We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Virrey Boutique Hostal
Ranked #25 of 411 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We splurged for the suite, a huge room with a balcony overlooking the Plaza de Armas. It was awesome to sit out there with a water or beer and watch people. On Sundays, they have a big military / civic demonstration / march. And there are always lots of tourists and locals walking around.
I don't know the extent of the staff's English proficiency, but was very happy with them. They were all very nice, helpful, and attentive. They hurried to come help us any time we called and were glad to share info without pushing us to book tours with them.
I wish I had more time to spend in Cuzco, since there is a lot to explore in and around the city.
I would suggest that you bring ear plugs to stay anywhere in Cuzco within hearing distance of the Plaza. The army sets off fireworks at 6:05am and 6:35am.
Breakfast was plentiful and the facility was nice looking.

Room Tip: Splurge for a suite overlooking the plaza.
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank gringuitoloco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 51 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

In the middle of the Plaza d'Armas in Cuzco facing the Basilica, that is the only positive comment I will make about this hotel.
The staff barely speaks English, not good when most of your business is with tourists.
The rooms were renovated in the 70s, noisy, small and uncomfortable!
The rug on the main stairway look like it was vacuumed 10 years ago.
There is plenty of better Hotel in the surrounding streets that looked much better.
I will not stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pascalbev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Highly recommend this boutique hostel if you are going to Cusco. Location, price and service were very excellent. Location: is right in the Plaza de Armas. Since we got there the hosts Reynaldo and Darwin were very accommodating. It felt like home and I will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizbeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This hotel is convenient and affordable. Central to everything. Comfortable beds, and helpful staff. Pretty good for the price or around $81US a night for two people. Breakfast is good, with a reasonable amount of variety

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back. Rooms on the front face Plaza De Armas and can be noisy. Very comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leslie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This place is in the center of it all! Could not have a better location in Cusco if you tried! the hotel itself is more like a 3 star place not so much a boutique hotel. the bathrooms are a bit outdated, and the rooms are just ok. The staff is ok, didn't feel them going out of their way. BReakfast is quite good, many options compared to other hotels. Choose this place for the location!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobalCitizenM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Great location/good value for money. The staff was very nice and helpful. Specially Darwin Jimenez that not only had multi language skills, he made a good effort to speak Portuguese . Also kindly did my online check in for my flight on the day after, as the internet went down at the time , and he did it for me during his night shift. Muchas Gracias Darwin.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cristiana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Great location on the Plaza de Armas with various shops and restaurants within a stone's throw. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Room was adequate. Mattresses a touch hard.

We stayed two separate times with a visit to Machu Pichu in between. On first visit they provided bottles of water, nice. But on second stay they did not which seems just the opposite of what most hotels practice. The included breakfast buffet was centered around scrambled eggs (no other choice) that were probably cooked at 6:30 am and then not replenished. By 9 am the eggs were definitely dry. Last two days we skipped the hotel buffet for a pretty good breakfast sandwich, and much better coffee, at McDonald's across the Plaza.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler6208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0 mi away
Plaza de Armas Cusco Hotel
0.2 mi away
Andenes al Cielo
Andenes al Cielo
#4 of 411 in Cusco
523 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal Quipu Cusco
Hostal Quipu Cusco
#23 of 411 in Cusco
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostal Wara Wara
Hostal Wara Wara
#10 of 411 in Cusco
412 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal Cusi Wasi
Hostal Cusi Wasi
#34 of 411 in Cusco
224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tika Wasi Casa Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Virrey Boutique Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Virrey Boutique Hostal

Address: Portal Comercio 165 | Plaza de Armas, Cusco, Peru (Formerly Hostal El Virrey)
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 411 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range: £49 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Virrey Boutique Hostal 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Virrey Boutique Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing