We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lodging Highlight of our trip to Peru”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Ranked #7 of 164 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
111 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lodging Highlight of our trip to Peru”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Excellent! Fantastic stay in a re- claimed monastery. Our understanding is that 60% of the reclamation needed to be true to the original. Couple this beautiful structure with great rooms, caring staff, and central location and you are at arguably the best hotel in Cusco. Don't miss the native weaver in the courtyard. After our stressful driving to get to see the Nasca lines this was a restful refuge to recover and experience the true beauty of the people and history of Peru. Don't miss the San Pedro market, Sacred Valley, and Machu Picchu.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with us.

We are pleased to know that we were able to exceed your expectations regarding the Hotel facilities.

Moreover we very much appreciate your feedback; it is an invaluable tool in search of the excellence. We look forward to welcoming you in the not too distance future, in order to share with you our special blend of JW Marriott and Peruvian hospitality.

Sincerely,


Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,173
    274
    57
    33
    21
See reviews for
705
1,050
99
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Built out of an old monastery with real inca walls, we stayed here for four days and the experience was fantastic. The food was great, Peruvian style and included in our room package. I felt sick due to the altitude the first day and the hotel sent their onsite paramedic to administer oxygen. I felt better the day and they kept checking on me for the next two days to see if we needed anything. The concierge was very helpful whenever we had questions. You can’t beat the location of the hotel; close to the Plaza des Armas. Enough said - this is definitely a place to consider staying on your visit to Cusco.

Room Tip: Choose a room with oxygen supply. You wont regret it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelllholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments through the Trip Advisor website. We are pleased to know that we were able to exceed your expectations regarding the service you received from our staff, the atmosphere of the Hotel and our facilities.

Looking forward to your visit in the near future.

Sincerely,

Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

My wife and I spent the best vacation there. It's not only beautiful and the staff is most helpful and prepared, but the food was also outstanding! The lomo saltado is the best I've tried ever ( and we have tried it at every opportunity everywhere). Highly recommended. Jorge: You got it man!

Room Tip: Every room is excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your good comments with us.

We are pleased to know that we have exceeded your expectations about the food from our Restaurant and the service received from our staff. We are really glad you enjoy the “lomo saltado”!

Thank you for your feedback; this is an invaluable tool to improve in search of the excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you again, in order to share with you our special blend of JW Marriott and Peruvian hospitality.

Sincerely,

Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

This place is in a great central location. The hotel staff are so friendly and helpful. I was able to check in earlier and check our later than the standard time which really made a difference to my stay and level of comfort. The food at the hotel is really good; totally worth it. We went to a few of the top recommended restaurants on trip advisor but were disappointed. But consistent quality at the hotel restaurant here which was impressive. Can't get over the nice staff and even though we had a bad location for our room (in front of the elevator and main lobby) it was surprisingly quiet considering I have ninja ears. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindypark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments through the Trip Advisor website. We are pleased to know that we were able to exceed your expectations regarding the service and the Hotel facilities.

Moreover we very much appreciate your feedback; an invaluable tool in search of the excellence. We look forward to welcoming you in the not too distance future, in order to share with you our special blend of JW Marriott and Peruvian hospitality.

Sincerely,


Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minot, ND
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My sister, mother and I recently spent a week here. We visited Machu Picchu and attended my brother's wedding in the countryside. The facility was excellent. Clean. Well appointed. The staff was very attentive and met our every need. It was such a treat to have a delicious breakfast each morning. I miss my eggs benedict and almond croissants!! On future trips, we will most certainly be back. Bravo!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RhinestoneCowgirl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWMarriottCusco, Director General at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Guest,

It is a huge honor to receive your comments, which are so valuable to us.
We are convinced that if we do everything with effort and dedication always things will come out right. And it is even better if we receive this kind of feedback from our most important guests like you.

Our philosophy is to bring happiness to our partners, because they will make the same with our guests and they would like to return.

Thank you for all your wonderful comments and we highlight our commitment to continue in search of the excellence. If you would think to return in the future, please contact us in order to make all the possible arrangements.

Sincerely,

Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Hotel Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FL
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon before hiking the Inca Trail. The staff- especially one particular lady at the front desk was so helpful in making sure our stay was perfect. She even let us choose which room we wanted to stay in to make sure we were happy- and sent us a cheese plate and wine for our room that night. We had a suite that was close to the busy road. It was noisy- but I actually liked it- we felt like it put us in the middle of the city. The rooms were very clean, the beds were amazing, the food at the restaurant and bar were fantastic. I have zero complaints. The hotel is located near the heart of Cusco. We always felt very safe walking around. Just beware of the ladies with the llamas! They will throw one into your arms,then demand lots of money. No joke.

Room Tip: If you are worried about noise ask for an interior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aarmstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWMarriottCusco, Director General at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Guest ,

We thank you very much for sharing your comments with us.
We are pleased that you could experience an enjoyable stay and felt welcomed by our staff. That drives us to follow in pursuit of excellence in the service we provide .

On the other hand our rooms and infrastructure has been restored to maintain a part of our history, besides our rooms are free of noise in order to guarantee a comfortable and relaxing experience.

Thank you for choosing JW Marrriott as a destination for your stay in Cusco and we look forward to receiving you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Hotel Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern CA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

This Hotel is right in the middle of Cusco and its very Close to everything. Great courtyard and interior design is One of the Best. Room is Kind average size. platinum welcome gift is ok and we did not get upgrade in 2 reservations total four days.service is good. But at the last day we got a morning call at 3 am which we did not ask for. Kind tough there.....cusco is a great town so much to do. If you have marriott points, use them here. It is a great hotel making you feel better after you spent tons of time on the road without family.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lovetravelpskk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWMarriottCusco, Director General at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for sharing your comments with us, as they encourages us to pursuit in the excellence in the service.

Moreover, you mentioned some issues regarding a call you did not asked, please accept our most sincere apologies about this inconvenience may have caused to you, please rest assured that we will extend this case to the corresponding department, in order to avoid the recurrence of incidents like this nature from happening again in the future.

If you would have any additional suggestions or recommendations, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,

Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Hotel Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.2 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.2 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
1.2 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 164 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott El Convento Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott El Convento Cusco

Property: JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Address: Esquina De La Calle Ruinas 432 y San Agustin, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 164 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott El Convento Cusco 5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city's historical center, the JW Marriott Hotel Cusco combines the needs of today's luxury traveler with the design elements of an architecturally stunning archaeological site. History-seekers will find Peruvian cultural artifacts in the hotel's two exhibition halls. Accommodations are equipped with the latest technology including Wi-Fi, LCD cable TVs, and oxygen systems for a fee. Designed around a colonial convent, this hotel in Peru features resort-like amenities including a Cusco restaurant with excellent Peruvian cuisine, a bar and a full-service spa offering a relaxation heated pool, sauna, steam room and treatments inspired by ancient techniques. The JW Marriott Hotel Cusco also offers 1,442sq.Ft. Of meeting space and professional planners to assist in creating your perfect event in Cusco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott El Convento Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing