We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Raising the bar of excellence in hospitality service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Ranked #9 of 170 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The hotel is a pleasant surprise as it used to be a convent converted into a hotel. The bed is so inviting and the staff service is beyond expectation! Everyday we get a surprise in the bedroom - chocolates, specially folded towels and much more! Wilbert, Eddy and Jorge, and the rest of the food attendants are so attentive and helpful! The paramedics are so concerned about the state of health of their guests because of the altitude so they go around testing the oxygen level if their guests!

Definitely a hotel with staff service difficult to beat!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baqbahj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to contact us through our Trip Advisor website.
We are really happy to know that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

For example the service from our staff, we will notify your greetings to them as part of motivation program in our Hotel.

On the other hand if you would think about coming back to Cusco, please feel free to contact us, it will be more than a pleasure to assist you.

Warm regards,

Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Cusco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,765)
There are newer reviews for JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,491 - 1,497 of 2,765 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

This hotel is simply amazing. The layout is beautiful, and its a must-see even if you are not staying here. We spent a lot of time during our stay just hanging out in the lobby. The staff is excellent and friendly, by far giving us the best service we had in Peru, and the hotel really delivers on every front. The spa, while small, is very nice (and I got one of the best massages of my life there). The breakfast (included in our room price) is quite good, while their restaurant menu was fantastic (I also highly recommend trying their chicken panini).

The rooms are spacious and comfortable, and the bathrooms are excellent.

Downsides: Their on-sight travel agency is way overpriced compared to all of the others around, so I'd steer clear. Also, its probably one of the more expensive hotels in Cusco, so you'd certainly be able to find cheaper (though I think it was totally worth it). You have to pay extra for wifi in the room, which is pretty unreasonable given the price of the hotel. We walked into our room one morning to find the sheets being changed after only one night- we weren't given the option to ask them not to change the sheets, which seems like a total waste.

Overall, however, this is an amazing hotel, and definitely worth staying in if you're looking for comfort.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leila A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to contact us through our Trip Advisor website.
We very much appreciate all the comments you have mentioned during your stay in Cusco.
Like the room features and facilities, the service you received from our staff was definitely what you expected find here.

On the other hand if you would think about coming back to Cusco, please feel free to contact us, it will be more than a pleasure to assist you.

Kind regards,

Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Cusco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Checked into the Hotel after having to check out of another due to noise, and pluming issue. What a welcome place to stay. The design of the hotel is great, they really did a nice job of incorporating the old structure into the new hotel. The lobby is amazing and the entrance way to the hotel is amazing. The staff is friendly and accommodating from the time you check in, to the time you leave.
The room itself is clean and comfortable. They have air conditioning (rare in this part of Peru) and heating. The hotel itself is about a year old, so all the amenities are nice, new and clean. The shower has plenty of hot water, and the pluming works fine (again kind of an issue in Cusco hotels). The spa is wonderful and again a welcome respite after a long day of walking, and hiking.
Don't miss the restaurant in the hotel, it is competitively priced, and the quality of food is amazing. The restaurant manager is a true professional, that knows how to be of service without being overbearing. We wanted for nothing during our meal and he was spot on with his suggestions.
All in all a great place to stay, and would highly recommend it to anyone. The only hint I would offer is that if you need a cab to the airport have them call a company and NOT the service they contract with. A ride to the airport costs S/10 the company they wanted to contract with wanted $15 American, almost triple the local cost.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ski8212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your review through our Trip Advisor website.
We are honored to hear that you enjoyed very much your stay, inside and outside the Hotel. Our restaurant has the best quality of food in Cusco, and the atmosphere will make you relax and enjoy the moment.

Moreover if you would think there are other opportunity areas we should improve, please feel free to contact us. In order to find the best way to resolve any kind of inconveniences.

I hope we can host you again in the near future; and share with you the perfect combination between the Peruvian hospitality and the one that JW Marriott offers.

Sincerely,
Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Cusco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

As you can see from the photos online, this is a gorgeous hotel that is a far cry from the standard Marriott look. We stayed here for 2 nights before heading to Machu Picchu and Sacred Valley, and 1 night upon our return. On our first two nights we purchased an optional package that included wireless internet access, breakfast, and oxygen in our room, but we decided this wasn't really worth it and skipped it on our return. The rooms were somewhat small, but comfortable with all the amenities one would expect--hair dryer, iron, safe, bottled water included (common in Peru), separate shower and tub, toiletries, etc. The buffet breakfast was excellent and included hot dishes and continental breakfast, though on our last morning we opted to save a little money and head to local cafe. Service was excellent and the bar seems to be open late with light night and afternoon dining options. The location is very convenient to the city center, just two blocks from the main square and there are many restaurants within walking distance. This is, however, a very touristy and busy area, with traffic at all hours clogging the small streets, which we did not love, though this does seem to be the best part of town for visitors.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 042581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your review through our Trip Advisor website.
We are pleased that you had a wonderful stay and you enjoyed our outlets like the restaurant, our amenities inside the room, and of course the best location you can find in Cusco.

I hope we can host you again in the near future; and share with you the perfect combination between the Peruvian hospitality and the one that JW Marriott offers.

If you would think we should improve in any specific issue of our products or services, please feel free to contact us. In order to find the best way to always reach our guests needs, and the excellence in the service.

Sincerely,

Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Cusco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

From the moment we walked into the courtyard of this beautiful hotel we felt welcome. The entire staff made sure that our stay was memorable; especially Wilbert, the Service Manager and Edy the Server in the restaurant and Hiromi, the Receptionist at the Front Desk.
The hotel is centrally located, which enables you to walk to attractions, great restaurants and shops.
The rooms were clean, comfortable and quiet.
During our vacation we spent one night in Machu Picchu at a hotel that cost twice as much and was half as nice as the Marriott. When we returned to the Marriott we felt like we were coming home and the staff welcomed us as if we were indeed back home.
We cannot thank the staff enough for helping make our Peru adventure a truly awesome and memorable experience.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank G S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your review through our Trip Advisor website.
We are honored to hear that you enjoyed very much your stay, and you received the best service we can provide. On your comments you mentioned the names of some of our associates, please let me inform you that we will greet them as part of our motivation process of the Hotel.
In addition, thank you for mentioning good points regarding the room features and the things you can do around Cusco.

Moreover if you would think there are other opportunity areas we should improve, please feel free to contact us. In order to find the best way to resolve any kind of inconveniences.
I hope we can host you again in the near future; and share with you the perfect combination between the Peruvian hospitality and the one that JW Marriott offers.

Sincerely,

Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Cusco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We just returned from a trip to Peru. During our stay, our favorite accommodations were at the JW Marriott is Cusco! The hotel is only a year old, and is a redone monastery. The courtyard, lobby and common areas are beautiful! The furnishings are excellent, the setting and location wonderful and the service exceeded our expectations! It was some of the best service we have ever experienced! They are very guest friendly and have thought of everything! Check in and check out were easy. They allowed us to check in at 10am. We needed 2 rooms for our family of 5 and they accommodated us right next to each other. We felt very safe in having our 3 teenagers next door to us. The staff was remarkably helpful. The rooms were impeccably clean, beds were incredibly comfortable and the buffet breakfast, included in the room price, was outstanding! They provided complimentary coca tea and bottled water. The pool and sauna were so welcomed after long travel and hiking. We could walk everywhere, felt very safe and absolutely loved it! They recommended the Monasterio bakery for a quick bite, which was 1 1/2 blocks up the street. It was delicious and well priced! They arranged for a driver to take us back to the airport for $25. We were sad to leave Cusco and this hotel. It was truly excellent! Stay here is you get the chance! You will be so grateful that you did!

Room Tip: We were in a courtyard rooms. They were very quiet and comfortable with a beautiful view of the cou...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EPgirl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your review through our Trip Advisor website.
We are more than honored to hear such wonderful comments regarding your stay. We are convinced that if we do everything right, always things get right. Starting with the service from all our staff, the history that comes with the Hotel, our buffet breakfast, the relaxation spa, and registration procedures.

Moreover if you would think there are other opportunity areas we should improve, please feel free to contact us. In order to find the best way to resolve any kind of inconveniences.

I hope we can host you again in the near future; and share with you the perfect combination between the Peruvian hospitality and the one that JW Marriott offers.

Sincerely,
Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Cusco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I don't know where to start.

The staff (everyone from concierge to servers to waiters) are extremely professional, attentive, caring and expertly trained. Eddy was our server each morning for breakfast and he was incredible. Would be hard-pressed to find that kind of professionalism and attention to detail in the top-end restaurants in Canada.

The food was fantastic. The breakfasts each morning were a highlight and the one dinner we had the Pirqa restaurant in the hotel was outstanding. The Aplaca loin appetizer is just about the best appetizer I've ever eaten. (I used to be a professional chef)

The Luxury Suite we stayed in was perfect. A over-sized king bed, great pillows, a nice sitting room, two televisions, an over-sized shower with great hot water. The room was on the corner of the hotel, right above the concierge area and the car horns and whistles of the traffic cops were a little annoying in the morning but the bed's comfort made up for it.

The spa. Oh, the spa. Nice clean pool, perfect temperature. An amazing steam room with fresh eucalyptus leaves over the steam. A great big sauna. A whirlpool that could have been a tad hotter and great staff. Free water bottles and apples. Face towels on ice. We went every day for at least 2 hours at a time.

Overall, this newly built, carefully detailed Marriott was one of the best hotel stays of my life. I booked it through a package auction on Luxury Link which included the room upgrade, dinner, welcome drinks and free internet (otherwise, the WiFi is a paid service, which is kind of crazy).

Stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your review through our Trip Advisor website.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay, from the beginning until your departure day. On your comments you mentioned some positive points, for example the service from our staff, the good quality of food you found in our restaurant, as well as the nice atmosphere you got at the Spa.
Also the luxury suite which is the most emblematic room in the entire Hotel, we are glad that you enjoyed it while you stay with us.

However, on the other hand if you would think there are other opportunity areas we should improve, please do not hesitate to contact us. In order to find the best solution to any inconveniences.

I hope we can host you again in the near future; and share with you the perfect combination between the Peruvian hospitality and the one that JW Marriott offers.

Sincerely,
Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Cusco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.2 mi away
Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco
0.2 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#30 of 170 in Cusco
1,452 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
#14 of 170 in Cusco
3,126 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 170 in Cusco
1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott El Convento Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott El Convento Cusco

Address: Esquina De La Calle Ruinas 432 y San Agustin, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 170 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range: £150 - £325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott El Convento Cusco 5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city's historical center, the JW Marriott Hotel Cusco combines the needs of today's luxury traveler with the design elements of an architecturally stunning archaeological site. History-seekers will find Peruvian cultural artifacts in the hotel's two exhibition halls. Accommodations are equipped with the latest technology including Wi-Fi, LCD cable TVs, and oxygen systems for a fee. Designed around a colonial convent, this hotel in Peru features resort-like amenities including a Cusco restaurant with excellent Peruvian cuisine, a bar and a full-service spa offering a relaxation heated pool, sauna, steam room and treatments inspired by ancient techniques. The JW Marriott Hotel Cusco also offers 1,442sq.Ft. Of meeting space and professional planners to assist in creating your perfect event in Cusco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your JW Marriott El Convento Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing