We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay and excellent service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rumi Wasi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rumi Wasi
Ranked #17 of 339 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good stay and excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

We had a very good experience at this hotel. We stayed in the room with the terrace and my parents stayed in the rooms with the stone walls. Both rooms were charming in different ways. You can't beat the city views from the terrace. Although it did get a little cold, the terrace room had a heater and hot water bottles were provided. I absolutely loved that they are "dressed" in sweaters and fleece jackets! So cute. I think we picked the best two rooms for location and noise. Also, the shower in that room has six shower heads! The hotel areas are very charming and breakfast was great. I liked that we were able to order exactly what we wanted the night before. We did not find the walk up the hill to the hotel to be a problem. If you are feeling a little altitude adjustment issue, the hotel will provide all the coca tea you could ever want. Also, location, location, location. On the main road as you walk to the square, there are vendors selling interesting jewelry. We only spent one night in Cusco as a whole and are glad the we chose Rumi Wasi. Manuel, the manager was extremely helpful and friendly. He arranged all our transfers to our hotel in the Sacred Valley and our return to his hotel. He was responsive to emails and everything that he set up for us worked out perfectly. If you need to make arrangements for your trip, even if it might be elsewhere in the area, he did a great job! We are very happy with our stay. Rumi Wasi was truly a more authentic experience with character than a larger more modern hotel and if that is what you are looking for this just might be the perfect place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank losharoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    54
    15
    5
    5
See reviews for
42
112
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

Rumi Wasi was super! It is very charming! It is spotlessly clean. The location is excellent! We were a little chilly (July), however we were provided with a space heater and hot water bottles. We were met at the airport by a driver. everything was seamlessly smooth! There was a little bit of noise from the street at night. I would highly recommend this hotel! Bring lots of warm clothes - really!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CisMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

From the moment my wife and I were greeted at Rumi Wasi we knew that we picked the right hotel for our weekend stay in Cusco. Upon entering the hotel we were greeted and taken to sit down and enjoy some hot coca tea while the manager pulled up our reservation. We booked the Terrace Suite and I would highly recommend this room to any couple visiting. The room features a large, private rooftop which you can take the stairs to from inside of your room. The rooftop features beautiful views of Cusco and the mountain skyline.

That night after an evening out at dinner we headed back to our hotel room to get ready for our trek to Machu Picchu the next day. As we reached back to the hotel, the manager asked us if we would like her to pack a lunch for us to take with us during our train ride the next day, my wife and I were blown away by such a thoughtful gesture. The weather was cold during our stay and that night as we snuggled into our bed, we discovered the staff had placed two large, hot water bottles inside the covers at the foot of our bed.....I'm telling you the service at this place was amazing.

During our stay the manager would arrange a taxi to pick us up from the hotel when we needed one (and the taxi would come right on time everytime, never late). The hotel also arranged for the taxi to pick us up from wherever we might need...train station, bus station, etc. And always on time. We had the same driver each time and he is one of the most friendliest persons I've ever met.

On our last day in Cusco we arranged to have breakfast sent to our room and we ate on the rooftop while taking in our last views of beautiful Cusco. As we left the hotel, the manager gave my wife and I two stitched figurines as an appreciation of our stay. I would recommend Rumi Wasi for anyone looking to enjoy an authentic local hotel in Cusco while receiviing first class hospitality.

Room Tip: The Terrace Suite has a private rooftop with beautiful views of Cusco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andre W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed here for our first two nights in Cusco, right before our Inca Jungle Trek tour. We arrived early in the morning, and after loading us up with Cocoa Tea and lots of advice about the city, they let us in our room early for some much needed sleep! And what a cute room it was! I love the personality of the room, with all the little window boxes filled with Peruvian knickknacks. At 9pm, we were treated to two hot water bottles to keep us warm - so nice!
The breakfast was wonderful, our first taste of the Cusco bread with Jam and some delicious coffee.
The location is fantastic - just minutes away from the heart of Cusco - the Plaza de Armas. It is quite a steep hill back up to the hotel (especially at Altitude!!) but you get used to it and the view from the top is always worth it!
I would highly recommend this B & B, the actual house which was built in the 16th century is just lovely, and if you go up to the top balcony the sweeping views of Cusco are incredible!

The staff were so friendly and helpful, and willing to answer any travel questions that we had! Thank you to Manual and staff for treating us so well!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank natty87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
100 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed here prior to our trip to Machu Picchu. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. It is in an excellent location right near the Plaza de Armas. They picked us up from the bus station and dropped us off at the airport for free.

The rooms are beautiful and clean and the breakfast was excellent. Our room happened to have a private roof deck overlooking the city from atop which we ate our breakfast each morning.

Furthermore, the service was nothing short of exceptional. Case in point, before we left, the hotel had booked us a tour of the sacred valley for our trip up to Machu Picchu. The tour operator screwed up and came late and then tried to double charge us. We decided to bail on this shady operator and scramble to line up something else at the last minute. This was entirely the tour operators fault, but the Rumi Wasi staff took it personally, chewed out the tour company and then comped our tour fee out of their own pocket. I was amazed.

This is an exceptional place in the beautiful town of Cusco.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the roof deck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CBEB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

Loved their house layout. Most comfortable room! HOT WATER did fluctuate a little but it always came back! Breakfast of your choice and quantity, served in location of choice.
Just 3 blocks away from Plaza das Armas. Late nights can be a little sinister due to local bars and night clubs but only on weekends. Helpful staff! Have fun ;)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank babilim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

I really liked this hotel, and give it 4 stars for it's location, extremely friendly and helpful staff, and it's authentic, peruvian style. It's located up on the hill right behind the main square of Cusco, so easy walking to the main attractions. The rooms are on the small side, but very clean, new and nicely designed in traditional style. The serve you a nice breakfast each day, cooked to order, nothing too fancy. The staff is wonderful, they help you get around Cusco, and to and from Machu Pichu. We left our larger luggage at this hotel before our trip up to Machu Picchu, and they took care of it for us.

I'd liken this hotel to more of an experience you might have at an inn / bed & breakfast or home stay. It's not for the luxury traveler looking to stay in a western style hotel. If that's your style - stay in the Marriot. For example, the windows in the hotel are wooden latched from the inside. If you are looking for a more local, authentic stay in Peru, I'd recommend staying here!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, one away from the road in the back of the hotel. We were one with our windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ocean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.5 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#16 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumi Wasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumi Wasi

Property: Rumi Wasi
Address: Calle Suecia No. 499, Cusco 84, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 339 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rumi Wasi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rumi Wasi (House of Stone) is a house with a colonial style built in the XVI century by Spanish conquerors and erected over Inca's terraces. The property was then bought by the San Roman-Vucetich family. Once the restoration was finished and after contemplating how beautiful it had been done, The San Roman-Vucetich family decided to share the warmth of its installations with Cusco visitors. Thus, we are waiting for you to enjoy a nice and comfortable atmosphere enriched for its architectural beauty, privileged view, history and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Rumi Wasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing