We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff can't get the details right”

La Casa de mi Abuelo Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Casa de mi Abuelo Hotel
Ranked #70 of 346 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly staff can't get the details right”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Friendly staff and great wifi, but I can't recommend this place to you due to numerous problems. Stay elsewhere.

*Toilet overflowed for no reason every other day, drenching our entire bathroom.
*Shower was sometimes good, but sometimes was boiling hot; nearly too hot for use.
*Location is a good 10-15 minute walk from the action, no matter how they draw it on their map. Not a friendly walk in the dark. It's just not a good location.
*They clean the rooms every day, which can be nice, but whoever does it sometimes feels compelled to move your stuff around. This was the largest problem. What the heck, if there's a pile of things on the floor, don't shove it into our packs, just don't vacuum there. Huge problem, this. Fix it. Ultimately this is why I will give 1 star only.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leafrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    17
    4
    5
    6
See reviews for
14
15
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Three of us traveled to Cusco and reserved this dorm, and I guess due to availability, we were given a large six-bed room instead of a small triple, so we had plenty of space. The internet was VERY strong (I could stream movies), and the rooms were clean and comfortable. Included breakfast was tea, coffee, bread and eggs.

Downside was rooms were quite cold (late Aug), but there were extra blankets and pillows to make things more comfortable. It's also a bit far from the Plaza de Armas, and walking back in the cold nights wasn't super pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JColbert29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

My friend and I stayed a few nights before going to Macchu Picchu, and had a lovely experience. Back the it was run by a young couple who were very friendly and helpful. A bit cold in the rainy season, but otherwise fine.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tone A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2013

My partner and I stayed for just over a week here. We felt cozy and safe our entire stay and would highly recommend it. The family running it make you feel very welcome and the chow chow dog is the cutest!
Breakfast is great with lots of bread and tea. They also serve up an egg (scrambled or fried). My only complaint would be that I am allergic to bread so an extra egg would have been nice considering I couldn't eat anything else.
People have previously wrote it isn't safe to walk home at night but we did a few times and had no issues. It takes about 10minutes to walk to the plaza de arms (which is fantastic!)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussiebigtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2013

This is the worst run hostel I have ever stayed at! The owner's mother promised us our money back because the owners had kept us up all night. In the morning we asked for our money, and the (still drunk) hostel owner totally flipped. He chased us out of the hostel even though we were already walking away. He pursued us down the street like a madman and we had no idea why. We hopped in a cab and the drunkard banged on the windows but we eventually got away. What a psycho. He should not be allowed to run a business!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2013

The Sunday night before our trek to Machu Pichu (5:00 am wake up in the morning) the owners had a birthday party at the hostel for one of their family members. All evening into the early morning there was very loud partying and the owner was drunk himself. We got no sleep and it was terrible. When I asked them to be quiet, his brother or uncle or someone gave me finger (no joke). They need to let all guests in and out the front door; all evening I herd people ringing the bell to get in but no one would answer because they we're drunk and partying in the rear of the hostel. On top of that the hot water in the shower lasted for about a minute and there was some terrible sewage smell coming from a drain in the bathroom that would loft into the room if we didn't close the door. The hostel is far from anything. Breakfast was nothing special. AVOID AT ALL COST in my opinion. It was by far the low point of our Cuzco experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2013

This is not close to anything and is in a pretty sketchy area. Wish we hadn't stayed there.
Here's why:
They decided to have a huge family bday party the night before we had to get up for our trek. They were yelling and screaming all night, the windows don't block any noise.
No kitchen use.
Breakfast is just ok.
The bathroom reeked! Some kind of sewage back up.

Bottom line: spend the extra 10 bucks and stay at a nice place downtown.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Svankampen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.3 mi away
Mirador de Santa Ana
Mirador de Santa Ana
#63 of 164 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ninos Hotel Meloc
Ninos Hotel Meloc
#23 of 164 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marlon's House Cusco-Peru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mama Simona Hostel
Mama Simona Hostel
#6 of 437 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Quipu Cusco
Hostal Quipu Cusco
#19 of 346 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Balcon
El Balcon
#4 of 346 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa de mi Abuelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de mi Abuelo Hotel

Property: La Casa de mi Abuelo Hotel
Address: Nueva Alta 785, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 346 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HRS so you can book your La Casa de mi Abuelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing