We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice and centrally located hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Ranked #8 of 167 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“very nice and centrally located hotel”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

During our recent trip to Machu Picchu, we spent a couple of nights at the JW Marriott hotel in Cusco. This hotel is very well located in Cusco---allowing you to walk to shops and the main square at all times of the day and evening very safely. The staff here is very helpful and nice. The "must" in this place is the almond croissant that are in the breakfast buffet set-up-----this thing is the best I have ever eaten in all my travels!! I think it is worth staying at this hotel just to get another chance to eat this yummy croissant. The hotel is also within walking distance to the Monasterio Hotel where they have wonderful opera singing with dinner three times a week. The food is not the best we have eaten in Peru----but the evening entertainment more than make up for it.
I will stay at this hotel again without any hesitation if I visit Cusco again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drkblim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Drkblim,

First of all let me thank you for leaving your comment on the Tripadvisor website, I very much appreciate your feedback and giving us the opportunity to know your opinion about our services.
It is so rewarding for me to know that you loved the hotel, our location and good service and thank you for your intention to come back, that shows the great level of satisfaction you had during your stay. I am so glad you liked the almond croissants we serve in our breakfast buffet; it is delicious and one of my favorites for breakfast too!
Once again thank you very much for your feedback, we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,


Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,273
    288
    61
    36
    24
See reviews for
744
1,101
103
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I stayed at the JW Marriott during a conference in Cusco. The staff were welcoming and very helpful: when I came down with a cold, they were happy to extend my check-out at no cost. The room was comfortable and quiet, despite its central location; breakfast was ample. Just steps away from the Plaza de Armas. Usual exorbitant charge for in-room WiFi, but free lobby and restaurant WiFi was fine.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanTrav71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear SanTrav71,

Thank you for your feedback giving us the opportunity to know your opinion about our services letting us know if they were according to our standards and what guests like you expect. I do believe that our guest’s comments are a powerful tool to improve our service and achieve excellence.
I am glad to know that for professional matters you stayed with us and could have an impeccable experience from beginning to end and that the great team I am working with took care about all your needs empathizing with you.
I am happy to know that you enjoyed our facilities giving you the comfort you deserve.
We look forward to welcome you back soon so that you can continue enjoying the Imperial City of Cusco and JW Marriott El Convento Cusco service.

Kind Regards,


Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orem, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed at this lovely hotel for two nights before hiking the inca trail to Machu Picchu. The hotel itself is absolutely stunning. The front part is a renovated convent, and the architecture is really amazing. The buffet breakfast was superb and the service was top notch. Everyone who worked there was amazingly helpful and courteous. They stored our luggage for us while we went on the inca trail. We also ate dinner at the restaurant one night, and it was very good and reasonably priced.
I had a massage while I was there, and it was really top notch.
I wish I could give the hotel more than 5 stars. My husband kept wistfully comparing every other place we stayed at in South America to this one -- it was that good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denée T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Denée T,

Congratulations for hiking the Inca Trail! it was made only for the brave ones, so you are one of those!

I would like to thank you for giving us the details of your stay and your appreciation of the property and services we provide. I value your comments about the hotel’s architecture, delicious buffet breakfast and dinner, our enthusiastic service, the staff is our best and priceless asset demonstrating everyday how identified and happy they feel working in this unique hotel.
I am glad to know that you had time to pamper yourself at the spa and enjoyed the privileged hands of our therapists.
I feel honored with your rating and humbly accept all the stars you want to give us!
We hope you and your husband can come back soon so that we can indulge you one more time at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco.

Cordially yours,


Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Gorgeous property, combining history and modern elements. This hotel actually does a tour of the property every day at 6 to show off all of the Inca artifacts. We never made it, but it does a great job of showcasing all of its artifacts. Has a great breakfast, nice rooms, very clean and in a very good location just a few minutes walk to the square.

Room Tip: Upgraded room was huge, very nice. Get the Courtyard room if its the same cost, a bit larger and nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weaselz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear weaselz99

Sincerely it is really rewarding for me that a traveler like you qualifies this property as the top on South America; please accept my appreciation for your generous words. The JW Marriott Cusco has been opened since September 2012 and since then me and my team have worked hard to tuned up the service and all the details to create memorable experiences to our guest. Reviews like yours really make me proud.
I am so glad to know that you could appreciate our historical past and the perfect combination we did blending the colonial remains found with the JW elegance. We all feel proud of the piece of history we host and take care showing this land’s archeological wealth.
Thank you for preferring us among other options in town, it means a lot for us and encourage us to continue bringing a peerless service.


Best Regards,


Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The hotel is absolutely stunning. Its right in the middle of the old town, so its a great place to set out on foot for some shopping. The room and service were also superb - typical JW service. The breakfasts buffet was well stocked with high end foods and the bar was a great place to kick back. Staff was extremely helpful. And the rooms were sumptuous. Pricier than other hotels in the area but for a good reason! Its worth it

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wake15272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear wake 15272

I feel grateful for your kind comments, I am happy to know that you loved the hotel and it location which is perfect for guests interested on visiting this beautiful city, but most of all is to know that we exceeded you expectations with our incomparable JW service.
As well as our service, the product we offer is exceptional with our comfortable rooms, bar, varied buffet breakfast, common areas, gorgeous courtyard and relaxing spa which worth every penny.
I truly hope you can come back to this magical city, it will be a pleasure to welcome you back to continue delighting you.

Sincerely yours,


Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao paulo
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the JW Marriott Cusco on June 27, 2014. The front desk was very helpful and the ambience was unforgettable. Of notable mention was the service provided by the in house paramedics specifically Ricardo Cardenas who assisted us at 12 midnight, gave us oxygen and reassured us that we would be ok. The staff and manager of the dining area should also be commended. We will definitely recommend this hotel to our friends and business associates.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Penayups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Penayups,

I am very pleased to know that your stay in June was so pleasant most of all for the excellent staff service at front desk, restaurant and security department showing you how important you are for us, a good example of it was the experience you mention with Ricardo who assisted you when you needed the most not worrying about the time only for your well-being.
We are glad to know that you will recommend us, that is the best and more gratifying way to make ourselves known. We will be looking forward to receiving you one again in the not too distance future, and offer you the special combination of Cusco hospitality and the one that JW Marriott offers.

Cordially yours,


Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed at this wonderful property and were amazed at the property which is beautiful and superb. The check in was smooth and the rooms are superb. The breakfast and the spread was typical excellent. The hotel has oxygen supplement and that helped a lot and made the stay very comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floor were very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajaybgarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWMarriottCusco, General Manager at JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Ajaybgarg,

I am happy to know that you enjoyed the property, I agrre with you when you mention that this is a nice and cosy place and that is because of the rich decoration and the warmth of our staff that love that have an honest caring for our guest. I am also glad to know that the check in process was smooth and that the room exceeded your expectations and that the breakfast offering was delicious but moreover I am happy that you used oxygen supplement and that it help you to adjust to Cusco’s altitude. In the oxygen plan we use high technology to pumped 99% oxygen directly to all of our rooms and give our guest the chance to relive the high altitude sickness symptoms.

Sincerely please accept my thankfulness for choosing JW Marriott El Convento Cusco, we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,


Heinz Prelle
General Manager
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.2 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.2 mi away
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 167 in Cusco
1,473 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.6 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
Sonesta Hotel Cusco
#14 of 167 in Cusco
2,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott El Convento Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott El Convento Cusco

Property: JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Address: Esquina De La Calle Ruinas 432 y San Agustin, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 167 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott El Convento Cusco 5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city's historical center, the JW Marriott Hotel Cusco combines the needs of today's luxury traveler with the design elements of an architecturally stunning archaeological site. History-seekers will find Peruvian cultural artifacts in the hotel's two exhibition halls. Accommodations are equipped with the latest technology including Wi-Fi, LCD cable TVs, and oxygen systems for a fee. Designed around a colonial convent, this hotel in Peru features resort-like amenities including a Cusco restaurant with excellent Peruvian cuisine, a bar and a full-service spa offering a relaxation heated pool, sauna, steam room and treatments inspired by ancient techniques. The JW Marriott Hotel Cusco also offers 1,442sq.Ft. Of meeting space and professional planners to assist in creating your perfect event in Cusco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your JW Marriott El Convento Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing