We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst place I have ever stayed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Che Lagarto Hostel Cusco
Ranked #102 of 512 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Save yourself the hassles and find someplace else. The hostel was freezing cold at night- the windows didn't fully shut and there is no heating. And this is in a city that reaches the 30s (fahrenheit) at night. They claim to have heated rooms, but they only use space heaters and they don't have very many. There was no hot water either. This would be one thing in a super cheap hotel, but I was charged $50 a night for what was basically camping. The breakfast was plain bread, period. Ther was a broken toaster if you wanted plain, burnt bread. Whenever I asked for help they told me to come back later. even when I asked for extra blankets they wouldn't help. Despite the fact that I could see they had unused rooms (with blankets that weren't being used either!

There was also a huge noise problem. I was up half the night because they have a bar right next to the rooms and pump out techno non stop. I don't think they realize that many of their customers have early morning connections to Machu Picchu and don't appreciate the noise.

They are pretty unscrupulous too. I booked three nights, but after the first night I decided to move someplace better. They wouldn't refund a cent or even apologize for the poor service. I scouted other hotels in town and found dozens of other, great options, so if you are looking for something in Cusco, keep looking! There are much better places out there!

Room Tip: Insist on seeing a room and getting a heater in it (and turned on) and testing the hot water before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JVW883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 18 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2012

The hostel is located very close to the centre of the city. We had a private room with a full-size bed, bathroom (nice and clean) and a flat screen TV. You get towels and the room is cleaned everyday. In the morning there is a continental breakfast. The staff was really friendly and helpful in every situation. You also have free Wifi and three internet terminals. It also is a safe place for you and your luggage.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcusSabrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Arriving really early in the morning about 7am, after the night bus, we were told we couldn't check in till 2pm, fair enough. So asked if we could at least have a shower to freshen up so we could walk around the city before returning to check in...we were told it was 5soles per towel..extortionate! Still paid it though, we were desperate! At least they let us have the breakfast, which is free, and really nice, spectacular views of the city from the breakfast room, It was bread, jam butter, fruit, juice, coffe or coca tea and cereal. At 2pm we returned and were messed around carting our bags from room to room none of the staff really knew which rooms or even which beds were free...finally we were settled in a nice 6 bed dorm with bathroom 25soles each. We went out for dinner on our second night here and when we returned to our room somebody else was sleeping in my friends bed, no staff member seemed to care and just told him to grab another bed in the room! We left to make the Machu Pichu trail and were told we could keep our bags in their lockers for free if were going to return for another nights accommodation, we were advised to book our stay through hostel world on the net instead of through the front desk as it was cheaper and more convenient...none of the staff have a clue! so we booked the additional nights accommodation for our return night and presented it to the man on the desk who insisted that it must be wrong, that there were no 6 bed dorms available for us that night and not at that price...we were stunned, so we had to get the email opened on his computer so he could cut and paste it into google translator!!!
When we did return our bags were pushed to the back of this really dodgy luggage hold area, taking us 20 mins to empty out! and were told we had to pay another 5 soles for a towel as its 5soles a night, the laundry here is a crazy price, like 6soles a kilo...ridiculous, best off getting it down elsewhere! Common areas here are full up of people lucky if ya can get a free seat somewhere. So mostly end up hanging out in your bed room. Pretty good wifi connection and 3 computers for your use.

Room Tip: 12 bed dorm is terrible, spend a little extra for the 6 bed dorm..so much nicer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Neat and tidy. This Hostel provides everything you need and service you'll remember! The staff here go out of their way to ensure that your stay in Cuzco will be a memorable one.

The best mattress I have ever found in a Hostel, endless hot water, a perpetual stream of coca tea and kindness is what I found at -che lagartos cusco. . Good WiFi, kitchen , ATM, LOCKERS , cinema tv room , bar, access and comfortable common areas are available for your enjoyment as well as the casual concierge.

Perhaps simple and certainly uncomplicated che lagartos cusco provides easy access to Cuzco and a comfortable place to relax after a long day of trekking.

Room Tip: I recommend using the second level rooms are warmer rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicholas30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

This was the most frustrating hostel of all the hostels we stayed in south america. The rooms themselves were fine (if a bit cold). The service was absolutely appalling though. We were informed before we arrived that due to an error with hostel bookers, we would have to change rooms the next morning. Then they informed us on arrival that there was no room available for our second nights stay, we would have to wait and see if someone cancelled. After one hour of arguing, it transpired they did have our booking. They attempted to overcharge my friends for their room. They were so unhelpful it ruined the hostel for us. The wifi is patchy at best and breakfast is sparse. DO NOT STAY HERE. there are much better options available.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anabanana399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

This was easily the worst hostel I stayed in during my year off spanning 4 continents.

The staff are completely incompetent and unhelpful. They over charged me for my room and it was only on further questioning that they dropped the price. At first they blamed the cost of the water I had bought, then they changed it to the 10% I had paid online. Oddly enough I would still have overpaid by a ridiculous amount.

They mixed up the rooms constantly and made us move on the first night as they had overbooked. On our first day they told us we were not guaranteed rooms for the duration of our stay, they said they might have a cancellation for us. This is all despite booking everything in advance. There were numerous other issues with our rooms, it was freezing cold etc. Genuinely such a horrible place to stay and staff were in no way helpful, they were so obstructive.

I have stayed in other Che Lagarto's, this is nothing like the rest of them. Completely disorganised with no regard for customers. I would not recommend staying here.

Room Tip: The rooms get colder on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathal1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Most unhelpful, incompetent staff. Somehow made us pay for an extra room that none of us slept in! There were 7 of us staying there and some of the rooms were perfect, however others were freezing cold! After spending the last few months travelling around the southern hemisphere, staying in hostels, this was BY FAR the worst we staying in.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.3 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 512 in Cusco
681 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#151 of 171 in Cusco
86 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pirwa Colonial Hostel
Pirwa Colonial Hostel
#66 of 512 in Cusco
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
El Tumi de Oro Cusco
El Tumi de Oro Cusco
#60 of 398 in Cusco
54 reviews
0.3 mi away
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
#11 of 512 in Cusco
768 reviews
0.4 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Che Lagarto Hostel Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Che Lagarto Hostel Cusco

Address: Siete Cuartones 284 int. 3, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 512 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Number of rooms: 22

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing