We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
Ranked #1 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Having stayed at the Belmond hotel at Iguasu Falls in Brasil I was looking forward to another Belmond experience and was not disappointed. I booked the spa/lunch/room package for two separate nights before and after an Andes trek/Machu Picchu. We stayed in room 113 in the new portion of the hotel both times and really liked the room. My only regret is that we hardly had time to enjoy the property, so I will return and stay longer. With a longer stay we could have observed the weaving demonstration and enjoyed afternoon tea in the garden.

Upon arrival we were offered coca tea and then our butler (Manuel) walked us through the property and explained the features of our suite. We were glad that we could check in early at 1pm. Love the heated bathroom floor and the special soap (cut from a soap loaf by our butler). We had a lovely lunch at Senzo followed by massages at the spa. During our second stay we had a delicious dinner at Senzo. Prices were similar to restaurants in San Francisco ($10 quinoa salad), but the portions were larger (bottled water was $3.50). The breakfast was the private buffet during our first stay and a typical get-up and get-your-food buffet during our second stay.

The spa hours are 9am-9pm. The massages were very good and we were in the "couples" treatment room that has a private outdoor jacuzzi which can be used after the massage. There is also a steam room and showers in the spa as well as an outdoor relaxing courtyard. Except for the dressing rooms (showers and toilet), the spa is co-ed. My daughter and I were the only people there and did not realize that the steam room was not women-only. We wanted to use the steam room before our massage and it had to be warmed up (just a couple of minutes). We found broken glass inside when we entered (difficult to see with the steam) and let the staff know. They did not seem to understand even though we showed them the chunks of glass. Luckily we did not step on any of the chunks.

Our second stay was a bit complicated because the train from Machu Pichhu did not run all of the way to Cusco, so we switched to a bus and arrived at the hotel 2 hours later than expected. This meant we were too late for our spa appt. We had called to let them know we were running late and our butler quickly adapted. The spa stayed open late for us so we could get a quick dinner and have our massages at 9:30pm. We really appreciated the flexibility. However, given the quality and cost of the hotel we also expected the exceptional service. Another example of the great service was that our room package included a special herbal/oil bath. We were too busy to use the bath and since we were not a couple (mom and daughter) it would have been awkward to share a bath. Manuel told us we could take the bath treatments with us (the hotel sells the packaged up herbs and oil for $25). We did take two of the treatments and enjoyed them when we had time in Lima!

Only two areas for improvement. During our second stay the room was set up for a male/female couple instead of for two women (mom and daughter). Instead of two women's size slippers, we received a man's size and a woman's size and we received a mix of manly/feminine shampoo and massage oil. It was interesting that the bath product selection is customized. The second area for improvement is to offer a reasonably priced laundry service. $25 for 24 hour laundering a dress is too much. At our hotel in Lima laundering a dress is $8. We had an entire duffle bag of hiking clothes laundered for $15 through a per-kilo laundry service. However, the heated floors were great for drying clothing that we hand washed in the lavish bathroom of our suite.

I'm not someone who always stays at 5 star hotels, but when I am in a city with a Belmond hotel I will definitely splurge. If you enjoy staying in a historic area/structure that is unique and has an exceptionally warm and competent staff you will enjoy the Belmond Palacio Nazarenas.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BusyMomof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Busymomof4,

Great comment and thank you.

First of all, the broken glass was from one of the lamp protectors that broke due to temperature difference between the cleaning and your treatment, this is the first time it happened and since than we have changed them for plexi to avoid this in the future. My sincerest appolegies for this. Also, English is being improved trough intensive courses for our team, practice makes perfect, also an explicit mention of the unisex use of spa facilities is now included in our welcome.

Your suggestions for improvement are very spot on and have been addressed with our Housekeeping team.

Thank you once again and when back, do let me know direct so we can make it really unforgettable

With best regards

Floris Boyen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (726)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

385 - 391 of 726 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

Spent three non-consecutive nights at the Palacio Nazarenas. The hotel is a refined combination of an old convent with gorgeous courtyards, patios, fountains and elegant luxury with all the modern conveniences.

In a nutshell - our stay was fabulous, probably one of the nicest hotels I’ve stayed in – in a long time. Attention to detail is the name of the game at this hotel. Our first suite (224) was large, luxurious and no detail was forgotten. The balcony overlooking the serene courtyard was large and very comfortable. Almost everything in the room was included, from the wifi to the coffee and teas, all the items in the mini bar to the Pisco and rum in the classy decanters. A butler was available to come in and make Pisco sours! The rain shower in the luxe marble bathroom was divine. On our first arrival, in the morning, we were welcomed with a selection of delicious local cheeses. On our second arrival, in the late evening, we were surprised with a variety of desserts.

Our second suite was on the ground floor (112) even larger and just as luxurious. My only problem with this room was that it felt a little less private, the huge doors and windows opened up to our own patio, but beyond that was the courtyard walkway. Although there really wasn’t much foot traffic – it was more a perception of less privacy.

The location, 5 minutes from the main square, is ideal for sightseeing or grabbing dinner at many of the town’s restaurants. The included breakfast was a nice buffet, but they seemed happy to make anything for you and everything was beautifully presented. The entire staff was extremely helpful, attentive and professional. The outdoor pool was a little too cool for me, but my husband enjoyed an evening swim after exploring the sites around Cuzco. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: I'd request a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HobokenGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Great and complete comment, very much appreciated!

Aldough I understand your remark about the privacy, the large windows are loved by guests and as it is a secluded corner of the hotel and plants are gaining body, I trust this did not impact your stay too much.

In any case, I thank you for mentioning it.

With my best regards,

Floris Boyen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The hotel is magnificent. The service impeccable. Worth every penny. Highly recommend it for business, family, couples etc... Spa service was very good. It is centrally located right near the main Plaza of Cusco. Perfection!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cloclo2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear guest,

Perfection is a word we love and work hard for to try and accomplish, thank you.

Warm regards,

Floris Boyen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The Palacio Nazarenes is situated in an old nunnery from colonial times with beautiful courtyards and interesting nooks and crannies and gorgeous decor. There is, if anything, too many staff members, most with good English. Our room consisted of a large bedroom with a very large private balcony overlooking a courtyard and a positively palatial marble bathroom. The included breakfast is a "private buffet" which consists of yogurt, fresh fruit, juice, beverage, meat, cheese, delicious house-made breads and a selection of jams and honey, all brought to your table. There are many restaurants and shops within a few blocks. The Cathedral square is only about three blocks Way. The beds are very comfortable but the high altitude is not conducive to a good night' sleep.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DEngelJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear DEngelJ,

Happy to read your feed back and that you enjoyed all during your time with us.

With warm regards,

Floris Boyen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My wife and I met the staff and General Manager after he checked on us at our dining table. Service is first class. Accommodations are luxury at its finest, with nothing left out.The staff helped us with information, spa and the location of the silver shop next door. FLoris and staff are one of the best organized teams we've seen!! Can't wait to return!!

All you staff were fantastic...can not think of anything to change. We were guided for running location and given oxygen when we returned out of breath! What a great boutique resort! Love it!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Tony,

Thank you for your complete review.

With warmest regards,

Floris Boyen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We cannot say enough about this amazing property. The service and food were both outstanding. The location cannot be beat. We appreciated the heated pool after a day of touring.

The suites with large balconies facing the pool are fantastic. The concierge arranged a very good private guide for us (Carlos). It was a pleasure hanging out with Carlos around Cusco and the Sacred Valley for a few days as his command of the English language was very good as was the depth of his knowledge.

It would of been nice to have stayed here an extra night as we found that 3 nights in Cusco was not enough to truly enjoy the area.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank DrBeach77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Dr. Beach,

It is very important to read your feed back on our selected Guides, it makes all the difference to have somebody really passionate and able to capture your attention. Thank you.

As you mention, Cusco has endless options to visit, not to mention a relax day in the Hotel, absolutely worth using Palacio Nazarenas as a base to explore the area.

Thank you for reinforce this.

Best regards,

Floris Boyen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here the night we arrived in Cusco. I decided a luxury hotel would be a nice way to recover from the long plane ride and altitude adjustment.
The room was absolutely beautiful and the service was impeccable. The room was large with an ensuite bathroom that included a tub, separate shower and heated floors. The day we arrived in Cusco we spent the majority of our time relaxing in our room and exploring the hotel. The hotel has a bunch of garden areas and courtyards throughout the grounds.
When we finally decided to leave the hotel, upon our return we found that the clothes we had left about the room had all been folded and stored in the closet. Talk about great service.
I would 100% return to this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear LisaO,

Thank you for staying with us and commenting on Trip Advisor.

It is a pleasure to read and when back to Cusco, do let us know.

With best regards,

Floris Boyen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0 mi away
Inkaterra La Casona Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Palacio Nazarenas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Palacio Nazarenas

Address: Calle Plazoleta Nazarenas 223 | Plazoleta Nazarenas, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range: £296 - £570 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Palacio Nazarenas 5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Would the nuns in this converted 17th-century convent have approved of the pisco sour cocktail-making stations? Anything is possible, given the diverse incarnations of this contemporary urban retreat. Belmond Palacio Nazarenas was built on Inca foundations and became a palatial private home in the 1500s. It was owned by the conquistador Mancio Serra de Leguizamon—a warrior who is said to have gambled and lost the gold Inca image of the sun from the Coricancha temple. The Jesuits converted the building into a school in 1644, which itself became a convent in 1715. We’ve preserved all that’s most precious here: you’ll find original Inca stonework, colonial frescos and gold-framed paintings collected by the nuns. At the same time you’ll discover the best of the new world within our walls. We’ll look after you in the most elegant way possible, whether your idea of relaxing is taking a morning yoga class or an evening salsa lesson. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Belmond Palacio Nazarenas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing