We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good tours in and around Cusco”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dos Manos Peru

Dos Manos Peru
Ranked #245 of 808 Tours in Cusco
Attraction details
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good tours in and around Cusco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

I went together with my parents on several tours in Cusco. After seeing the Sacsayhuaman ruins on a mountain just behind the city center on our own and visiting some museums we felt it was time to do some guided tours as well. We quickly found the office and were helped out by local staff. Everything went easily and smoothly, we received some useful tips and a lot of information on our booked tours and after just 30 minutes walked out with train tickets to Machu Picchu in our hand and a booked tour to Maras and Moray. All in all, the agency looked very professional, gave lots of information and they worked quick in order to still get places for us on the Backpacker Train. The tours themselves were great, we took many pictures and our guides were professional with a great sense of humor!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anouk W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    7
    2
    1
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible organization and service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We scheduled 2 tours with them. Sacred Valley tour was alright, we ended up getting in over an hour late which screwed up our travel plans later in the night. We then were supposed to do the mountain biking tour. At the last minute the moved the time up two hours to 7am pick up. We were picked up at 650am then made wait in the parking lot until 720am while the guides figured out transportation. One guide then settled on taking us by public bus. It was obvious that it was not organized at all and we felt uncomfortable and unsafe where they took us. We decided not to do the tour and were then told that we could get no refund because everything was already planned. Even though the guides told us they had been told little information before picking us up. Not worth it at all, each tour had extra entrance fees(which were not clearly stated or specified in the voucher), organization was poor, service and guides were just mediocre.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank scaponi212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ada, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dos Manos = Muy Malo Tour operator!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Just returned from fabulous 14-day trip to Peru with lots of sightseeing. The only glitches were thanks to Dos Manos of Peru tour operators. We booked 2 tours and paid up front. The first of the Sacred Valley ran 90 mins over. Not because we were seeing so much, but because they couldn't keep us on time, our bus couldn't go over 45-mph so we got passed up by every other tour bus UP HILL, and because a couple stops were clearly just to 'shop' local merchants. At the second stop we actually left a family BEHIND because they didn't get back to the bus in time.... even though we left that spot 25-min behind schedule. They did catch up by the next stop but had to take a taxi.
The worst thing Dos Manos did, however, was fail to deliver our Christmas Day mountain biking tour in the Sacred Valley. Too many screw ups to mention, however when the tour guides they sent tell you THEY just got booked the night before (we'd booked the trip in September) and tell you THEY don't know how to get us to the starting point 2 hours away.... you KNOW you have a problem!!
We used other companies for other tours that all went off without a hitch. DO NOT use Dos Manos!!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Quippy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“DO NOT BOOK WITH THIS COMPANY”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

If I could provide any advice for your trip to Peru, it would be to NOT USE DOS MANOS PERU.
They are one of the most incompetent businesses I have ever encountered.
This travel agency botched almost all of the details of our trip to Machu Picchu, even the most basic.
Bought tickets for the wrong dates? Check.
Forgot to buy tickets for Huayna Picchu (despite deposit four months in advance), and the mountain sold out? Check.
Bought tickets to Machu Picchu for only one day instead of two, which we specifically requested? Check.
In the end, we only went because we made a huge stink and went to the agency director with our complaints, who was able to change our train tickets and entry but not gain access for two days or Huayana Picchu. Furthermore, the agency tried to peg the blame on us for their many mistakes, did not seem very interested in our plight, and were mostly intent on making sure that they could still get our money from us.
We were able to receive a small discount and also bargained a free Sacred Valley trip the next day, but only after many calls and much angry discussion, not what you want to spend your time doing in Peru.
There are many agencies out there for Peru trips, especially Machu Picchu. Save yourself some angst and stress and choose another one than this one.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cafeconleche40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, Louisiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

I used them for 3 tours while I was there (to Machu Picchu; a day tour of Cusco; the Sacared Valley Tour). They were really great and helpful. Answered all of my questions before I arrived, and continued to help me the whole time I was there!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dos Manos Peru also viewed

 
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Dos Manos Peru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing