We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What you would expect of expensive American hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott El Convento Cusco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Ranked #7 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
jacksonville, fl
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“What you would expect of expensive American hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

Beautiful, simply beautiful hotel in great location, right around corner from main square. 5 minute walk to Starbucks. Great breakfast. Spa was excellent,sauna, steam room , hot tub ,pool. My husband was dissapointed there was no gym. But you do pay for this luxury.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ayannaluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,080
    266
    54
    32
    21
See reviews for
670
1,004
97
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

My husband &I stayed at the Marriott Cusco in October. All the people who worked there were delightful and very helpful. They wanted to make our stay memorable. They were very accommodating, storing our luggage for several days while we travelled to Machu Picchu. Upon our return, they greeted us by name, gave us a key to our new room, and already had the bags in the room. They also always offered coca tea to help with the altitude sickness. We ate in the restaurant/bar several times, enjoying all our meals. The hotel is in close walking proximity to many main attractions, another plus.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BethofFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
563 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

This hotel is the last newborn for the luxurious hotel in Cuzco...But if the price are applicated, the charm is completely missing.
1. ok the common area are nice
2. The rooms are small box, without any personnal touch: close your eyes and you are everywhere in the world. Don't try to put 2 suitcases and bags. We are exspected more for the price
3. The staff at the desk is certainly not professional excepted if you admit the deceit is an art: my friend is goldmember in Marriott and normally receive an upgrade in case of availability. When we saw the first room, we ask where aws the upgrade: the answer from the staff member: "the possibility to see the historical wall by the window is the great upgrade"
4. we ask if there was other rooms: first other answer" no", we go on internet and we saw the availability and we showed it. We ask for a free cancellation to go in our first hotel. The women at the desk finally answered that the upgrading was upon her choice and her discretion (the staff at the desk!!!!). Finally we received an other room with a small terrace but not really larger. Really bad value and really bad attitude when you pay this price
5. the air conditionning was defaillant: hot in the room without any regulation. The same for the water in the bathroom: waiting of 10 min to have cold water
In summary a bad and expensive experience with a staff not really interested by his job. Cuzco have other good options

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HDLBruxelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

This is a new hotel, but the only thing they have in common with the many other luxury hotels in Cusco is the price. What they lack in room size, sophistication and real luxury, they make up for in pretentious attitude and an obvious intention to make Marriott's premium brand feel like a Courtyard.

The worst though, is the almost hurting lack of basic staff training. The elite checkin staff upon our arrival, Ms.M, is a good (actually cryingly bad) example. As a gold member in MR, you typically get lounge access and a serious room upgrade. Well, no lounge at this brand new Marriott, and after insisting upon explanation which amenity of our upgraded shoebox size room (called a courtyard room but looking out on a thatched roof about 6FT away from the window) was actually upgraded, I was told that its the historic character of the wall we're looking out to. Well, after interrupting my complaint that we can't even fit our 4 bags into our Gold upgraded room without stumbling over them on our way to the minuscule bathroom, about 7 times, I had to insist to check the cancellation policy. So we could move back to heavenly Carta Cartagena, miraculously a terrace room became available. We settled for that one, so we can at least put our luggage open air and roam freely about our estimated 40 sqft not occupied by Standard Marriott/Renaissance style furniture.

Oh yeah, apparently Ms. M., while sleeping through most of her basic customer training, suddenly remembered that lesson from the course about getting the customer to respect you: she didn't shy away from saying that she could have upgraded to a suite, but none was available and anyway it was the hotel's and her discretion to do so. Well, I quickly checked marriott.com in front of her ... All room categories, incl. Suites were bookable and available. I walked away, with a feeling of being lied to one too many times.

A short summary: just don't give them a second chance, if it's your only hotel in Cusco. Not worth it.

Room Tip: No point, choose a different property!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Dirk_BRU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

I'm current staying at room 229. This has to be the most noisy room I have stayed from Marriott property. It's 5am. And I have not sleep since 11pm.

It's the first room right by the elevator, next to the open area from the lobby. Lovely , convient location upon entering the room.

Was I wrong!!!!

11pm: I can hear the people dragging their luggage in the hall way, the people talking on the lobby area, the server busy setting up the breakfast tables.

12am: the noise die down, then I can clearly hear the lobby music coming to the room.
Not just one type music, but two. The classic piano music from the lobby and the techno music from the bar. The front desk were nice enough to turn it off after my request. BUT they said the music will be back on at 5am, to cover up the breakfast area noise.

2am: woke up due to the freezing room.
Its set to 80 degrees but does not feel like it. I'm wearing my fleece and thermo pants to sleep, and it's still cold.

4am: the smell/ noise from the kitchen preparing breakfast comes into the room. Sounds like someone was breaking plates outside my door.

As I'm writing this review, it's 5:30am. I'm tired as hell, I had gotten no sleep during my first night stay here at Cusco. I cannot wait to get switched to another room or another hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sharona714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012 via mobile

This is a new hotel, but the only thing they have in common with the many other luxury hotels in Cusco is the price. What they lack in room size, sophistication and real luxury, they make up for in pretentious attitude and an obvious intention to make Marriott's premium brand feel like a Courtyard.

The worst though, is the almost hurting lack of basic staff training. The elite checkin staff upon our arrival, Ms.M, is a good (actually cryingly bad) example. As a gold member in MR, you typically get lounge access and a serious room upgrade. Well, no lounge at this brand new Marriott, and after insisting upon explanation which amenity of our upgraded shoebox size room (called a courtyard room but looking out on a thatched roof about 6FT away from the window) was actually upgraded, I was told that its the historic character of the wall we're looking out to. Well, after interrupting my complaint that we can't even fit our 4 bags into our Gold upgraded room without stumbling over them on our way to the minuscule bathroom, about 7 times, I had to insist to check the cancellation policy. So we could move back to heavenly Carta Cartagena, miraculously a terrace room became available. We settled for that one, so we can at least put our luggage open air and roam freely about our estimated 40 sqft not occupied by Standard Marriott/Renaissance style furniture.

Oh yeah, apparently Ms. M., while sleeping through most of her basic customer training, suddenly remembered that lesson from the course about getting the customer to respect you: she didn't shy away from saying that she could have upgraded to a suite, but none was available and anyway it was the hotel's and her discretion to do so. Well, I quickly checked marriott.com in front of her ... All room categories, incl. Suites were bookable and available. I walked away, with a feeling of being lied to one too many times.

A short summary: just don't give them a second chance, if it's your only hotel in Cusco. Not worth it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DirkABRU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

This property is absolutely stunning, set within a former monastery. It's a luxurious hotel, with all the amenities you'd expect from a JW Marriott, without obscuring the beauty of the original building.

Upon reading these reviews, I'm surprised to see that hotel was open less than a month when I stayed there. It was running quite seamlessly during our stay, with incredibly friendly staff, knowledgeable on any request.

Room Tip: The hotel's footprint is that of a former monastery, so rooms on the opposite side of the buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amanda673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.2 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.1 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
1.2 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott El Convento Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott El Convento Cusco

Property: JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Address: Esquina De La Calle Ruinas 432 y San Agustin, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott El Convento Cusco 5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city's historical center, the JW Marriott Hotel Cusco combines the needs of today's luxury traveler with the design elements of an architecturally stunning archaeological site. History-seekers will find Peruvian cultural artifacts in the hotel's two exhibition halls. Accommodations are equipped with the latest technology including Wi-Fi, LCD cable TVs, and oxygen systems for a fee. Designed around a colonial convent, this hotel in Peru features resort-like amenities including a Cusco restaurant with excellent Peruvian cuisine, a bar and a full-service spa offering a relaxation heated pool, sauna, steam room and treatments inspired by ancient techniques. The JW Marriott Hotel Cusco also offers 1,442sq.Ft. Of meeting space and professional planners to assist in creating your perfect event in Cusco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your JW Marriott El Convento Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing