We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Cusco”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
Ranked #1 of 165 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Cusco”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here the night we arrived in Cusco. I decided a luxury hotel would be a nice way to recover from the long plane ride and altitude adjustment.
The room was absolutely beautiful and the service was impeccable. The room was large with an ensuite bathroom that included a tub, separate shower and heated floors. The day we arrived in Cusco we spent the majority of our time relaxing in our room and exploring the hotel. The hotel has a bunch of garden areas and courtyards throughout the grounds.
When we finally decided to leave the hotel, upon our return we found that the clothes we had left about the room had all been folded and stored in the closet. Talk about great service.
I would 100% return to this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear LisaO,

Thank you for staying with us and commenting on Trip Advisor.

It is a pleasure to read and when back to Cusco, do let us know.

With best regards,

Floris Boyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    630
    27
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
143
339
25
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 442 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night prior to going to macchu Pichu and one night on our way back.

The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are amazing. Large bedroom with a beautiful large en suite bathroom.

You can make your own pisco sours in your room, choose the type of soap you wish for your bathroom, choose a scented pillow for your bed and enjoy special bath pillows - just out of this world.

The surroundings are beautiful as is the area by the pool where you can enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner.

The hotel is located minutes from the main square and the main museums.

I can't recommend this place more highly. The service by all staff was outstanding.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samcraig33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear SamCraig33,

Good to read your feed back of your stay, thank you for recommending us!

The staff is indeed outstanding and it makes us proud to see it come up time after time as it is the most important touch on top of a great product.

Welcome back any time with us

Warm regards,

Floris Boyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
191 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

The Palacio Nazarenas

There are two hotels of note in Cusco both by Orient Express. Palacio Nazarenas is the newer hotel and Hotel Monasterio the original. We chose to stay at the newer Palacio Nazarenas and weren’t disappointed. The hotel is a series of courtyards with suits and rooms tucked away discreetly within the original buildings. There is a more modern part which overlooks the swimming pool and restaurant. As you would expect, the staff are charming and extremely helpful, and the rooms are exquisite particularly the Nazarenas rooms which include original features such as archways and exposed brick work. Wonderful alpaca blankets on the beds.

There is a well run and very pleasant spa and we were able to obtain a male therapist at very short notice. The eating options were a little out of step with the rest of the building, being in the more modern addition over looking the pool area - the food at breakfast was good, but the restaurant lacked ambiance in the evening. There are plenty of other charming eating options in Cusco and I guess it would be a shame to be limited to your hotel. The hotel also has the original chapel from the convent that previously occupied the building, which is well worth looking at – as does the Hotel Monasterio next door, which has a pleasant cloister and a more traditional dining room.

The location of both hotels is almost next door to each other in a quieter but very central part of the city. Almost everywhere within the city is a short walk.

Tips for Cusco:
Try to plan your itinerary so you haven’t any trips or anything planned for your first day this will help your acclimatise and reduce any effects of the altitude.
On your first day walk slowly and take things slowly again this will help you acclimatise
There are some really cute backstreet areas of Cusco – BoHo type cafés and shops.
Also don’t miss the large indoor food market
Check them out.

Please read my other trip advisor reviews of this trip: Hotel B Arts in Lima, the Hiram Bingham train, the Palacio Nazarenas and the Hotel Rio Sagrado.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheTonyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Tony,

Thank you for your complete review.

I regret the atmosphere in the restaurant was a bit below your expectations but I can add that we are close to re opening the redecorated version. We will now have 2 separate areas, smaller and with a more intimate ambiance.

Truly hope that when you return to Cusco you let us know so you can taste the new concept.

With warmest regards,

Floris Boyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
157 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Often visitors only pass through or spend one night in Cuzco on their way to or from Machu Picchu.

Pity.

It remains one of the great historic cities in Peru. A place for exploring - plazas, cobbled stone streets, restaurants and pubs, busy markets, ongoing preservations projects and venturing out to ancient Incan ruins.

Two years ago we were in Cuzco and stopped by the Monerserio for lunch. We inquired about the extensive construction underway on the adjacent 16th century convent; hoping we might get a peek inside. We were unable to gain access, but were encouraged to return after Orient-Express completed their decade long project and sample the results.

We just returned from Cuzco and fantastic stay at the Palacio Nazarenas. With more than twelve years invested in the transformation of the former 16th century convent, our espectations were exceeded at this boutique property.

Unlike the Monasterio next door, this property has obviously been positioned to cater to up market travelers seeking both a historic elegance as well as unchallenged levels of services and amenities.

Butler service 24/7, fresh suite flowers changed daily, a variety of custom and scented pillow offerings, a private selection of organic baths (a must have for the roman tub) drawn and prepared as requested, a grand assortment of daily replenished mini-bar snacks, ensuite complementary bar service (carafes of Piso and Rum restocked as consumed) with butler preparation, if requested.

Our stay included:

• three nights in a Chica Junior Suite (we were upgraded to a Z Collection suite)
• breakfast each morning
• a three course dinner and wine pairing
• and a multitude of other perks


The butler team offered to assist us in creating a travel program for Cuzco, which we could accessed on an iPad provided during our stay. We passed on the offer but still thought it was creative. We also didn't require oxygen to be pumped into our veneration system; however, it was available upon request.

Touches we enjoyed at the hotel:
• the under-floor heating system, warming the Peruvian marble bathrooms
• well soundproofed walls and total blackout window shutters.
• carved antique furniture, a separate bathtub and shower, fresh flowers and plenty of space..
• the guest lounge; housed in the building’s former chapel, a great place for a cup of tea or coffee while considering what to do and where to go
• the spa in our treatment room (possibly in all others) glass panels were placed in the floor, enabling views of the ancient Inca walls beneath the building.
• breakfast by the only outdoor heated swimming pool in Cuzco with accompanied by music from an Andean harpist
• the extraordinary dinner at Senzo Restaurant in a refined atmosphere (we enjoyed five courses or six if the handmade chocolates served with our espresso was counted)

Ideas for spending time in and around the city:

walking the historic cobbled stone streets and plazas and exploring ongoing restorations

visiting Saint Pedro market and sipping a fresh chica morada

hiking from Palacio Nazarenas to Sacsahuaman and exploring with the aid of a local guide (usually a number of them are offering their services at either entrance to the site).
Or hire a guide with a car and driver to visit Sacsahuaman, Q’enqo and Tambomachay

Dining drinking and socializing:

1. La Bodega 138, Herrajes, 138 - only short walk from Palacio Nazarenas and a world apart in dining experiences. If you go, ask if Diego is working (one of the owners). Very, very casual, inexpensive and can be a lot of fun, depending on your spirit and those of your fellow diners.

2. Greens Organic, Santa Catalina Angosta, 135 - a casual second floor hangout for backpackers and 'tree hugger' types. Honesty and fresh simple food, at a fair price. If you can score the one table on the small balcony - take it!

Paddys Irish Bar almost everyone who spends much time in Cuzco will climb the stairs, try and find a place to sit and sip some liquid.

3. looking for a place with drinks, more English channel satellite TV choices and friendly barkeepers check out the new JW Marriott Cuzco


Whatever you do, don't just pass through Cuzco! This is a wonderful place to stay for a several nights and explore the history.

Room Tip: Take a second floor "Z" collection suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank omegaet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Omehaet,

So good to hear you took us up on our offer and return to sample Nazarenas.

And indeed, Cusco is growing and bohemian life is starting to take off seriously, definitely a city to spend several nights when in Peru.

Thank you for the detailed information, very useful.


With best regards,

Floris Boyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I stayed four nights in this beautiful and excellent hotel in Cusco. The rooms are marvelous in terms of the wood handcraft, ornaments, gardens and history. The service is five stars plus and one of the best I have ever received in my life. The trip from home is long but deserve it. The historical frame makes this place a mistical experience. I would recommmend this hotel to every person who trully appreciate the mix of history,good service and beauty. The beds, baths, linen and towels were of excellent quality. In sumary this was heaven for us.

Room Tip: Our room was garden view with a very confortable balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberto-SJPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Roberto SJPR,

Thank you for sharing this amazing review.

Peru is indeed very mystical and with great history, having this present in the hotel makes it even more special!
Being in heaven in Nazarenas is becoming our slogan

Warm regards

Floris Boyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I stayed at the Palacio Nazrenas after a 10 day journey in Peru. It was heaven. I knew it would be nice, but it exceeded all my expectations. I had a junior suite overlooking the main garden. It was spacious and super comfy. The linens were unbelievably good. The bathroom was so much fun. I seriously took a swim in the tub. The shower was also great. I didn't want to get out of it!

I had a great butler who came to teach me how to make Pisco Sour's in my room who made such a yummy one that I could've just sat there all night drinking.

The location is excellent. On a quiet square just down from the main bustle of the city. The grounds are immaculate with everything to offer from a spa to yoga spot to swimming pool.

The staff was amazing. They took care of everything and were super friendly and responsive.

One of the best hotel experiences I have had in a long time. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephysan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Stephysan,

Happy you were in heaven during your stay with us, and thank you for sharing this.
Aldough it makes exceeding expectations a bigger challenge every day, a challenge to look forward to.

Thank you for staying with us

With best regards

Floris Boyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, England
Level Contributor
350 reviews
188 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 382 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Perhaps it's as well that we stayed here for the final two nights of our holiday, for anywhere else would be a disappointment after the Nazarenes.
We are picky travellers, we like all our comforts and really appreciate fine hotels. This delightful haven of peace and tranquility in a bustling city suited us perfectly. No noisy groups overwhelming the breakfast buffet - well, actually the breakfast buffet was brought to our table as a fantastic arrangement worthy of a stilll life photo in any upscale lifestyle magazine.

It goes without saying that the bed was super comfy, the bathroom extremely well thought out and the amenities first class. Those are the easy things to get right - it's the incredible staff, their genuine concern for our well being and the warmth of their welcome, together with the seamless attention to detail which makes the difference between any other deluxe hotel and the Nazarenes.

Dinner - a special Valentines menu - was excellent. Beautifully presented, it was a sophisticated interpretation of Peruvian cuisine at its best and, by European standards, very reasonably priced.

Palacio Nazarenes goes straight to the top of our 'favourite hotels of the world' list, alongside the Villa St Michele, another OrientExpress property. We'd love to return!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elegantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Elegantraveler,

Thank you for a beautiful review.

A lot of thought went into everything from bathrooms, beds, the food,… but as many reviewers mention as well, it’s the genuine warmth of our team that makes it realy special.

Thank you for reminding us,

With warm regards,

Floris Boyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.0 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 165 in Cusco
1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Palacio Nazarenas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Palacio Nazarenas

Property: Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
Address: Calle Plazoleta Nazarenas 223 | Plazoleta Nazarenas, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 165 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Palacio Nazarenas 5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a tranquil plaza behind Cusco's main square, this former palace and convent emerged from years of restoration to become one of the city's most exclusive hotels. Step past walls of Inca stones and into a cloistered courtyard with an ancient fountain at its heart. Then be surprised as contemporary Cusco comes to the fore: a fabulous spa, the city's first outdoor pool and stylish restaurants serving cutting-edge local cuisine. This intimate urban retreat has just 55 suites, each enriched with oxygen and with its own private bar where guests can create drinks accented with fresh ingredients grown at and around the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Belmond, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond Palacio Nazarenas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing