We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Antawasi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Antawasi Hotel
Ranked #68 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

We were picked from the airport, however we had to call them when we arrived in Cusco airport.

We only stayed for 1 night as this was our stop over before going to Machu Picchu.

Basic rooms, very clean with free Wifi.

We were on the 2nd floor which had no lift (lucky we had backpacks).

Staff was very friendly.

Location was excellent, short walk to the main square and downtown.

Overall very good value.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chung H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    94
    23
    5
    4
See reviews for
27
91
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights before our Inka Tail trek and once night after and were very pleased with the stay. They have free Wifi which is always a plus for me, however it was spotty and went down quite a few times, and the weak signal at times meant it was occasionally slow. But it was FREE so they earn points from me.

The location was nice and we never had a problem with the noise. The main plaza was about a 10-15 minute walk away. There is a laundry service across the street that is also very convenient.

The breakfast was nice and varied somewhat each of the days we were there. They have a nice patio with a fountain to relax, have a cup of free coca tea and read a book. We found the staff to be friendly and pleasant to speak with, and getting picked up at the airport for free was also very nice. The rooms were all clean, new and well maintained. The few things to note that could have been better: some rooms can be somewhat small, but the superior rooms are larger and are not much more expensive. Definitely worth the extra few dollars if there are two people or if you have more luggage. I also wished they had safes in the room, would have been much more convenient than leaving things at the front dest. They did let us keep our luggage there however while we hiked the Inka Trail and we felt it was secure.

One other suggestion is that it would be nice if the front desk could make change from larger to smaller soles bills as the ATMs kept giving me larger bills that I would have to wait endlessly for someone to find change for every time I wanted to make a purchase. Most hotels nowadays will make change for you these days but Antawasi would not. Just a small suggestion but would be a nice touch for customer convenience. But to summarize, I would stay here again and have no problem recommending Antawasi to others.

Room Tip: Take a superior room if one is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CindyLou12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two nights. Nice hotel, close to the main square and downtown. Clean rooms and very nice decoration. They offer transportation from the airport to the hotel, they also arrange taxis for wherever you need to go. Breakfast is good and the kitchen staff was very nice and helpful maybe the only ones who smiled at us. Front desk people I have to say have TERRIBLE COSTUMER SERVICE, when checked in the morning lady didn't greet us or explain any of the amenities didn't even bother about being nice. Afternoon guy when we asked for the key to the room didn't even check our IDs so ANYBODY could just asked for it and got it he seemed more worried on his Facebook. We will recommend this hotel but definitely has to work on their costumer service.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MSG48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

This was a great choice of hotel in Cusco as they picked you up from the airport and the location was excellent. Rooms were clean and the price was very reasonable. Breakfast came with the room as well and staff help and smiles each day. Had I to travel back to Peru, this would be my first choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

I enjoyed staying at this hotel because the rooms were clean, service was great, breakfast was yummy and also, was at a good location. Furthermore, the price was cheap. Even though they do not have safe, they keep your luggage in a locked room. We kept our stuff with them while we did the 5 days salkentey trek, and everything was fine! The only downside was the wifi in the room that would come and go but other than that, it was a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shalalak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masury, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Clean,cheap,updated friendly staff,bilingual.all was good here close to the action at 55 a night a bargain.recommend to all.the court yard was quaint and allowed for a outdoor expierence inside .one small drawback was that the Wi-Fi was week and you have to move around to get a good signal

Room Tip: All seem to be the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dion M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

From our point of view, the best feature of this place is the service, which was fabulous. We were met at the airport by two people, one of whom spoke fluent English. We tipped 15 sols for the 15 minute ride. A nice girl greeted us at the front desk and offered tea. We asked about a place to eat and were given a map with directions to Plaza de Armas, a great people place in a delightful square. It was very easy to find places to eat and drink. Our room was modest, but more than adequate. Wireless in the room (and hotel) was consistently strong. Breakfast was not very good. The morning we checked out, we had several hours to kill
before needing a taxi to the airport. We stored our bags and a very helpful front desk person directed us to the city market where we had a great time, before returning to the hotel. A taxi had already been ordered for us. Our bags, including carry-ons, were carried out to the taxi for us. To conclude (almost), the service at this place was terrific and all front desk personnel were eager to please and spoke fine English. I have only one complaint, but it is a big one. Almost every hotel these days has either an inroom safe or a secure safety deposit box area near the front desk which is keyed, the hotel and the client each having a key both of which are required for entry - like a safety deposit box at a bank. This place has neither inroom boxes or a secure general area and, for me, it is the single reason I will not return. This hotel's idea of security is quite unbelievable. They ask the client to fill out a form describing
what he/she proposes to store in safe-keeping (they ask for currencies and AMOUNTS of each). I refused to indicate amounts. You put what you want to store in a brown envelope. They staple this closed and staple the form to the front, then put said form in a small room off the lobby where, as far as I could see, access was pretty easy. I left my valuables in this position
for two days during a visit to Machu Picchu and worried about my money the whole
time. I am happy to report my fears were groundless, but what a way to ask
a tourist to store valuables which on a long trip far away from home are so
critical.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Edgar007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Unumizu Cusco
Hotel Unumizu Cusco
#46 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Garcilaso
Hotel Garcilaso
#63 of 162 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Illa's Inn
Illa's Inn
#47 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Golden Inca
Hotel Golden Inca
#34 of 162 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mirador de Santa Ana
Mirador de Santa Ana
#66 of 162 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ninos Hotel
Ninos Hotel
#24 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antawasi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antawasi Hotel

Property: Antawasi Hotel
Address: Inticcahuarina street No 621, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Antawasi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Antawasi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing