We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip, amazing guide! ”
Review of Pie Experiences

Pie Experiences
Book In Advance
More Info
US$599.00*
and up
3-Day Hike to Colca Canyon from Arequipa
Ranked #155 of 506 Outdoor Activities in Cusco
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Pie Experiences is a South America tour operator born out of a combination of a love for South America and our passion in tourism.We are all professionals and very experimented in the tourism industry and our programs have been planned with knowledge and details based on our experiences and on our love for traveling. We know what the quality of services means and this is always present at all times. From the first contact with us until the time that you return home. We take care of specific details including a special attention for the security. It's mean that we use the best guides, adequate vehicles and appropriates equipments. We pride ourselves on our attention to retail and customer service.We work based on long-term achievements.Also Pie Experiences offers tailor-made, individually planned itineraries for discerning travellers seeking authentic experiences in Latin America.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We booked the four day jungle trip to Machu Picchu, which combined mountain biking, zip lining and trekking. Overall the trip was fantastic, made even more so by our wonderful guide Hugo. We were told at the briefing that it was just going to be the two of us and our guide. This was great as there were many other groups with very large numbers. This made the experience very personal and even more special.
The first day was fantastic; mountain biking down the mountains, the scenery was out of this world. It was so much fun and we even got to do a bit of off road biking which was pretty cool. The accommodation was very pretty, a lodge with a lovely garden. However the room we got was right on the main road where building work went on until the early hours of the morning (meaning very little sleep). The room also smelt of drains, which was unbearable. The place they took us for food was amazing, traditional Peruvian food and lots of it.

On the second day we hiked the inca trail, seeing traditional houses, one with a pet monkey. Another place we stopped we were told in depth knowledge about the food available in the area. Our guide Hugo used a plant (traditionally used for tattoos in the jungle) to paint some cool Peruvian/inca designs on our arm/legs. It was really cool (it washed off after a few days)The trail was very beautiful, at the other end we got picked up and taken to a beautiful Eco lodge. It was very basic, but beautiful. Again the food was amazing. We did the Zip lines which were really cool.

On the third day we drove to the base of a huge mountain (2900 meters high). We hiked up the mountain, stopping often to catch our breath and to take in the scenery. The trek was very hard work due to how high and humid it was. Our guide Hugo did not rush us and talked often, telling us stories. We stopped at the top of the mountain at a beautiful place for food, the views were fantastic looking across and down to Machu Picchu. It took us just under 6 hours to do the trek up and down. We then got the train to AC. Our accommodation here was ok, hot shower but again very noisy. The town isn't very pretty and quite expensive. So don't stay there an extra night after Machu Picchu.

The final day we left after 5am to go to Machu Picchu. We waited in the que which was pretty long to get the bus to the top (it didn't take too long due to the amount of buses)When we arrived we queued again to go through the entrance. Machu Picchu was out of this world and so much bigger than expected. Our guide Hugo told us so much about the site, it was fascinating. We then had our own time to explore and said our good byes to Hugo. We then got the train to Ollantaymbo. We stayed here for a few nights. It's a beautiful old village with so many sites in walking distance. I would recommend stating here In the sacred valley.

Overall our trip was made amazing by our great guide Hugo, he was funny, helpful, good to talk to and had so much information to tell you.
The only reason it's not a 5 is due to the accommodation.

Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine P, Gerente at Pie Experiences, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Dear Caroline,
First I am very grateful that you took the time to write this review. For our company is very important to have the candid comments of each of our customers. Thanks to your comment about the accommodations on this trip we've made ​​some changes needed to make our experience even better. Thank you very much!
We are very happy to know that you had a nice experience overall doing the Inca jungle trail with PIE PERU. I will pass your good comments to our guide Hugo about his excellent work with you.
Again thank you very much for taking the time to write

Wishing you a good day

PIE PERU TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

I booked this trip through STA but when I arrived in Cusco I was dismayed to find that I had paid a significant amount more than other people doing what seemed to be the same trek. By the end however I was more than happy with the value I got for my money and am 100% sure that my experience surpassed that of those who booked in Cusco with cheaper operators.
Our guide Henry was incredibly approachable, friendly, knowledgable and passionate about his job which in turn made the whole group became equally as passionate about Machu Picchu, Inca history and culture and of course, Peru.
The first day we biked downhill for 70km then a bit uphill for another 20km, not easy but totally worth it for the incredible lunch and very comfortable private rooms we received in Santa Maria.
2 members of our group had specific dietary requirements - celiac and vegan. Every meal accommodated to this excellently and Henry went out of his way to ensure the chef's knew exactly what to exclude. Every meal was delicious!
The next morning was predominantly hiking day but nicely broken with great information from Henry about our surroundings and unbelievable views. When we arrived at our next destination Santa Teresa, we had an afternoon zip lining with the most reputable company in the area - what a great laugh!!! Then it was onto the nicest hot springs I'm yet to see for a bit of evening relaxation.
Another fabulous meal at our gorgeous EcoQuechua Lodge (a vast improvement from the 20 bed dorms other travellers were staying in) and we were ready to depart on the third day for Aquas Calinetes. Whilst there Henry guided us safely to the most spectacular viewpoint of Machu Picchu as the sun was setting, it certainly got us excited for the final day.
An early start but worth it as Henry delivered once again and managed to get us to the most picture perfect spot before any other of the 2,500 visitors. What a feeling!!
PIE Peru definitely gets the thumbs up from me as the best trip I've been on in 10 months of travelling. Great value, unmatched expertise and consideration for customers made a good trip truly remarkable.
Thanks Henry, Carmen and Frederic!

1  Thank StephMcNally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine P, Gerente at Pie Experiences, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Dear Steph,
First I am very grateful that you took the time to write this review. We are pleased to read that you could clearly see the differences about our company services with other agencies. Our prices are based in order to ensure quality, safety and professionalism in each of our tours. Our company not only thinks about the satisfaction of our customers, we also think of the satisfaction of each of our suppliers.
Again thank you very much for your comment

Wishing you a great day

PIE PERU TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I participated in the four day Inca Jungle Trail and it was awe inspiring. The biking, zip line, and even the challenging hikes made a good jungle juice you should try. Also, the food was amazing in each location -- Peruvian goodness. Hugo was our guide and he has an answer to anything you wonder about. He's fun, respectful, and really connects with the group.

Thank JonMaravilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My friends and I did both a four-day Inca Jungle Trail to Machu Picchu and a jungle tour from Puerto Maldonado with PIE PERU. Both were absolutely incredible.

The Inca trail had a great mix of activities (hiking, biking, ziplining) as well as accommodation and food that far exceeded our expectations. We also had small groups for both tours (five people max) which was perfect for us.

Our guides (Felipe for our Machu Picchu trip and Ricardo for our Tambopata tour) were exceptional. Their knowledge and passion made our trip even more enjoyable and interesting. And the operations people made everything very easy for us (including checking us in for outgoing flights!).

Overall we left extremely happy - our only regret was not staying longer and doing more!

Thank KJDowns13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine P, Gerente at Pie Experiences, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We will share your comments to each of the guides who made your trips unforgettable.
We celebrate with great joy each of the comments we received through this page. That tells us we're doing an excellent job.
Again, Thank you so much!

Wishing you a nice day

PIE PERU TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The trip was really well organised being both fun and informative, from the bikeing, ziplining, hikeing and the excellent local knowledge given made this trip one to remember. The food was like having a gourmet meal at every dining. Big thanks to henry, alexandre and pie peru. Tim & Clare

Thank Sheasbyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pie Experiences also viewed

 

Been to Pie Experiences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing