We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
Ranked #1 of 170 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We were exhausted and bedraggled when we arrived at this spectacular hotel in the heart of Cusco. We had been sightseeing and hiking up and down all day, and were feeling the effects of the altitude. We wandered into the lobby, looking like something the cat dragged in - and were treated like visiting royalty.

I was presented with flowers, we were offered coco tea - they took care of everything. We were quickly shown to the most beautiful room I have ever seen. High ceilings, exposed rock walls in the shower and bathroom, glorious linens, a charged I-pad by the bed for our use. We were told that we could have a personal demonstration of how to make pisco sours in our room, and that the mini bar was completely complimentary. Then we were told that the hotel would be pumping oxygen into our room to help us with the altitiude. We didn't want to leave the room to go to dinner, but after a short rest we rallied, and were able to truly enjoy this amazing city.

The next morning we enjoyed a wonderful breakfast right by the pool. Amazing. My husband never likes to ask for help with luggage, so as we were bringing our bags to the lobby to check out, a very nice man in a blazer and slacks offered to "share the load" with my husband. He helped us all the way to the lobby. He was the general manager of the hotel - who was charming and completely comfortable schlepping bags with us.

Every person who we encountered at this place could not have been nicer or more helpful. I hope to go back again, soon. Bravo, Orient-Express!!

Room Tip: You can ask for one of the "unique feature" rooms. As this building was a convent at one...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scw820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear SCW820,

A pleasure to have met you and thank you for this great comment.

Also we hope to have you back with us, please let me know when so we can anticipate luggage assistance

Warmest regards from Cusco

Floris Boyen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (697)
There are newer reviews for Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

417 - 423 of 697 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

We loved this hotel. We stayed at only 5 star properties the entire trip to Peru, and this was a notch above all the others. The Hotel Monasterio, next door and another Orient Express property, was nice, but not as modernized as this one from an amenities standpoint. The bathroom was huge and the in-room pisco sour lessons were over-the-top. If you are on the fence with these two, service and food are outstanding at both hotels, but the rooms at Palacio Nazarenas are unquestionably a notch above. Try the Quinoa ceviche and Malaya Cena with a passion fruit pisco sour at the restaurant on-site. Location is perfect- 15-20 min to airport, 5 min to Plaza de Armas; Museum of Pre-Columbian Art is across the street and open until 10 pm. This area felt very safe at night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob-and-Mila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear Bob and Mila

Thank you for your comments and I am happy to hear you enjoyed both Monasterio and Palacio Nazarenas.

The quinoa is our topseller and we now are testing different variances of this dish, fresh and great for the altitude.

Hope to receive you back with us soon

Warmest regards,
Floris Boyen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This hotel is simply amazing. We stayed for two nights prior to hiking the Salkantay Trek to Machu Picchu with Mountain Lodges of Peru, and then returned for one night before flying home. It was a perfect holiday, made all the more special by this hotel. The service was exceptional; from the concierge, to our butler, to the restaurant staff. Everyone was helpful and friendly and provided faultless service without ever being intrusive. The hotel itself is beautiful and an oasis of calm in the centre of busy Cusco. The food is amazing. The breakfasts and room service of particular note. It is expensive but worth it!

Room Tip: The rooms on floor 3 have a wonderful view and a balcony. They are beautifully appointed.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sellis982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Thank you for sharing.

A pleasure to read and great to share with the team
Hope to have you back when next in Peru
Warm regards

Floris Boyen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

A very pleasant stay. The hotel is a former convent that has been converted to a lovely 5 star hotel. The service was simply outstanding, from check-in to check-out. The Spa services were also at a high level. Stayed in a suite and it was well worth the price. Spacious bedroom and living room - with oxygen...who could ask for anything more in Cuzco.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear Sharon R,

Great to read your comments on Trip Advisor.
Hope to see you when back in Cusco.

Best regards,

Floris Boyen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

It just doesn't get any better than this! Like other reviewers, we've traveled widely and stayed in many hotels and we'd put Palacio Nazarenas right up with the very best. The gorgeous exquisitely appointed rooms, luscious grounds, amazing breakfast and terrific service are just the beginning. Don't miss this place if your travels take you to Cusco!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlctexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear Jlctexas,

Thank you for taking the time to comment.
Being up there with the very best sure keeps us going!
Well appreciated and hope to have you back.

Warmest regards,
Floris Boyen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

From the moment you arrive expect to be pampered with five star service... I have traveled around the world, and this hotel by far now sits at the top of my list as one of the best I have ever stayed with.

The property was formerly a convent, bringing historical charm that blends in to its surrounds. A new wing was added, pool and virtually every amenity you can think of is at your disposal.

The staff is warm and friendly, greet you by name (I don't know how they manage to accomplish that as half the people that greeted me I was seeing for the first time), the grounds are immaculate and managed impeccably. The rooms are clean and maintained to address and ensure every detail is attended. The bathroom floor is radiant heated to make sure the stone floors don't offend you even with the slightest chill.

The hotel is centrally located in heart of Cusco, surrounded by many of the vestigial treasures, artifacts and remnants of the Incan Empire... That are within a few minutes walk...

If your planning to visit this historic city, then the Palacio Nazarenas is the place to stay... You won't be disappointed and you will walk away with a memorable experience that you'll enjoy for years to come.

Kudos to one and all at Palacio Nazarenas for making my stay so special and memorable... Thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear NicholasT,

Our pleasure and thank you for sharing.
We are all very pleased you enjoyed your time with us.
Untill next time.

With warm regards

Floris Boyen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

This is my second visit to Cusco and my second stay with Palacio Nazarenes. The hotel is simply outstanding. I have probably stayed at 500 or more hotels. The hotel is beautiful. The service is spectacular. Meals are delicious. I stay in the Grand Suite. Fantastic rain showers and beautiful tub. The rooms is spacious. The location is a short walk away from good restaurants and the main square. Well worth the cost. Try booking directly with their sales department to enquire about a rate. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Grand Suite (living area, massive bedroom and gorgeous bathroom. Book with their sales department.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.0 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Palacio Nazarenas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Palacio Nazarenas

Address: Plazoleta Nazarenas 223 | Plazoleta Nazarenas, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 170 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range: £284 - £555 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Palacio Nazarenas 5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a tranquil plaza behind Cusco's main square, this former palace and convent emerged from years of restoration to become one of the city's most exclusive hotels. Step past walls of Inca stones and into a cloistered courtyard with an ancient fountain at its heart. Then be surprised as contemporary Cusco comes to the fore: a fabulous spa, the city's first outdoor pool and stylish restaurants serving cutting-edge local cuisine. This intimate urban retreat has just 55 suites, each enriched with oxygen and with its own private bar where guests can create drinks accented with fresh ingredients grown at and around the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Belmond, Prestigia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond Palacio Nazarenas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing