We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Property!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Ranked #8 of 168 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Stunning Property!”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

My wife and I visited Cusco for our anniversary from April 26-29, 2014. The hotel is absolutely stunning. We were amazed at every turn how Marriott was able to transform this property into one of the most beautiful properties I have ever stepped foot in. Rooms were comfortable and luxurious. The service was of the highest caliber and everyone we came in contact with wore a genuine smile and made you feel like you were their only guest. I cannot wait to return to Cusco and the JW Marriott!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honerism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWMarriottCusco, Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear guest,

Let me express my appreciation for sharing with us your kind comments through the Trip Advisor website.

I am very pleased that you have chosen the JW Marriott Cusco and this magical city in order to celebrate your anniversary, please accept my sincere congratulations about that.
It is a real honor that you mention our hotel is one of the most beautiful properties, thank you very much for it, we are very proud to preserve our historical legacy and make part of this to our guest.

I am glad to know that we exceeded the expectations of our most important guests like you. All of our associates are committed to provide the best service ever, definitely each of them are a good Marriott Ambassadors.

Your comments encourages us to continue in pursuit of excellence in the service we provide to our guests as important as you.

I hope we can host you again in the near future; and share with you the perfect combination between the Peruvian hospitality and the one that JW Marriott offers.

If you would think we should improve in any specific issue of our products or services, please feel free to contact me. In order to find the best way to always reach our guests needs, and the excellence in the service.

Warm regards ,

Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,304
    292
    63
    37
    24
See reviews for
763
1,111
103
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the JW Marriott Cusco and loved every bit of it. A converted monastery, the hotel is full of charm and beautiful architectural details. Yes, the room is a bit small, but with so much to do in Cusco and around the hotel grounds (including a very lovely pool, spa and bar), you won't want to spend much time in the room. The location is perfect and the restaurant (especially the breakfast buffet) is exceptional for a hotel. We can't wait to visit again real soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeSantaMonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWMarriottCusco, Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your beautiful review with us through the Trip Advisor website

I feel deeply honored that you chose the JW Marriott Cusco for your stay in this historic city. Hotel that was built thinking in the experiences that our guest would have during their stay with us, and also we tried to maintain the structure of the San Augustine’s Convent without leaving the comfort of the JW Marriott.

As you mentioned this is not a common hotel, for our guest, besides the comfortable rooms, we have created the way they could enjoy our facilities, for example every night at 18hrs. we have a tour for the hotel this without charge, where we explain you the history about this Convent, the process of it construction , our goal is you have a pleasant stay and also you could learn a little be more about our historical legacy of which we are very proud.

We will be looking forward to receiving you one again in the not too distance future, and offer you the special combination of Peruvian hospitality and the one that JW Marriott offers.

If we can be of any other assistance within the future, please do not hesitate to contact me. It will be a pleasure to assist you.

Sincerely,

Heinz Prelle
Gerente General
JW Marriott Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pocono Pines, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is so beautiful with the use of stone and wood. It takes your breathe away. The staff is there for your every need and so helpful. The rooms are well appointed, very modern, and the beds are so comfortable! We are so happy we chose this hotel to start our trek to Machu Picchu. Well worth it!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LaurieD84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia G, Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your review with us through our Trip Advisor website.
I feel deeply honored that you chose the JW Marriott Cusco for your stay in this historic city.

It really flatters me to read your kind comment regarding our property that was part of San Augustine’s Convent; it retains the essences of it in combination with the JW Marriott comfort.

I am really glad to know you enjoyed our room facilities and its comfort the same that was made for guest like you that need to relax and recover energies after a long tour. I am very pleased to know that we exceeded the expectations of our most important guests like you. All of our associates are committed in order to provide you the best service and also go beyond your expectations.

Once again thank you for your kindness and for choosing our property as your home in the city of Cusco, I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Heinz Prelle
Gerente General
JW Marriott Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Compared to the one in Lima this is a far much better hotel. Where to start ? Rooms , restaurant , service, location all superb. Can't fault this hotel it is beautifull in an old monesterio close the plaza de Armas. Highly recommended !!!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Netherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia G, Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear guest,

I would like to express my appreciation for sharing with us your kind through our Trip Advisor website.

I am very pleased that you had a wonderful stay and you enjoyed our outlets like the restaurant, our comfortable rooms, the excellent service, and of course the best location you can find in Cusco. It is a real honor that a guest like you could recommend us, thank you very much for that.

I hope we can host you again in the near future; and share with you the perfect combination between the Peruvian hospitality and the one that JW Marriott offers.

If you would think we should improve in any specific issue of our products or services, please feel free to contact us. In order to find the best way to always reach our guests needs, and the excellence in the service.

Warm regards

Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very nice. Be sure you ask for extra oxygen in your room (only $20 for 24 hours.) Room was a bit small. No door on bathroom. Restaurant was excellent. Service was very good too. Pool is indoors in basement.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia G, Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear guest,

We thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with us though the Trip Advisor website.

Hereby we would like to extend our appreciation for choosing the JW Marriott Cusco, as a destination during your stay.

Our oxygen system has been created thinking about the tranquility and security of each of our guests, helping them to adapt fast for the high altitude of this ancient City has.

I am very pleased to know you could enjoy our restaurant and spa as well, and received the service you deserved. I am really proud of each of our associates because they have a genuine care of our guest and are really Ambassadors of Marriott in Cusco.

We will be looking forward to receiving you one again in the not too distance future, and offer you the special combination of Cusco hospitality and the one that JW Marriott offers.

If we can be of any other assistance within the future, please do not hesitate to contact us. It will be a pleasure to assist you.


Warm regards,

Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston, ma
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Wow, this was converted 2 years ago from a former monastery and takes an entire city block. We had a beautiful 2 queen bed room overlooking the gorgeous courtyard. They offer a walking tour at 6pm every day. Must be very interesting to learn about the history of this place but we were on a tour and couldn't make it back. Service was top notch. The pool and sauna luxurious and oh so empty. Breakfast buffet was beautifully presented and with so much variety, as with all Peruvian food they are delicious. We had just came back from Tambo del Inka in the Sacred Valley, the decors between these two 5 star properties are very similar with central fireplaces, Andes symbols. Have to pay a small fee for room wifi, but lobby is free, so you see a lot of people hanging out at the lobby. This is among the best JWM in the world.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newtonmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia G, Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guest,

I feel deeply honored for the kind words you expressed at the TripAdvisor website. And also, please let me express my gratitude for choosing the JW Marriott Cusco as a destination during your stay in this magical city.

My staff and I feel really proud of the legacy we guard in the property as you mention this is a former convent that after a long restoration process became the JW Marriott Cusco, it is a really unique Hotel located in the heart of Cusco for that reason we decided to do the hotel tour all nights for those that wants to learn more about our interesting history, this totally without charge.

I am very pleased to know that we exceeded the expectations of our most important guests like you. All of our associates are committed in order to provide you the best service and also go beyond your expectations.

It is a pleasure work in this beautiful and special city so our porpoise is maintain the culture using typical products in our food carefully chosen for you.

Once again thank you for your kindness and for choosing the JW Marriott Cusco as your home in the city of Cusco, I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Heinz Prelle
Gerente General
JW Marriott Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

To date my favourite city in the world! JW Marriott was any easy choice for my family of 4. Although the rooms are small, there is the advantage of having many comfortable sitting areas in and around the Lobby. There were people sitting around quietly nodding off trying to minimise the effect of the altitude.
The food in the bar area was fantastic and the staff were charming.
I would not think twice about recommending this hotel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank chebejos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia G, Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear guest,

We thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with us though the Trip Advisor website. Hereby we would like to extend our appreciation for choosing the JW Marriott Cusco, as a destination during your stay.

It is a real honor to know that you and your family enjoyed our property and facilities in addition with the service we provide that truly reflects the commitment of each of our associates , I am really proud of them.

I am pleased you could enjoy our food at the bar, which is a clear example of dedication of our chef and all Food & Beverage team who are taking care about every detail in order to do your restaurant experience the best ever.

My staff and I look forward to receiving you one again in the not too distance future, and offer you the special combination of Cusco hospitality and the one that JW Marriott offers.

Kind regards,

Heinz Prelle
Gerente General
JW Marriott Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.2 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.2 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 168 in Cusco
1,482 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
#14 of 168 in Cusco
2,998 reviews
0.0 mi away
Novotel Cusco
Novotel Cusco
#30 of 168 in Cusco
1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott El Convento Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott El Convento Cusco

Property: JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Address: Esquina De La Calle Ruinas 432 y San Agustin, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 168 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott El Convento Cusco 5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city's historical center, the JW Marriott Hotel Cusco combines the needs of today's luxury traveler with the design elements of an architecturally stunning archaeological site. History-seekers will find Peruvian cultural artifacts in the hotel's two exhibition halls. Accommodations are equipped with the latest technology including Wi-Fi, LCD cable TVs, and oxygen systems for a fee. Designed around a colonial convent, this hotel in Peru features resort-like amenities including a Cusco restaurant with excellent Peruvian cuisine, a bar and a full-service spa offering a relaxation heated pool, sauna, steam room and treatments inspired by ancient techniques. The JW Marriott Hotel Cusco also offers 1,442sq.Ft. Of meeting space and professional planners to assist in creating your perfect event in Cusco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your JW Marriott El Convento Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing