We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovingly restored property” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rumi Wasi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rumi Wasi
Ranked #15 of 339 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
83 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Lovingly restored property”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

This is a beautiful property that the owner obviously put a lot of time and effort (and money) into. What you see in pictures is actually what it looks like and you won't find any dirt, chipping paint, mold etc anywhere in this hotel. It is only 7 rooms and very cute, with a great balcony for breakfast and a lot of picture opportunities. The staff are also amazing, and I want to single out Paul who was just wonderful! ANything you need, they will always be easy to find and will try to accomodate. I do want to mention a couple of things though. The number one being that it's cold in Cusco (at least when we were there in May) and there is no central heat. This is all very understandable and the hotel does everything to negate that- space heaters and even hot water bottles for your feet at night (a lot sweeter in real life than it might sound) but we were still always cold which wore us out. Bathrobes and slippers might be very helpful especially when trying to get out of the shower. Also, you can hear everything and sleeping was a bit of an issue at times. There were two consecutive nights of a man yelling, then a dog barking.. then whistling? All of this on top of altitude sickness made for some really bad sleep. BUT I'm only writing this to make sure people are aware, a lot of these things are just what come with the territory of a small hotel and you have to go with it. Other than that, I can't imagine what could have been changed. Really lovely little boutique, do stay here for a few nights and live like they used to in Cusco.

Room Tip: The room with a private balcony is right at the enterance- while the private space is nice, consider...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tasukete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    54
    15
    5
    5
See reviews for
42
112
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

It is very hard to write a bad review for a place where they try hard to make you happy but others travelers have done a great disservice to the rest of us by not telling the truth. I use trip advisor to hear the good and the bad so I can make an informed decision.

I am in the hotel right now writing this review at 6:52am where there was just another huge fireworks explosion. I say another because the first one startled me awake around 6:00am. This does not appear to be unusual because the exact same thing happened yesterday 3 times between 6-7am and scared me half to death the first time. In addition to the explosions, there are very, very loud ringing bells (like chuch bells when someone has just gotten married) happening right now that have been going on for more than 5 minutes so far. Again, that happened yesterday at the same time. I am not lying when I say that the doorbell of the hotel just rang for the second time this morning. First one around 6:30. Yesterday the doorbell rang at least 3 times between 6-7am. Each time it rings, it is followed by loud talking. The walls here are like paper so you can hear every word that is said. The church bells are still ringing and are now accompanied by a phone that someone is loudly running through the hotel to answer. I can also hear every plane taking off at the airport.

Being startled awake early in the morning is one thing but it is so much worse when it was impossible to go to sleep the night before. There is a dog who sits outside the hotel and barks until at least 11pm. That is followed by the disco 1 block away turning up their music. It sounds like one of those cars that pulls up next to you with the booming base and an idiot teenager inside permanently damaging their hearing. The disco blares their music until 4-5 am. (doorbell just rang again twice and another explosion that sends my heart soaring every time and another plane taking off). Back to the nighttime - the only thing worse than the disco are the drunk people entering the hotel in the middle of the night. On our first night here, it happened twice. A group of obviously drunk people fumbling with the key to get in the door of the hotel as they yelled and laughed at 12:30am. Second group came in an hour later and there was fighting in addition to yelling and laughing. The first night our room was positioned directly over the door so it sounded like they were in our
room. Needless to say I slept about 2 hours the first night and last night with a room away from the door and a sleeping pill, I slept for 5 hours.

Regarding the nice things about the hotel, it is located close to The main axa which makes ut easy to walk everywhere. The staff is eager to please. They serve a nice full breakfast that you order the night before. The decor of the hotel is charming which along with the positive reviews is why I chose to stay here. Other travelers have commented about the hot water bottles. The reason that they are used is because the hotel is uncomfortably cold. The sweater case around the bottle is not washed between various guests which I find unsanitary. The overall cleanliness of the hotel could be improved. I've been in 3 bathrooms of this hotel and all had a dirty floor.

If you are an extremely sound sleeper or one if the drunk people who stays here, I can see why you would write a good review. But, if you are a light sleeper, don't stay here. The nice staff doesn't make up for the lack of sleep. I stayed here on a Friday and Saturday night. Maybe it's quieter during the week.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jb1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevensville, Maryland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

I cannot say enough good things about Rumi Wasi and its owner, Edwin, and his wonderful, professional staff. Edwin's knowledge, personality and hospitality made our stay truly special. His personal touch and recommendations were very welcomed. We spent 3 days here as a group before our Inca Trail hike. No detail was left unmet—bag lunch at 5 a.m. before we left on our journey, turn down chocolates and hot water bottles in the bed! The rooms are comfortable and spacious. The inner courtyard was fabulous for getting together as a group for evening "picnics' and a glass of wine. Breakfast is plentiful and good. All around one of my best hotel stays ever. You felt like family and friends.

Room Tip: Rm 105 is very nice and has a deep tub that may be hard for those with mobility issues to get in and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kelcarib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

We highly recommend this hotel.
Very clean,personal and warmth service, lit candles at arrival,near the main plaza,great breakfast,hot wattle bottles for the beds to keep us warm.
What else can we ask for.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorge P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

This was a cute little hotel, more like a bed and breakfast. Staff was excellent and service was great. Nice location too, just a block from the main plaza. The small touches like made to order breakfast and the hot water bottle to heat the bed at night were amazing. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sangi119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catonsville, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

We stayed here the first and last night of our Honeymoon. The Rumi Wasi is well kept and the service was excellent. We felt welcome as soon as we walked in the door. Because we arrived early, they served us tea as we waited for our room. Once the room was ready, we walked into a cozy room with lit candles. This was our experience both times. The location was also excellent. Once you adjust to the altitude, it is an easy walk to markets, dining and sightseeing.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013 via mobile

This was the best hotel my husband and I have ever stayed at. It's a cute area with amazing little details and the decor is really great too. We arrived late after spending a whole day at Machu Picchu and we were welcomed warmly. We decided we were too tired to go out for dinner so we looked at the room service options and saw that the only had grilled cheese. I called the front desk and asked if they had a different menu and he brought me one right away with two joy water bottles to put in our bed. We ordered from the reasonably priced menu and only after we placed the order we realized that the food was coming from a restaurant in the main square. Guest services placed the order for us and picked it up. We didn't have to do anything but relax. It was a great experience and I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esanr, Owner at Rumi Wasi, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Thank you very much for your comment, we aim to make our guests feel at home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#16 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Costa Del Sol Ramada Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumi Wasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumi Wasi

Property: Rumi Wasi
Address: Calle Suecia No. 499, Cusco 84, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 339 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rumi Wasi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rumi Wasi (House of Stone) is a house with a colonial style built in the XVI century by Spanish conquerors and erected over Inca's terraces. The property was then bought by the San Roman-Vucetich family. Once the restoration was finished and after contemplating how beautiful it had been done, The San Roman-Vucetich family decided to share the warmth of its installations with Cusco visitors. Thus, we are waiting for you to enjoy a nice and comfortable atmosphere enriched for its architectural beauty, privileged view, history and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Rumi Wasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing