We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest hotel experience ever!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
Ranked #1 of 168 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nicest hotel experience ever!!!!”
Reviewed 10 February 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights after hiking the Inca Trail. Talk about luxury!!! Amazing suite, service and ambience. Buffet breakfast was superb! Room butler made Pisco sours in our suite. Pure luxury!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank umandr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your contribution, it will certainly help other guests coming to Cusco!

All the best,

Floris Boyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    647
    28
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
145
348
27
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Based on reviews here on trip advisor we chose (on two trips, 3 nights and 1 night) to only stay at the Palacio Nazarenas in Cuzco, and we were not disappointed. It was the best hotel and service of our trip to Peru and one of the nicest we have been in anywhere (across 5 star in the world). The building is realy amazing - a beautiful old converted convent that has been sympathetically but very beautifully redone. The courtyards (particularly from the upper floor) have great view of the towns set into mountains and the corcovado on the mountain so the setting i also beautiful (and quiet, being slightly off a quiet square rather than a busy road). The room interior is stunning as is the vaulted ceiling on the second floor rooms. The amenities in room are superb in quality and convenience and although it is 5 star they don't gouge you for extras (free minibar, in room espresso machine, free wifi etc) The Butler service is great and helpful (thank you Gian) and Gian even taught us how to make Pisco Sours (ingredients in your room are there for use!) Service overall, from room service to restaurant service is perfect. And the food was also international high quality food. We also had great treatments at the Spa and enjoyed the outdoor heated pool. Highly recommended. Every aspect of the stay was quality, beauty and excellence.

Room Tip: second floor for the balcony view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank London_DLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Dear Guest:

We are pleased that your stay was memorable; and that both services and infrastructure of the Hotel have met or exceeded your expectations.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Peru.

Best Regards,

Floris Boyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

The Palacio Nazarenas in Cusco, Peru is arguably one of the nicest hotels in South America. The hotel is new but has already achieved as close to perfection as possible. For example, for my wife's birthday we had our private butler (Giancarlo) arrange to have formal tea in the secret garden. While in the secret garden, we got to pick our own herbs, wash them, and package them into a nice little tea bag. The infinity pool is fantastic and the service is truly remarkable. For example, our four year old daughter loved her daily swim and when she exited the pool they had a woman set up her slippers, wrap her in a towel, and place her nicely on a lounge chair to warm up. I know, remarkable but true!:) Overall, the Palacio Nazarenas is an amazing hotel, in a superb location, and has spectacular service. My hat's off to the General Manager--who is also a delightful man to talk with.

Room Tip: The Grande Suites are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TABridges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,
Floris Boyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 6 Contributor
421 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

The hotel was a convent and is a beautifull place to stay for the location is in the center of the city.. The service and luxury is just great and excellent, food and accomodations. the same. The employees are very friendly eager to help and serve; is expensive but worth it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maritza G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

After our Peru trip was booked, including hotels (by Lima Tours, who did a great job for us), I went online at TripAdvisor to check on the hotels where we were supposed to stay. One reviewer wrote that she had stayed in two hotels in Cusco, Palacio for 2 days, and another hotel, which was coincidentally the one where we were supposed to stay, for 3 days. The reviewer said that she liked Palacio Nazarenas much more, and that if she could change her stay, she would stay 3 days here and 2 days at the other hotel, and not vice versa.
Well, that review convinced me to ask our tour company to change us to Palacio, which is what happened.
Our entire family loved being at the hotel, it was really a highlight of our Peru trip.

Palacio is wonderful, and the reason why the experience is so good, is the hotel staff. From the manager of the hotel, Stephan, to the waiters and waitresses at breakfast, guests receive the most friendly and excellent service. This is a well-run hotel, no detail is overlooked, and if you need anything or make any suggestion for improvement, someone will assist. In addition, the staff all look happy, and they clearly enjoy working here.

One small example, the manager asked us if we had any suggestions for improvement. The only thing I could think of was that at breakfast, there were two kinds of cereal, one of which was a ginger flavored, green colored bran flake. I explained that Americans might not be tempted by a cereal like that, it wasn't what we were used to. The next morning at breakfast, regular bran flake cereal was on the buffet. That's what I call attention to detail.

Anyway, the rooms are lovely, the beds comfortable, and extra oxygen is pumped into the rooms to help guests deal w/ altitude if needed. Also, there is a small, heated pool in the courtyard by the restaurant, it's very pleasant to relax there even in cool temperature.

I would recommend this hotel wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: The layout of the hotel is unusual, there are different courtyard areas, and rooms around the courty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BostonFrequentTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012 via mobile

This is easily the best hotel in Peru that we have stayed at in terms of service. It is the little things: attention at breakfast with great juices, the free mini bar, the free wifi, the great business centre, the butler that acts as a personal concierge (in our case Andy), the shampoo and amenities, etc. all the details are great and the location is stunning. It is also the only hotel with a pool in Cuzco. It is not cheap but worth it. unlike Starwood in Urubamba, these guys have figured it out.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Coast Australia, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

We were going to stay at the Monesterio and our travel agent suggested Palacio Nazarenas as I love interesting interior designs. Well, I wasn't disappointed. I marvel at the amazing skill that was used to create this wonderful hotel with perfect integration of the ancient and new. The rooms are huge, beautifully appointed, gorgeous linen and wonderful large bathrooms. It is rare to find such attention to detail such as the little gifts on your pillow, fresh herbed soaps sliced on a wooden tray, pisco sour ingredients ready to be made and plenty of snacks. There are little herb gardens, old water falls and the whole area is lit up for Christmas. The breakfasts are a work of art. They are presented on little slate plates and a hot menu too. I am gluten free with a garlic intolerance and they couldn't do enough to sort this out. Very conveniently situated for shopping and exploring the town. Staff are well trained, friendly and highly efficient. Nothing is too much. We are well travelled and this hotel would rank amongst the best. If you need a fantastic guide ....Jimmy from the Orient Express ....he was outstanding. He is a natural story teller and passionate about what he does. He also accommodated all our interests and his suggestions were spot on regarding times to visit ancient sites (avoiding awful screaming trekkers posing for photos at Machu Picchu ) Eat at Map restaurant - part of the museum next to the hotel. The food is delicious, traditional Peruvian, beautifully presented, a very talented team of chefs. Hint make sure you eat nothing for hours before you go as the helpings are large.

Room Tip: We stayed in the old section. Room 210 .Very peaceful and a feeling of serenity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.0 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.0 mi away
Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Palacio Nazarenas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Palacio Nazarenas

Property: Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
Address: Calle Plazoleta Nazarenas 223 | Plazoleta Nazarenas, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 168 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Palacio Nazarenas 5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a tranquil plaza behind Cusco's main square, this former palace and convent emerged from years of restoration to become one of the city's most exclusive hotels. Step past walls of Inca stones and into a cloistered courtyard with an ancient fountain at its heart. Then be surprised as contemporary Cusco comes to the fore: a fabulous spa, the city's first outdoor pool and stylish restaurants serving cutting-edge local cuisine. This intimate urban retreat has just 55 suites, each enriched with oxygen and with its own private bar where guests can create drinks accented with fresh ingredients grown at and around the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond Palacio Nazarenas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing