We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lives up to the luxury label”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
Ranked #1 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2012

This is easily the best hotel in Peru that we have stayed at in terms of service. It is the little things: attention at breakfast with great juices, the free mini bar, the free wifi, the great business centre, the butler that acts as a personal concierge (in our case Andy), the shampoo and amenities, etc. all the details are great and the location is stunning. It is also the only hotel with a pool in Cuzco. It is not cheap but worth it. unlike Starwood in Urubamba, these guys have figured it out.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Philippe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (715)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

458 - 464 of 715 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2012

We were going to stay at the Monesterio and our travel agent suggested Palacio Nazarenas as I love interesting interior designs. Well, I wasn't disappointed. I marvel at the amazing skill that was used to create this wonderful hotel with perfect integration of the ancient and new. The rooms are huge, beautifully appointed, gorgeous linen and wonderful large bathrooms. It is rare to find such attention to detail such as the little gifts on your pillow, fresh herbed soaps sliced on a wooden tray, pisco sour ingredients ready to be made and plenty of snacks. There are little herb gardens, old water falls and the whole area is lit up for Christmas. The breakfasts are a work of art. They are presented on little slate plates and a hot menu too. I am gluten free with a garlic intolerance and they couldn't do enough to sort this out. Very conveniently situated for shopping and exploring the town. Staff are well trained, friendly and highly efficient. Nothing is too much. We are well travelled and this hotel would rank amongst the best. If you need a fantastic guide ....Jimmy from the Orient Express ....he was outstanding. He is a natural story teller and passionate about what he does. He also accommodated all our interests and his suggestions were spot on regarding times to visit ancient sites (avoiding awful screaming trekkers posing for photos at Machu Picchu ) Eat at Map restaurant - part of the museum next to the hotel. The food is delicious, traditional Peruvian, beautifully presented, a very talented team of chefs. Hint make sure you eat nothing for hours before you go as the helpings are large.

Room Tip: We stayed in the old section. Room 210 .Very peaceful and a feeling of serenity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

If I could give this hotel six stars, I would. It was fantastic! The rooms were gigantic, extremely modern and very fancy. The bathrooms were incredible, and the oxygen in the room really helped. The restaurant was amazing. The chef came out with each dish and explained what it was to us. If there was something we didn't like, she changed it right away. The staff were better than anywhere I have ever been before. We made chocolate the previous day, and he offered to go and pick it up for us, free of charge! The iPads they give to you aren't that bad either ;)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate your strong recommendation of the Palacio Nazarenas and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the best,
Stephan Post
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

While travelling in Peru with my family I stayed in four hotels and the Palcio Nazarenas was our last stop in the trip-what a way to conclude the vacation. First, I'll speak to the quality of the rooms-it is superb. From the brand new flat screens, to the heated bathroom floors, the spacious and comfortable bed and the Ipad in your room-you will not be disappointed. The rooms are incredibly large and yet very homey. Next, the service is exceptional. The housekeeping service attends to your room throughout the day to provide you whatever you need and to tidy your room. Absolutely no details are missed by the housekeeping staff. In fact, they even put away my clothing for me when we were out for the day. Next, the butler staff is among the most accommodating staff members I have encountered when travelling. There is no request too large or too unique to accommodate. I only ate breakfast in the restaurant but am sure the other meals were wonderful as well. Breakfast is served buffet style either on a large table in the dining room, or on some mornings brought to your table. The food was fantastic. Most importantly, the location of the hotel is ideal as it is within walking distance to the major market and a stones throw away from the town square. We felt extremely safe and comfortable throughout the visit which was very important to us. I cannot say enough wonderful things about this hotel and the experience you'll have staying here. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank stephaniek88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your contribution, it will certainly help other guests coming to Cusco!

All the best,

Stephan Post
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

one of the best hotels and services in the world
great service and great view. very quite and clean. good for couples, family and friends. not advisable for business. you will not do any business there. you will relax and enjoy the stay ;)

Room Tip: center rooms are great so you can enjoy sunset and sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mgm1036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Stephan Post
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

This hotel is a gem. The rooms are well - appointed, staff are helpful. We were actlimaitising to the altitude and found this the perfect place. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff! On one morning, we left for an excursion at 4.00 am and the hotel provided a full breakfast for that time!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WAtraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Dear Guest:

Receive a warm greeting on behalf the entire team of the. We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion with us and the great description of our luxury hotel you have made.

We will be happy to have you with us in another opportunity.

Best regards,

Floris Boyen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

This hotel seems faultless. It is clean, beautiful and full of history. Lovely grounds and even lovelier service. The pool is heated with a inviting deck. The rooms are filled with luxurious amenities Do not hesitate to stay here, and don't worry about it being a new property.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melissamce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.0 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Palacio Nazarenas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Palacio Nazarenas

Address: Calle Plazoleta Nazarenas 223 | Plazoleta Nazarenas, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range: £223 - £495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Palacio Nazarenas 5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Would the nuns in this converted 17th-century convent have approved of the pisco sour cocktail-making stations? Anything is possible, given the diverse incarnations of this contemporary urban retreat. Belmond Palacio Nazarenas was built on Inca foundations and became a palatial private home in the 1500s. It was owned by the conquistador Mancio Serra de Leguizamon—a warrior who is said to have gambled and lost the gold Inca image of the sun from the Coricancha temple. The Jesuits converted the building into a school in 1644, which itself became a convent in 1715. We’ve preserved all that’s most precious here: you’ll find original Inca stonework, colonial frescos and gold-framed paintings collected by the nuns. At the same time you’ll discover the best of the new world within our walls. We’ll look after you in the most elegant way possible, whether your idea of relaxing is taking a morning yoga class or an evening salsa lesson. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Splitty, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Belmond Palacio Nazarenas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing