We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One ruins too many.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Tambomachay

Tambomachay
Book In Advance
More Info
US$85.00*
and up
Private Cusco City Tour Including Main Archaeological Sites
Ranked #26 of 167 things to do in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5,031 reviews
1,833 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,820 helpful votes
“One ruins too many.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Bit like alfie50 - not worth the effort. Eventually, ruins are like cathedrals in Europe and Red Forts in India, you can overdose on the, We had already seen so many and this didn't add to the experience.
What did make if fascinating was watching 2 Llamas fighting, at first I thought it was a mating ritual with the 2 swapping roles and climbing on top of each other. When the darker one then put both front legs around the neck of the lighter one, it was like a headlock and battle to the death.
Far more interesting than the ruins.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    407
    467
    199
    12
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southwold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
595 reviews
173 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 500 helpful votes
“not worth the effort”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Do no bother
after a ten minute walk up hill on a dirt track we came upon some water trickling over some stones.
it may be sacred to some one but it seemed a waste of time and effort to me.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank alfie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis , MO
Level Contributor
97 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Magical”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Tambomachay is a little piece of magic tucked away in the Andes. After a beautiful scenic walk, you arrive at Tambomachay, a place where the Incas would come and worship and relax. The ruins are kept and preserved in amazing condition. There are fountains where they would worship water, and trails that lead up around the hills to get spectacular pictures. The views are magnificent, and from the ruins, there is hardly a modern thing in site, which really helps bring you back to the time of the incas. This ruins is small, so I highly recommend a visit in transit to some of the larger attractions. You only need 20-30 minutes here. There are local vendors for souvenirs. Highly recommend for all ages, however lots of walking will be there. The ruins and walk are flat, so this attraction is good for people in wheelchairs.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
170 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“a little one”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We have visited this site on our way travelling from Urubamba to Cusco combined with other attractions in the area such as the Animal Sanctuary Cochahuasi, Puca Pucara and Sacsayhuaman.
It's a good stop if you are in the neighborhood and it's included in Boleto Turistico. Locals dressed in traditional (?) costume waiting a picture to be taken for a little tip. Same you practically experience at all tourist spots.
We spent some 10-15 minutes here.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank monaHungary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Texas
Level Contributor
99 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good short stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Neat place to stop while seeing the other sites, maybe not for just that but if you are in the area it is worth stopping.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank BRYAN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tambomachay also viewed

Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 
Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Tambomachay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing