We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decadent convent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
Ranked #1 of 167 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Decadent convent”
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Superb hotel in the middle of the bustling historic part of town, but an absolute oasis inside the gates. The only swimming pool in town right next to the bar and restaurant, in a separate courtyard.

Ask for rooms 101 / 103, amazing.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cmwellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear cmwellington,

Thank you for your comments.
Indeed, the location is very special and a great base to explore Cusco from.

Welcome back with us anytime

With best regards

Floris Boyen

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    638
    27
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
143
345
25
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed there overnight before catching an early train to Machu Picchu this week. Arrived in the afternoon and check-in was a breeze. The next day, the restaurant was open at 5 AM! for a very good continental breakfast. The room and bathroom were huge and beautiful, the toiletries smelled great, soda,gatorade, beer, juices, rum, pisco and snacks are included in rate. Very close to most atractions, restaurants and stores, but on a quiet square. Returned to hotel after a night in Machu Picchu and the bag left in storage, was already in the room. Requested steam pressing at 6:50 AM and the ítem was returned in 15 min. Great service overall. Defitely the best hotel we stayed in in Peru(,stayed at JW Marriot and Sol de Oro, Lima and at the Sanctuary)

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank lvmv29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Dear Ivmv29,

Thank you for writing us with your experience.
Indeed 5AM and our Breakfast Team are morning birds so allways there with a smile.
Hope on your next visit you will have more time to sleep in and enjoy the hotel grounds a bit more

Warm regards

Floris Boyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orinda, California
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here two nights in a junior suite in late April. We were immediately greeted and shown to a lovely brand new room-hotel is quite new. The room was large, not huge, with a beautiful terrace overlooking the swimming pool. We were on an upper floor with a view over the city. The bathroom was excellent, well stocked and excellent size. We were shown to our room by our personal "butler" who offered to make us drinks, pisco sours for instance, on demand. I laughingly asked what if I wanted the drink at 2 in the morning and was informed that it would take a bit longer as he would have to come from his home to the hotel. Excellent service! The bar next to the swimming pool was excellent and had a nice selection of bar food. Breakfast was good, not great, but very acceptable. All in all Palacio Nazarenas was a lovely oasis of quiet. The design if the hotel is lovely-they kept nice old touches of the original building and then added lovely courtyards with trees etc. The grounds need a bit of tine to grow in but an overall excellent mixture of modern and old. It seems that some of the smaller rooms that faced the courtyards might be a bit small-I don't know as I did not see them. Excellent location. It is not inexpensive at all, but we felt that the stay was worth the price.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sftcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Dear sftcat,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Regarding the breakfast, we are improving constantly trough feed back from our guests, I thank you for yours. As we are located in an ancient convent some of the rooms have kept their original size but the few smaller rooms we have are extremely charming and we managed to add a stunning bathroom in most.



Hope I will have the chance to show them to you on your next visit



With best regards

Floris Boyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Let me just add my voice to the chorus. This is simply one of the finest hotels anywhere. The room was terrific, the restaurant and bar first class, and the service was above and beyond. Highly recommend a stay on your way to or from Machu Pichu.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pvguy90274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Above and beyond, thank you! And for sharing…
Warm regards and welcome back any time

Floris Boyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is an outstanding hotel property. First, the location: it is only a couple of blocks outside the Plaza de Armas and there are several other tourist sites of note within only a few blocks of the hotel. Second, the property itself: there are many aspects of the buildings, the grounds, the courtyards and the rooms that show colonial and even Inca history. For example, the uncovered murals painted on some of the walls, and the inca walls that some of the rooms feature. Third, the service was top notch, from check in, to having a personal butler to the turndown service.

However, it was the small but important details that made this hotel one of the best experiences that we've had not only in Peru but anywhere else in the world. We experienced many examples of this. I wanted to eat dinner at a Peruvian steakhouse that was only a block away but when I went there during the afternoon to book a reservation, I learned that the restaurant was only open for dinner. I asked the concierge to book us a reservation. She not only booked us a reservation, but got us the best table in the restaurant without being asked. The next day the concierge sought me out to make sure that our dinner was a success and offered (without being asked) to handle our pre-checkin with our departing airline and printed out our boarding passes.

Another detail: the minibar items were included in the room rate and the staff made sure that we had no less than 5 or 6 bottles of water for us each day. Breakfast was included in our room rate and there was no extra charge for having breakfast brought as room service. It was fantastic not to get nickle and dimed for extra charges for these things and even better that the staff was actually encouraging us to take advantage of them.

All of this and the very highest quality furnishings and amenities. The bed was unbelievably comfortable, the rainforest shower, huge bathroom with heated tile floor, etc. A fantastic hotel stay experience from beginning to end.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mugro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Dear Murgo,

Thank you for taking the time to write.
I think you have very well expressed what we are about and it gives great pleasure to see our staff make it happen day after day, they realy are spectacular!
Hope to have you with us again soon,

With best regards

Floris Boyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I know how hard it is to restore old buildings! If you want to be dazzled by great service in one of the finest buildings in South America stay here during your stay in Cuzco. You will be tiered every day and you will appreciate the fantastic food, huge rooms and tremendous bathrooms.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex_from_Chile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Dear Alex from Chilie,

Great comments and indeed the restauration is painstakingly slow but we are happy with the results. Great to read you are too.

Best Regards,

Floris Boyen
Generak Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my partner following our hike on the Inca Trail to Machu Picchu. Cuzco is at a higher elevation than Machu Picchu, hence it is better to stay in Cuzco following the inca trail, rather than before. This was the perfect bit of luxury following our 4 day hike and we made use of the spa facilities. It is an absolutely amazing hotel with huge suites. Our room was one of the smallest, but it was still huge. The staff are extremely attentive and very friendly. The room had everything we could ever need, including complementary Pisco, Rum and mini bar! Our personal butler came and made us a pisco sour in our room, which was lovely. We had a massage while we were there which was very fairly priced, and much needed. The food was also very nice and not too expensive. The hotel is right in the middle of the city, but at the same time very peaceful and quiet. There are many shops, restaurants, pubs and museums nearby to keep you busy. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting something special.

Room Tip: They are all amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amy_five
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Amy_five,

Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor.

Great to read you had a good time and recoverred from your trek to Machu Picchu.

Value for money is very important to us, thank you for commenting on this regarding Spa and Restaurants, the best produce and Ingredients realy add value.

With best regards
Floris Boyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.0 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#5 of 167 in Cusco
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Palacio Nazarenas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Palacio Nazarenas

Property: Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
Address: Calle Plazoleta Nazarenas 223 | Plazoleta Nazarenas, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 167 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Palacio Nazarenas 5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a tranquil plaza behind Cusco's main square, this former palace and convent emerged from years of restoration to become one of the city's most exclusive hotels. Step past walls of Inca stones and into a cloistered courtyard with an ancient fountain at its heart. Then be surprised as contemporary Cusco comes to the fore: a fabulous spa, the city's first outdoor pool and stylish restaurants serving cutting-edge local cuisine. This intimate urban retreat has just 55 suites, each enriched with oxygen and with its own private bar where guests can create drinks accented with fresh ingredients grown at and around the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Belmond, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Belmond Palacio Nazarenas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing