We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Nice hostal with super friendly owners”

La Casa de mi Abuelo Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Casa de mi Abuelo Hotel
Ranked #83 of 398 Cusco B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 March 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in the hostal for Several days before and after our visit to Machu Picchu. The rooms are very large, nicely furnished and really clean. Shower is top - always providing hot water. Breakfast is continental with eggs, bread, butter, jam and Orange juice. The owners, a peruvian couple is really friendly and Speaks both Spanish and English and can give plenty of advice on Cusco and the surroundings.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KBPSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 33 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

We had a reservation for two nights and arrived at 5am on the day of check in expecting to just drop off our bags. Instead they gave us a shared bedroom to sleep for a couple hours. Good thing because we had just got done with a 31 hr hell on earth bus ride. We woke up and they fed us breakfast (bread and a small amount of scrambled eggs). Our room was clean and they have a nice big shower. It takes about 15 minutes to walk to the square thru a neighborhood that does not seem safe. The owners were so helpful and nice, they really went above and beyond what they needed to do. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brando1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

La Casa de mi Abuelo Lodging is the kind of place even the most finicky and snooty traveler would find suitable for a night or two and the budget traveler, which the hostelery targets, will feel is an incredibly good deal. The lodging is clean, the rooms are large with nice bathrooms, and the breakfast with eggs is cooked to order. The only drawback is its location, seven blocks from the plaza de armas (town square), but even that is not a real handicap because it is a straight shot down the hill with a one block jog to the right, a nice leg stretcher. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve_g599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We stayed here in early June before heading into the Sacred Valley. It was recommended to us by the hostel we stayed at in Puno (Quechaus - great place - see review under Miskiwasi) and they got us a good price. The owners son met us at the bus station which was great but then wanted more (a pittance really) for the taxi than what they had told us on the phone. We were given a room downstairs next to the kitchen. It was a decent size with private ensuite although a little noisy as street frontage. The cable tv broke on the first day and despite talk they would fix it that didnt happen in the 5 nights we were there (and wouldnt move us to one of the other free rooms). Breakfast of coffee, juice and bread rolls was included but strangely others were being offered eggs and after 2 days of this we asked if we were entitled to eggs but they told us it cost extra - fine but just strange we were never asked. Sonia the owner gave us some good information and alternatives on getting to Machu Picchu which was useful but I got the feeling she expected us to book something with her. They have wi-fi which worked well in the common areas most of the time and also have some computers.
The bnb is very clean but the overall vibe just felt uncomfortable - especially in the late afternoons and evenings - you are not allowed to use the kitchen and it felt like they really dont want people hanging around the common areas - the grandfather would watch the place in the afternoon/evening and would turn all the lights off even if you were sitting there and even while the staff were working (washing plates or ironing) would turn all the lights off and the staff were left to complete these tasks in almost pitch blackness which was very awkward to witness (the cleaning staff seemed miserable!); he even came into out room to look at a problem and turned all our lights off while we were in there. When we decided to spend a few days in the Sacred Valley and MP we asked them if there was room available on our return - they continually told us they would get back to us and then as we were departing they told us they didnt know! but did let us store our luggage while we were gone. When we returned 4 days later they still didnt seem to know if a room was available and after sitting around 30 mins were told there wasnt but we could go to another one they knew (for more money) we decided against this (seems like a good idea reading the review below), they booked a taxi for us and told us how much it would cost and again when it picked us up it was more.
Also if you stay here note they will clean the room everyday which is impressive but they also went through our personal belongings and packed everything back into our suitcases which was strange. Lastly, like much of Cusco this place was cold especially in the common areas.
So all in all a good place physically but with some strange tendencies from the staff.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms looked much nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teamflames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We spent 3 nights there whilst enjoying the delights of Cusco and before heading off for a night to Machu Picchu. We agreed that we would return to Casa de mi Abuelo for 2 nights after our trip and they were able to store our excess baggage whilst we were away. Upon our return the hostel was fully booked - even though we had arranged to stay again, so the owner took us down town to another ''one of their hostels'' - a hostel frequented mainly by locals visiting town. Allow basic it was acceptable and we paid Sonna, the lady from Casa for two nights accomodation agreeing that breakfast would be served in much the same fashion. We woke the following morning with the owner of the Miracle Hostel not knowing anything about breakfast and on the day of departure chasing us down the street and trying to grab our bags from the taxi as they had not been paid by Casa de mi Abuelo.

The hostel is lovely, the people friendly and accomodating but beware if they are full and try and relocate you. The location is not the best either - a good 10/15min walk from plaza de armis.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mattcoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I had a very fluid trip to Peru and had only booked one night in Cusco. I enjoyed La Casa so much that I decided to return on my last night before my flight out. The location is convenient to all of historic Cusco, close enough to San Blas, and easily accessible. Nice big rooms and beds.

The staff are wonderful, they helped me find food, sorted out a big bill that I was not able to use. They rock!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandalscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vale G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.1 mi away
Hostal Atlantis
Hostal Atlantis
#29 of 398 in Cusco
125 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#161 of 171 in Cusco
88 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pirwa Colonial Hostel
Pirwa Colonial Hostel
#64 of 517 in Cusco
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
#11 of 517 in Cusco
770 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Tumi de Oro Cusco
El Tumi de Oro Cusco
#63 of 398 in Cusco
54 reviews
0.7 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa de mi Abuelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de mi Abuelo Hotel

Address: Nueva Alta 785, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 398 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range: £23 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your La Casa de mi Abuelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing