We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
Ranked #1 of 168 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

We just finished four days here and I must say it has been wonderful. The staff is amazing. Anything you want or need they arrange. The heated pool is delightful. We had a suite with a grand terrace and a huge room. Heated bathroom floors, oxygen pumped In your room. We took advantage of the spa as well which was a lovely way to relax after the trip to Cusco. Breakfast here is a delight as well. If your travels bring you here the staff will ensure you have a tremendous stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bankh0liday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    646
    28
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
144
348
27
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The best place we stayed in Peru. The hotel is wonderful, and the heated swimming pool ( a rarity in Cusco) is a perfect place for chill out time when back from all the excitement of trekking or shopping.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benenden2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My partner and I spent three nights at the Palacio Nazarenas in early August, the boutique little sister of the Monasterio. What bliss! Our bedroom and bathroom (with fabulous bath and super bed linen and pillows) really were palacial. The management has gone to great trouble to make this most elegant of hotels a friendly home from home. The entire team was a joy and all members of staff were encouraged to use their initiative and to express their personalities and sense of humour.

The food in the restaurant was excellent and, should a guest wish for something not on the menu, the hotel was happy to accommodate this. We had a tremendous amount of fun when we pre-ordered an English afternoon tea. This was quite an adventure and involved walking through the herb garden with our butler and staff to pick out our teas. Not a scone or Victoria Sandwich in sight but a fantastic experience nevertheless.

No detail was too small for the hotel. When the staff found out we had been a little under the weather, a beautiful floral arrangement was sent to our room. Everything in the oxygenated rooms has been well thought out and everything works. Service is very personal (staff always addressed us by name) but is never intrusive.

There's also a spa (which we didn't have time to try), a very inviting swimming pool and the location of the hotel is superb. Next door is one of the best museums in Peru; the Museo de Arte Precolombino which displays Inca and pre-Inca works of art with beautiful lighting.

We were very sad to leave this hotel and it was certainly the best one we stayed in during our three week trip to Peru.

Hilary Wilkes
London SW1

Room Tip: We had a room in the old part of the hotel which had lots of character and overlooked a private cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HWilkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Mrs. Wilkes,

Thank you for your review, fantastic to read and share with the team.

As we discussed over tea, they are a great bunch and realy complement the facilities with their personalities.

Hope to see you back soon when in Peru

Warmest regards to you and your husband

With best regards,
Floris Boyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

On a 2 1/2 week in Peru and 6 hotels this hotel stood out. It is beautiful with rooms around courtyards. We had the basic suite which was large with a big sitting area and a huge bathroom. We originally planned to stay in the Monastario because we wanted a hotel with oxygen (my wife previously had trouble higher elevations). The travel agent we were working with said the basic rooms at the Monastario were very small and we should upgrade. It turns out with oxygen the Palacio Nazarenas was roughly the same cost so we decided to stay there instead and were very happy we did. My wife had no problems with the elevation so we assume the oxygen helped us sleep and adjust. The service was excellent, the breakfasts excellent and the staff excellent. They were very engaging. Often staff do everything right but are cold, doing it by rote but at the Palacio Nazarenas the staff seemed to genuinely want to help. It is in a very good location just 5 minutes from the central square. One minor glitch was lack of turn down service the last night. We let them know when we were out for dinner but nothing. Seems they were filled up that night and didn't get to it. At a hotel of this caliber there shouldn't be any glitches even little ones. Nevertheless, all in all it was a wonderful place to stay and highly recommended. Only wished we had one more day to explore Cusco (we stayed 3 nights but arrived late the 1st and left very early the last so only 2 full days to explore.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen_the_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

As a frequent Peru traveler, I'm often asked what is the 'best' hotel in Cusco. Obviously this depends on your budget and preferences. However if talking about the 5 star realm, and admitting my preferences are smaller more boutique style hotels, an answer can be arrived to.

Traditionally Monasterio by Orient Express has been accepted as one of the best, if not thee best, property in Cusco. Many of the rooms can feel a bit dated however and sometimes the experience doesn't match the price tag for people. When La Casona by Inkaterra (probably the most philanthropically focused hotelier in all South America!) was opened a couple years ago, for me it became the hands down boutique 5 star favorite. With only 11 suites built around a beautiful central plaza, all the details done with character and charm which is characteristic of Inkaterra's properties, a great location, and simply amazing service, it still is hard to beat.

There is another newcomer on the scene though that at least warrants mention in the discussion now. After recently trekking to Choquequirao with my wife who was 4 months pregnant, we really wanted a luxurious post-trek stay in Cusco and decided to check out Palacio Nazarenas rather than stay at La Casona as we have already a handful of times. Palacio is Orient Expresses new property and we were circumspect as we don't love Monasterio and feel there are some better choices for the value, and The Sanctuary at Machu Picchu we also feel underdelivers a bit, but Palacio wowed us in so many ways. It is done similar to La Casona but on a larger scale with a newly but extremely tastefully built section in addition to the renovated monastery. It truly is beautiful in every nook and cranny, the service is impeccable, the breakfast poolside with live soothing Andean music an experience, and the rooms over the top awesome. The suites in the old part are my favorite, however as with all the old rooms in this type of property the only windows open to the courtyard which bothers some people. If you are one of those request a room in the new section.

One of the main advantages to this versus another 5 star boutique in Cusco is that they have by far the most extensive spa facilities in addition to a full pool. You will not find this at other smaller boutiques.

Bottom line: Palacio Nazarenas is a new front-runner in 5 star boutique accommodations in Cusco and greater South America, and it is worth considering a stay.

Cheers and all my best,
Jordan Harvey
Knowmad Adventurer

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KnowmadAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasil
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

After a few days in Enchanted Valley and Machu Pichu we arrived in Cusco very tired and finally there we would stay two nights with not so many tours or trails.... Arriving at the hotel was already relaxing and I was making all my plans for the following day. The decoration was very beautiful and cozy, the bathroom very nice and confortable, the bed just wonderful and the service precious.All my checklist that I do when I arrive at a hotel was perfect and I was just waiting for the following days to relax and enjoy Cusco.But on the other morning my daughter woke up very sick and at the and of the day we had to go to the local clinic where we spent the night. My son came back to the hotel and I stayed at the hospital with her until the other day when we flew to Lima. I could say that I didn't visit Cusco at all and this could just finish my trip, but fortunately my daughter got well and the Hotel made the possible and the impossible to make our experience better with all this nightmare. They sent blankets, and were all the time trying to help even before we went to the hospital. This is very important when you are abroad specially in a little town like Cusco that you have never been before. This is what I call beyond the experience of a trip.... when something goes wrong and still people can make their best to a point that you just forget the trouble. the experience has to do not only with service but with caring and besides all the beautiful decoration and good service they achieved this... just wonderful!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnabeatrizBrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear AnabeatrizBrazil,

Thank you for your contribution on Trip Advisor.
Despite the inconvenience with your daughter, it is a pleasure to read we were able to make a difference when experiencing the night in the hospital.
Hope your daughter is back in shape

With our warmest regards,

Floris Boyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed here while visiting our daughter who lives in the Sacred Valley....this was a treat. The manager is so on top of things that every single detail is attended to. Service, food, atmosphere utter perfection ! If you can afford it treat yourself you will not be sorry.

Room Tip: Every room is beautiful..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marsha p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear MarshaP,

Thank you for sharing on Trip Advisor.
It was a real pleasure to have you with us and happy your daughter was able to make it. I have shared your kind note you left to me with the team. Anytime visiting again, I am sure we will meet.

With my best regards
Floris Boyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.0 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.0 mi away
Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Palacio Nazarenas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Palacio Nazarenas

Property: Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
Address: Calle Plazoleta Nazarenas 223 | Plazoleta Nazarenas, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 168 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Palacio Nazarenas 5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a tranquil plaza behind Cusco's main square, this former palace and convent emerged from years of restoration to become one of the city's most exclusive hotels. Step past walls of Inca stones and into a cloistered courtyard with an ancient fountain at its heart. Then be surprised as contemporary Cusco comes to the fore: a fabulous spa, the city's first outdoor pool and stylish restaurants serving cutting-edge local cuisine. This intimate urban retreat has just 55 suites, each enriched with oxygen and with its own private bar where guests can create drinks accented with fresh ingredients grown at and around the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond Palacio Nazarenas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing