We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“our visit to the Nazarenas” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belmond Palacio Nazarenas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
Ranked #1 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“our visit to the Nazarenas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We've just returned from our fantastic stay in the Nazarenas. we've traveled around the world but I don't think I've ever had such amazing and consistent service anywhere. Daniel, the head of butler services was so helpful in planning our "outings" and services at the hotel. I've never had someone draw an herbal bath for me, but I hope I get to do that again as it was delightful. and they were happy to set up our dinner in the bar one night so we could watch our Miami Heat play ball on the large screen TV while having dinner. the spa was very accommodating and we had a lovely couples massage our first night, what a nice way to begin our trip. I can't say enough good things about the hotel, our suite and the staff who all spoke English to me and Spanish to my husband, with ease. we look forward to returning to have more time in the lovely city of Cuzco and the Nazarenas!

Room Tip: We had a suite in the old section. I preferred this, room 203 was lovely and close to the restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank DebraLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Gerente at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Debra,

Thank you for your amazing comment.

Great to read we marked the difference for you and your husband and set the tone for the rest of your trip. We are now in the process of designing an experience where you hand pick your herbs in the mountains to then enjoy their effects in your bath, coming soon!

With warm regards,

FB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    600
    25
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
134
323
24
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Key Biscayne, FL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We spent three full days at Cusco @ Palacio Las Nazarenas. The service, food and room quality and the overall experience was fantastic.
The quality on the furniture, decorations, beds, bathrooms, etc. is really first class.
This is a smaller hotel than El Monasterio (right next to Las Nazarenas) and if you like boutique hotels this is probably your best choice in Cusco.
We strongly recommend this hotel if you want a unique experience during your Cusco visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BsAsKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear BsAsKB,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. First class is what we constantly try to achieve. It is great to read you had a good time with us.
Recommendations for a unique experience like yours are greatly appreciated.

Warmest regards,

Floris Boyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

There is no doubt that this is a beautiful hotel that's very well located. However, we found the staff rather formal and forced and the service somewhat ostentatious ... we had to stifle giggles during the whole "soap choosing and cutting ceremony" when we first arrived. And when a waiter brought our early morning tea to our room, he insisted on unloading each item on the tray with a running commentary ... "here's the teapot", "here are the cups", " here are the spoons" ....as though he were delivering gold bars! We MUCH preferred La Casona, which is literally across the street. La Casona is just as beautiful and stylish as Palacio Nazarenas, but the staff manage to provide excellent service without all the over-elaborate performance that seems to be the norm here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kent-UK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Kent UK2,

Thank you for your feedback and for sharing it on Trip Advisor. Our soap "ceremony" has won international awards. It is a fantastic support to local communities and part of our effort to become more sustainable. We regret to read you found it funny.

As I mentioned before, there is a thin line between excellent and "over" service, therefore we are constantly working on making things more fluent, spontaneous and customised to each Guest while keeping focus on our standards.

Best regards,

Floris Boyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cusco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

This must be one of the best hotels in South America. The location, ambience, amenities and customer service are unbelievable. Daniel was awesome and made our experience at the hotel amazing. I will definite choose this property if I is it Cusco again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nhu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Nhu P,

Thank you for your great review. I do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in Cusco and at Palacio Nazarenas. Please do let me know when you are making plans for your upcoming stay.

Best regards,

Floris Boyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLean, VA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Our experience at Palacio Nazarenas was outstanding. The staff is truly exceptional--professional, efficient, and dedicated. The hotel itself is a beautiful property with luxurious rooms with above-and-beyond service. The location in Cuzco is ideal. It is located on a quiet square yet just steps from the Plaza de Armas. We stayed at Palacio Nazarenas for three nights and each day was perfect. An unforgettable stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mpb43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear MPB43,

Thank you for sharing your 'unforgettable stay', as you said in your review!
I love the fact you mentioned our staff before our luxurious suites, indeed a great satisfaction for all.

Very best regards,

Floris Boyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

the most amazing hotel and service. the staff was really excellent. the location is very central and easy to walk around. the rooms are absolutely fabulous and the attention to detail is very impressive.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Deepa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear DeepaB,

Great to read your comments. Thank you very much!
With my very best regards and looking forward to having you back with us,

Floris Boyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Palacio Nazarenas consists of two buildings - one an original catholic convent and a newly constructed building that adjoins. (The monastery and chapel are next door and part of the co-owned Belmond Monasterio Hotel). The new building blends seamlessly into the old, and the architectural work is outstanding. Glass panels in the stone walkways show pieces of the old Inca walls that most of Cusco was built on. The smaller convent rooms ooze with the charm of the colonial era, and the larger suites around the pool (only one in Cusco apparently) are modern while retaining the amazing charm of the place. Bathrooms are splendid, and beds extremely comfortable. It's a relatively pricey hotel given the other options around town, but we found the experience and design worth the price.

This is a relatively new property, and we found the restaurant quite good (though not very busy), and the service warm and accommodating even when it is slightly uneven. Anyone you run into at the hotel is more than happy to assist in English or Spanish. The spa is lovely -- with good quality massage (be sure and ask for a 'strong' masseur if you prefer anything beyond a gentle rub. Willy was superb).

The location is quite good as well, just a 2 minute walk to the main square of Cusco. The short distance provides much valued peace and quiet, and lovely views of the mountains around the city. My partner and I discovered being a step away from the crowds of the square to be great, especially on weekends.

If you opt for a larger suite, request one on the second or third floors of the new building as you get views above the grounds. The convent rooms are quiet, very cozy and I felt the sisters warm presence throughout.

Enjoy.

Room Tip: If you opt for a larger suite, request one on the second or third floors of the new building as you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank basicsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Palacio Nazarenas, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Basic Soul,

Thank you for sharing your experience. I am happy to see you enjoyed the property quite well as you describe all facets of your stay very well. Thank you for painting the picture for others to read. Willy indeed is a great professional but you would be amazed with the strength and energy of our girls as well.

Hope to have you back upon your return to experience in person.

With best regards

Floris Boyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.0 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.2 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palacio del Inka, a Luxury Collection Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Cartagena Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Palacio Nazarenas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Palacio Nazarenas

Property: Belmond Palacio Nazarenas
Address: Plaza Nazarenes 276 | Plazoleta Nazarenas, Cusco, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Palacio Nazarenas 5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a tranquil plaza behind Cusco's main square, this former palace and convent emerged from years of restoration to become one of the city's most exclusive hotels. Step past walls of Inca stones and into a cloistered courtyard with an ancient fountain at its heart. Then be surprised as contemporary Cusco comes to the fore: a fabulous spa, the city's first outdoor pool and stylish restaurants serving cutting-edge local cuisine. This intimate urban retreat has just 55 suites, each enriched with oxygen and with its own private bar where guests can create drinks accented with fresh ingredients grown at and around the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Belmond, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, HotelsClick, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Belmond Palacio Nazarenas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing