiewicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Soleil also viewed

 
Cusco, Cusco Region
 
Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Le Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing