We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booker beware. Many kinks to be worked out.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Ranked #7 of 163 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Booker beware. Many kinks to be worked out.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

We stayed and held an event at the JW Cusco in early October, during the soft opening. We were frustrated when we arrived to find the event room unifinshed, construction to be ongoing in many parts of the hotel (including almost all of the common spaces, restaurants, and right outside our room), and management across departments to be out of sync. We were not told it was a soft opening until we expressed concern with all of the issues we were experiencing (room not being cleaned while we were away, cold room service food, billing nightmare, event space unfinished and many unacceptable interruptions throughout the day), which was indicative of the larger communication issues at this property. The staff was all very friendly and accommodating, but there was an obvious lack of management communication between departments and I spent much of my time there correcting the hotel's mistakes and ensuring we received some semblance of the service one expects at a JW. It was really a bad experience. It is a gorgeous property, but set realistic expectations when booking that it is not up to par with the service level of a JW at this time (in terms of management; the individual staff were lovely) and make sure to keep copies of all reservation materials and communications with the hotel to ensure you are billed correctly! Also, take note that there is no business center, spa or pool yet.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank khammersley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,123
    270
    55
    32
    21
See reviews for
688
1,025
98
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

We were fortunate to stay at the JW Marriott during its opening week in Sept, 2012. The Marriott created a 5 star facility in an abandoned convent within walking distance of Cusco’s Main Plaza. While preserving the architecture of the 17th century structure, this has become a beautiful and spacious hotel with all the latest amenities. The service was impeccable and the entire staff was knowledgeable and alert to a tired traveler’s needs.
We were particularily pleased with the Marriott restaurant. The menu offered superb food and a sophisticated blend of Peruvian and continental dishes. The wine list presented a balanced assortment of South American and European wines. Prices were moderate for the quality of the food and beverages offered. Our five days at the JW Marriott in Cusco, Peru was one of our all-time most positive hotel experiences.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfowens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

I stayed four nights during october on this recently opened hotel. The hotel is strategically located on the city centre close to the major sites of Cusco city. The hotel is very comfortable. Most of the areas have good decoration and are very nice. I stayed in an executive double room which had a good size. The service is superb. The staff is always there to help you with anything you need and they always treat you with a smile. If I come back to Cusco I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

This is by far the most stunning hotel I have ever stayed at. The design of the common areas is perhaps the best I've seen in my life. Ruins from St Augustine's Monastery are showcased throughout the hotel, with original walls incorporated into the building. My friend and I were staying a few blocks away and were drawn to the lobby as we passed by. We entered and asked for a tour. Gonzalo greeted us as long lost friends and showed us around with pride. We were so struck by the beauty of the interior that we switched hotels the next day! Having just opened a few weeks before, there were some minor issues (with water in our case), but the staff handled everything professionally, efficiently and courteously. We were especially impressed by Angelita's knowledge of the area and ability to answer all questions about how to get around. Luis went above and beyond when assisting us in getting last minute Machu Picchu tickets- he actually escorted us to the bank to translate and waited in line with us for an hour!!! And, of course, our new friend Gonzalo, who left us a lovely note and fruit plate. The excellence of this staff and the beauty of this hotel make it a must stay. Spend the extra money and treat yourself to luxury! You deserve it ;-)

Room Tip: Stay in the basement if you would like to see an original Incan wall in your room. Try an upper leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennyho8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima Region, Peru
Level Contributor
684 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

I was the first guest of the JW Marriott Hotel Cusco, I was honored and welcome by all the staff with and incredible surprise as the First Guest at JW Cusco, was one of the nicest experiences we had with my family when we visit Marriott Hotels in the world. Thank you all, starting from the GM , Herr Heins Prelle, and his staff, ...faces I know for a long time , like Gonzalo ..I met him almost 9 years ago at the JW Lima and he is a Manager ....Teddy Bustamante the best chef of JW with incredible awards, .. more faces I know for a long time from the JW in Lima, like Renzo, Peggy, Cecilia our dear Giromi from Lima Excecutive Lounge.so nice to see her again!!!....
all of them welcome me and my family , and I want to thank you all, we will never forget your wonderful welcom as the First Guest!! thank you all!!
the hotel is superb, the service as usual ...no mistakes, Marriott style, decoration is can not be better, lights on the right places, artwork exquisit , the rooms are very confortable , all classy with a mix of modern , the front desk is incredible with a unique Sarwosky piece of art with hundreds of crystals, we traveled to the pass enjoying the Convent how Marriott respect the lines of the old days , where the history took place. The location is only 2 minutes from the Plaza de Armas , 15 minutes from the Airport and 25 minutes from Poroi station .
I recommend this hotel , as the best hotel in Cusco, those we enjoy Marriott arround the world , we can not miss it!!! Congratulations JW Marriott Cusco Hotel !!! best hotel in Cusco.

Room Tip: all of them are fantastic, all with oxygen , all incredible!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alex d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
342 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

We checked in on Sept 15th, the opening day for the hotel. This is not your traditional Marriott. The hotel is absolutely stunning! The common areas are exquisitely decorated with antiques, period artwork and artifacts. The entire hotel is very tastefully decorated and classy.

Located in the historical center, the hotel is close to the major historical Cusco sites and many of the popular restaurants.

The hotel took eight years to build and the original Inca walls are visible in the basement.

The rooms are decent size, nicely furnished with a very comfortable bed, a marble bathroom and hardwood floors. Most importantly, the rooms are quiet. Previously, we stayed in a 5 star Cusco hotel and heard road traffic all night.

The hotel staff was friendly, helpful and attentive. The breakfast buffet is exceptional and a great value at $19.

Having seen or stayed at their competition, my guess is this is probably the best hotel in Cusco.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kstraveler81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.2 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.2 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
1.2 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 163 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott El Convento Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott El Convento Cusco

Property: JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Address: Esquina De La Calle Ruinas 432 y San Agustin, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 163 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott El Convento Cusco 5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city's historical center, the JW Marriott Hotel Cusco combines the needs of today's luxury traveler with the design elements of an architecturally stunning archaeological site. History-seekers will find Peruvian cultural artifacts in the hotel's two exhibition halls. Accommodations are equipped with the latest technology including Wi-Fi, LCD cable TVs, and oxygen systems for a fee. Designed around a colonial convent, this hotel in Peru features resort-like amenities including a Cusco restaurant with excellent Peruvian cuisine, a bar and a full-service spa offering a relaxation heated pool, sauna, steam room and treatments inspired by ancient techniques. The JW Marriott Hotel Cusco also offers 1,442sq.Ft. Of meeting space and professional planners to assist in creating your perfect event in Cusco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott El Convento Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing