We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best JW Marriott's”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Ranked #7 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“One of the best JW Marriott's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Right in the heart of Cusco! The Hotel is just a street down from the main square and the cathedral. The best restaurants within a block or two. The hotel was built in 2012 so it is fairly new. The service at the breakfast buffet was amazing. Our server even offered us some snacks to go for our train ride to Machu Picchu.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hiral M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Let us express our gratitude for taking the time to share your comments with us through Trip Advisor website.

It is great pleasure to know that we could exceed your expectations in service and enjoyed a pleasant stay. We are convinced that if we anticipating the needs of our guests things will always get a good result.

Once again thank you very much, and look forward to your valuable visit in the not too distant future and share the best service JW Marriott Cusco has prepared for you.

Sincerely,

Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,120
    270
    55
    32
    21
See reviews for
688
1,023
98
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

This hotel is new to the City, and is a beautiful 5 star facility, but lacks the charm, sensitivity that they might have otherwise included in a new built hotel. Rooms are typical JW quality, but bathrooms are tight, and the showers are affixed to the ceiling and difficult to adjust.
Biggest disappointment is the lack of any exercise or fitness equipment. The website is a bit misleading as it indicates the availability of a facility, but consists of a tiny pool (good for dunking) and and whirlpool spa. This is a major failure of Marriott to allow a new built facility without incorporating these features. Finally, any 5 star (US Branded hotel) notwithstanding the fact that it is not in the US, should have a potable water system. They are available and other companies have figured out how to build them it--Marriott needs to as well. Overall, the staff was great and the hotel beautiful. If you are looking for a local experience, you might consider another location--otherwise, this is a great hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms on the inside overlooking the courtyard are quieter and there is not much of a view from the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments on our trip advisor website. Hereby receive our sincere thanks for choosing the JW Marriott Cusco as a destination for their stay in Peru.

Regarding the points mentioned in the survey, we would like to inform you that if we have the necessary equipment for water filtration so that it can be safe in the hotel, however we always recommend to take bottled water for that reason are these complementary the room.

Furthermore, we are very sorry to disappoint you by not having a gym at this property, however we thank you for giving us your suggestions, which are very valuable to us.

Again thank you very much for giving your time and if there is anything additional that you can attend hereinafter please feel free to contact us. It will be a pleasure to serve you.

Sincerely,

Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Excellent Service. Best hotel experience I've ever had! Totally recommend it. From the arrival to the check-out, they treated us like royalty. The restaurant was the best, the best breakfast buffet I've ever tried, and dinner was always great, I even liked it better than the other restaurants outside the hotel. But the best of all was the STAFF, just excellent, they made our trip one unforgettable.

- Always thankful,

Ileana from Puerto Rico

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank IVJR2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your valuable comments through our Trip Advisor web page. It is an honor to hear about your experience and it allows us to continue in search of the excellence.

We are pleased to know that you could enjoy a wonderful stay inside the Hotel and in our Restaurant. Our staff is always ready to serve and make everything possible to exceed guests expectations.

Thank you for choosing JW Marriott as a destination for your stay in Cusco, and if you would think to return, please do not hesitate to contact us. We will be more than glad to receiving you once again in the future.

Sincerely,

Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Hotel Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

The Cusco hotel is one of the best run, most beautiful hotels we have visited anywhere in the world. The staff, from management to housekeeping, were friendly, attentive and simply a pleasure to interact with.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HighExpectationsUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear guest,

We thank you very much for sharing your valuable comments through our Trip Advisor web page. It is a huge honor to hear about your experience and it allows us to continue in search of the excellence.

Thank you for choosing JW Marriott as a destination for your stay in Cusco, and if you would think to return in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us. We will be more than pleased to host you and make you feel at home.

Sincerely,

Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Hotel Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
476 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

A very nice , comfortable hotel in Cusco. Very close to almost all of the best restaurants. Very well appointed and an attentive staff. Some rough spots though, that maybe they will fix in the future. For example, when I asked about a business center and a place to print boarding passes, they pointed to a single laptop facing out from the concierge desk. Not a very good working solution if you need to do a bit of work. Breakfast was very nice, with lots of staff. In early January mid week, the place was mostly empty, something that caught us a bit by surprise. One last thing is that when they called a taxi for us tot he airport, they instructed the taxi to take us to the bus station. Not sure why.

Room Tip: If possible, book a room looking onto the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColoTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your review through our Trip Advisor website.

We are really honored to read your ideas and suggestions, it definitely help us to improve the service we provide to all our guests. For example about the business center and the taxi service, we will work very carefully in order to find better solutions to those inconveniences.

Once again thank you for your feedback and I hope we have the chance to welcome you again in the near future and host you as you deserve.

Cordially yours,

Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
191 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

This recently opened hotel was constructed on the site of an old monastry. It has maintained the architecture very successfully and is charming.

The location, accommodation and food are outstanding.Excellent service too.

Just a suggestion: We were told we had been upgraded to a suite. While the suite was huge, it faced the street which is not as quiet as the courtyard facing rooms. Our kids had a courtyard room which was much better. Choose a courtyard room rather than a fancy suite on the street side.

Would definitely reccommend eating at the restaurant. Food was outstanding.

Room Tip: Choose a courtyard facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tokalosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear guest,

I am really pleased to receive your comments at the Trip Advisor website. This wonderful comment encourages us to pursuit in search of the excellence.

Thank you for mentioning the excellence service that you received from our staff, we are convinced that if we do everything with an extra mile, always things go through right.

Also the Hotel was restored after being the San Augustinians convent to preserve our history.
On the other hand, we much appreciate your suggestions, the ones that will serve us in order to see the preference and ideas from our guests.

We look forward to welcome you back at the JW Marriott Cusco.

Sincerely,

Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

This Marriott is a historic property, so it has a mixture of the old with all of the usual comforts of a top of the line Marriott. Our family had three rooms and were there for several nights. The staff and rooms were welcoming and very comfortable. We had a delicious lunch and several good breakfasts. The location was excellent, with access to the main areas of Cusco. We would stay here again and highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments through the Trip Advisor website. This highly encourages us to pursuit in search of the excellence.

Moreover, we are pleased to know that you enjoyed our special blend of Peruvian hospitality, and the one that JW Marriott offers to all our guests and customers. Such as, your experience in our restaurant was magnificent and the service you received from our staff welcoming.

We truly look forward to host you again in the near future, in order to share with you the best service we can provide.

Sincerely,

Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.2 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.2 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
1.2 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott El Convento Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott El Convento Cusco

Property: JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Address: Esquina De La Calle Ruinas 432 y San Agustin, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott El Convento Cusco 5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city's historical center, the JW Marriott Hotel Cusco combines the needs of today's luxury traveler with the design elements of an architecturally stunning archaeological site. History-seekers will find Peruvian cultural artifacts in the hotel's two exhibition halls. Accommodations are equipped with the latest technology including Wi-Fi, LCD cable TVs, and oxygen systems for a fee. Designed around a colonial convent, this hotel in Peru features resort-like amenities including a Cusco restaurant with excellent Peruvian cuisine, a bar and a full-service spa offering a relaxation heated pool, sauna, steam room and treatments inspired by ancient techniques. The JW Marriott Hotel Cusco also offers 1,442sq.Ft. Of meeting space and professional planners to assist in creating your perfect event in Cusco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott El Convento Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing