We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Amazing stay in Cusco!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rumi Wasi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rumi Wasi
Ranked #16 of 334 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Amazing stay in Cusco!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Wow -- what an excellent stay. Rumi Wasi picked us up on time from the Cusco airport, and showed us to an AMAZING room. Brick walls, cute as a button, and a comfortable bed. A hot shower, incredible homemade breakfasts, and a tremendously kind staff. They served us breakfast at 4AM prior to a Machu Picchu day tour (!), and arranged a taxi for us to return to the airport. The WiFi was fast and free (fast enough to make a few critical Skype calls after a flight cancellation), and they let us check out a little late as we were scrambling to make new plans for our return to the U.S. This place is absolutely fantastic.

It's a quick 5 minute walk to Cusco's main square, and a 10 minute walk to San Blas -- eat at Jack's Cafe while you're there!

Room Tip: Room 101 was super cute and had great Wi-Fi signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DarrenNCSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    54
    15
    5
    5
See reviews for
42
112
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

A wonderful hotel in Cuzco. I stayed here with my fiancé for four nights. We had the only room with a terrace. It was absolutely lovely. One can decide where you want to have breakfast and we had it every day in the terrace with an amazing view over Cuzco.

The staff was very helpful and friendly.

The location was perfect with a quiet street outside. But beware because it's located on a steeply rising street which isn't very good if you want to avoid altitude sickness but you can walk very slowly or go by taxi.

Room Tip: Ask for the lovely room with the terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed at Rumi Wasi a total of 6 nights. Mid stay we left for a couple days for Machu Picchu and they kindly kept a few of our bags for us so that we could travel light. The place is charming, clean and in a great location a couple blocks from the main square. The shower was great and there was a space heater in the room that kept us plenty warm. The bed was wonderfully comfortable and every evening we came back to a toasty bed with hot water bottles under the covers. We had a delicious breakfast every morning up on the balcony with a fantastic view of the city. Can't go wrong!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahMCWN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We had a very nice room with a wonderful view from a terrace on the roof. Very helpful and friendly staff. It is not far from the center of Cusco. Short walk. Good Breakfast. Recomanded. :) Thank you Rumi Wasi :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linn-kristin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Stayed here for two nights with my 2 daughters on trip into the Sacred Valley. Book through reviews with TA and based on price. Rooms are rustic, clean with no central heat or A/C. It was cool/cold during our stay and we had comfy beds with hot water bottles brought in each night. A bit drafty, but with the auxillary oil heating units, it was not at all uncomfortable. Good chioce, but beware the hotel is located up a steep narrow street/walk way that will tax you if you are not acclimatized to the altitude. It was no real issue, just something to know about.

This is not a boutique hotel, nor is it like any traditional Western style hotel. Rooms are gathered around a central court yard on two floors. No lobby, no restaurant - but a great breakfast served each day. The staff were not visible, but they were there - and when they appeared or called in, they were very helpful; especially in arranging our transport to/from the airport and train station.

I liked it; but it took a day for my daughters to warm up to its appeal. Price was good, and overall location near the main squares is great. More than worth a go if you want something authentic and different.

Room Tip: We had an interior courtyard room with no view to really speak of. There are no screens or glass in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at Rumi Wasi during in December 2013. The hotel itself is lovely - a classic building wonderfully renovated with modern amenities. The location is also brilliant - only a 2 minute downhill strawl to the Plaza de Armas with all its restaurants and shops.
As nice as the hotel itself is - the best part was the customer service. I do a fair bit of business travel, and I must say I've never experience such excellent service anywhere. Manual (the manager) was especially helpful, offering to explain all the relevant information about Cusco and surrounding areas, and helping with advice on activities and things to do.
I highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yuri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings On Hudson
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

My 20 year old daughter and I stayed here for four nights while traveling in the Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu. In room custom breakfasts were brought every morning by very friendly and helpful staff. We loved the fuzzy water bottles placed in the beds at night. The location is two blocks from Plaza de Armes so it was near everything but also nice and quiet at night. Very reasonably priced, including one way to or from the airport on them. Highly recommend this place.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#7 of 162 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
0.5 mi away
Antigua Casona San Blas
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#16 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumi Wasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumi Wasi

Property: Rumi Wasi
Address: Calle Suecia No. 499, Cusco 84, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 334 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rumi Wasi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rumi Wasi (House of Stone) is a house with a colonial style built in the XVI century by Spanish conquerors and erected over Inca's terraces. The property was then bought by the San Roman-Vucetich family. Once the restoration was finished and after contemplating how beautiful it had been done, The San Roman-Vucetich family decided to share the warmth of its installations with Cusco visitors. Thus, we are waiting for you to enjoy a nice and comfortable atmosphere enriched for its architectural beauty, privileged view, history and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Rumi Wasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing