We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall a remarkable hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott El Convento Cusco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Ranked #7 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Overall a remarkable hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had two stays, before and after our trip to Machu Picchu. We were on a half-board package at a super price. On our first stay, the reception worked well and we were very impressed with the upgraded balcony room we were given. Only one item on the a la carte menu was excluded so we ate some great meals. Breakfast was extensive. The staff were so pleasant and friendly and had a worrying ability to remember names. Our second visit was not quite so smooth, a long wait in the rather chilly reception area and the need to see several rooms before a satisfactory one was produced (windows do not open even though the balcony door did!!). But the quality of dinner and the staff compensated.
A small sour note is that they agree a dollar rate and then refuse to charge in dollars, using a rate that is a few percent in their favour. Why do they do this in a five star hotel?
Thoroughly recommend hotel, one of the best around.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grumpy554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWMarriottCusco, Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Appreciate guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your valuable comment trough the Trip Advisor website.

Hereby, please I would like to extend my appreciation for choosing the JW Marriott Cusco as a destination for your stay in our city.

I felt deeply pleased to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and dinner and more over that you appreciated the genuine and kind service of our staff, I feel very proud each of our associates who are committed to provide an excellent service ever they are really good Marriott Ambassadors.

I am deeply sorry about the inconveniences you went through in your second stay, definitely is not the memory we wish our guest takes with them specially of an important guest as you, our goal is to achieve the overall guest satisfaction and if we have to improve some process, we will do, thank you very much for extend us your feedback that definitely is a tool for our improvement.

It will be a pleasure to receive you back again in our property in order to keep providing the service you deserve and expect.

If I can be of any other assistance within the future, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. It will be a pleasure to assist you.

Warm regards,

Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,078
    266
    54
    32
    21
See reviews for
670
1,003
97
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Clovis, New Mexico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Central location , impeccable service , thoughtful staff, excellent rooms and good food . What more can you ask? We arrived after long tiring flights and were happy reach the hotel. Check in swift and courteous, rooms well appointed and the internet is indeed high speed.

Room Tip: At that altitude any room is good and cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jacob g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWMarriottCusco, Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear guest,

Warmest regards from the JW Marriott Cusco, I would like to extend you my gratitude for choosing our property as a place to stay in this wonderful city and also for sharing with us your comments through the Trip Advisor Website.

I am really flattered that really enjoyed you stay with us and that you found our service as IMPECCABLE, certainly our goal is to create unforgettable memories to our guest and take care of every single detail you may need from arrival to departure.

I hope we can host you again in the near future; and share again with you the perfect combination between the Peruvian hospitality and the luxury of JW Marriott Cusco.

Warm regards,

Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at the Cusco Marriott for 2 nights in April. The hotel is beautiful..lots of character. Checkin was smooth an easy..we sat in the lounge area and everything came to us..never stood at the desk to check in...checkin always take a little longer in a foreign country due to passport copies etc but it was nice to sit and relax. We did also visit the pool spa area. Very relaxing area but you have to search it out. The hotel is alsoIn A great location and easily walkable to shops, sights etc. highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jetset36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWMarriottCusco, Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Appreciate guest,

On behalf of JW Marriott associates, please accept our most sincere gratitude for making such a wonderful review of our property through the Trip Advisor website.

I feel really glad that you liked our check in process planned to provide a perfect welcome to our guest and give you the time to sit and enjoy your welcome drink next to the cozy fireplace, while we take care of everything you may need. It is very nice to hear that you enjoyed our spa and the relaxation pool, I hope you had the chance to get in the steam room, the sauna, whirlpool and the chromo therapy showers we offer at the SPA.

It will be a pleasure to receive you back again in our property in order to keep providing the service you deserve and expect. Also If I can be of any other assistance within the future, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. It will be a pleasure to assist you.

Warm regards,

Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The best JW Marriott I have ever stayed in. The location is perfect, the design, the look and feel, the service, the food....everything is very well done. Will most definitely recommend this hotel for any occasion. This is a true gem in Cusco!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chepe12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWMarriottCusco, Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear guest,

Let me express my appreciation for sharing with us and travelers your beautiful review through the Trip Advisor website.

It is a real honor that you consider the JW Marriott Cusco as the best hotel you ever stayed in.
Thank you very much for that generous comments definitely this encourages us to continue in pursuit of excellence in the service and the facilities we provide to our guests.

I am really glad that you found our location as perfect and that you enjoyed the Hotel’s design and look and that our service and food exceed your expectations.

I hope we can welcome you back at the JW Marriott Cusco so your can keep on discovering the history of this enigmatic place as well as the culinary offer of the city.

Cordially yours,

Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Cusco is a combination of Inca and Spanish cultures; this hotel is a centrally located, renovated convent. We stayed on Marriott points, but as other reviewers mentioned, this is not a budget property. A short walk to the fabulous downtown plaza, Staff is very helpful and attentive. Lobby is large but for some bizarre reason is poorly lit (even the reception desk) and quite cold in mornings (even in May). If catching the train to Maccu Pichu the hotel will prepare an excellent breakfast to go. Large open central area (former cloister). Lobby has coca tea always available to help counter altitude effects. Rooms large and well-furnished. All hotel water is filtered and safe to drink and the hotel is one of the few places in Peru where you may flush the used toilet paper.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Munseyflora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWMarriottCusco, Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Appreciate guest,

Greetings from the JW Marriott Cusco, please accept my gratitude for your preference to our property and also for sharing your comment with us trough the Trip Advisor website that is definitely a tool for improvement.

As you mention Cusco reflects the combination of two important cultures the Inca and the Spanish and this property is a clear example. During the Inca era this land belonged to the Koricancha Palace and with the arrival of the Spanish to Cusco came the Evangelization process that brought different religious groups; one of them were the Augustines. They started the construction of Saint Augustine Monastery on 1560 and now a day holds the JW Marriott Cusco. Also, I would like to mention that we have 2 exhibition areas showcasing the pre-Inca, Inca and Colonial civilization vestiges.

Thank you for rating our staff as helpful and attentive, I feel really pleased that we could fulfilled your expectations in service; we are always looking for ways to make our guest stay more enjoyable like having the tea station in the front desk with a variety los local herbs and delicious fruit teas and the very appropriate breakfast to go so you can enjoy your favorite pastries on your way to Machu Picchu. Thank you for your feedback on the lighting and temperature, please rest assured I am going to follow up on those.

Sincerely I hope to have the change to host you again at the JW Marriott Cusco!

Kind regards,

Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

My husband stayed here for 4 nights in May and really enjoyed our stay. The breakfast buffet is great, but not worth the money if you have to pay (Marriott Rewards members get it free as a perk). The public spaces are lush and comfortable, and the staff is very friendly. The only drawback we experienced was the very small bathroom. The shower had great pressure but you could barely move in it, and our king room had a single sink so my husband and I had to take turns using it.

The spa/pool area was also nice, although the hot tub was never as hot as we would like (and we couldn't find out how to adjust it) and the steam room smelled mildewy. The pool is beautiful.

We would stay again and recommend to friends who aren't on a budget... this hotel is pricey.

Room Tip: My friend had a double room and her bathroom was twice the size of our king room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWMarriottCusco, Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear guest,

Let me express my appreciation for taking a moment of your precious time to share with us your review trough the Trip Advisor website. Also for your preference to the JW Marriott Cusco as a place to spend your nights in our beautiful city.

I am glad to know you enjoyed our buffet breakfast the same has a wide variety of food so each of our guest could enjoy and start in a good way a long day tour. As you mention our Gold and Platinum Marriott Rewards Members has the breakfast as one of their benefits, anyway we have different rates that include buffet breakfast.

I am deeply sorry about the inconveniences you have experimented , rest assured I will check with the Engineering department in order to avoid this incidents and never happened again to any future guest, thank you very much for extend this comment to us.

It will be a pleasure to receive you back again in our property in order to keep providing the service you deserve and expect. Also If I can be of any other assistance within the future, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. It will be a pleasure to assist you.

Warm regards,

Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
320 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Beautiful room, modern bathroom with tub and shower. Our room was in basement, so no view. Breakfast was good, usual fruits, cereals, bacon, meat dish and pastries. Free internet in lobby only. Location is very central, can walk to shopping area and main square.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ylc25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWMarriottCusco, Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear guest,

Hereby, on behalf of all associates from the JW Marriot Cusco I would like to extend our gratitude for sharing with us your comment trough the Trip Advisor website. And also for choosing our property as place to stay during your vacations in our city.

As you mention we have different types of rooms, one of them are the classic inca rooms, some of them has the inca wall view that reflects our culture that we value and retain. Each of our rooms have been designed thinking in the tranquility and relaxation for our guest.

Thank you very much for mentioning the buffet breakfast, definitely our cheff is committed to feeding our guest in a healthy and delicious way, as you know breakfast must be the most important meal to start a great day in this historic city.

I hope to host you one more time in the future, and if you need some assistance, please contact me directly I would be glad to.

Kind regards,

Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.2 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.1 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
#12 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott El Convento Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott El Convento Cusco

Property: JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Address: Esquina De La Calle Ruinas 432 y San Agustin, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott El Convento Cusco 5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city's historical center, the JW Marriott Hotel Cusco combines the needs of today's luxury traveler with the design elements of an architecturally stunning archaeological site. History-seekers will find Peruvian cultural artifacts in the hotel's two exhibition halls. Accommodations are equipped with the latest technology including Wi-Fi, LCD cable TVs, and oxygen systems for a fee. Designed around a colonial convent, this hotel in Peru features resort-like amenities including a Cusco restaurant with excellent Peruvian cuisine, a bar and a full-service spa offering a relaxation heated pool, sauna, steam room and treatments inspired by ancient techniques. The JW Marriott Hotel Cusco also offers 1,442sq.Ft. Of meeting space and professional planners to assist in creating your perfect event in Cusco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your JW Marriott El Convento Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing