We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wakapunku Hotel Boutique
Ranked #65 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2013

The room is very small and it barely has enough room for 2 people with 2 suitcases. Some cloth hooks at the back of the doors may help to hang clothes etc. Without proper ventilation, bathroom has some moldy smell.Staff is very accomodative and had given us the room before normal check in time. Location is only 5 minute walk from the square which is relatively quieter for rest.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

140 - 146 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2013

Stay at Wakapunka!!!! What a great place to base ourselves in Cusco ... close to everything you need to see and do in Cusco, a modern clean spacious room .... decorated with Peruvian flair! Juan and his small team are just so lovely and friendly. All speak English and can not do enough to help and make you feel welcome and comfortable. A basic but sufficient breakfast to get you on your way is included in the price. Juan also made sure there was a room available for our VERY early morning check in ... which allowed us to have a quick snooze after our VERY early bus arrival from La Paz .. enabling us to head out clear headed and ready to enjoy all that the beautiful ciudad of Cusco has to offer. If I am lucky enough to get the opportunity to return to Cusco and Machu Picchu .. I will definitely be knocking on the door of Wakapunku Boutique Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a 'balcony' room ... ... the balcony is teeny tiny, but it is great to stand out the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellingvictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

We loved the service at WakaPunku. The staff went out of their way to make us feel at home. In a hotel of only 6 rooms they really make you feel special. The location could not be beaten, very close to the main plaza. It was obvious the hotel has recently been renovated to a good standard. We spent longer at this hotel than any other hotel on our trip in Peru. Would stay again

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulyH60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

We never got to stay here, however I am using the hotel's wifi to write this review whilst we wait for a taxi to another hotel. Having spent 12 hours on a bus getting to Cusco, a further 15 soles in a taxi to try and find the place, we were told that despite us having both confirmation emails and booking.com confirmations there was no room for us. The hotel claimed they had emailed us, we have checked inboxes, spam etc and have nothing. We are now stuck in Cusco late at night, the hotel has pointed us in the direction of their sister hotel which is a little further out of town. Terrible. Incidentally two other guests have passed us and told us that it may be a blessing that we're not staying as they have had two room changes already. Avoid.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olitrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Jose M, General Manager at Wakapunku Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Dear Mr. Boundy,

The staff in Wakapunku always do our best to ensure that our guests have a comfortable and pleasant stay in Cusco, as such we would like to take the opportunity to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience with your reservation. We have taken all the neccesary measures to ensure that this won´t happen again in the future.

I am aware that the problem we have caused you during your visit is now beyond any possible compensation, however I did not want to miss the opportunity to express to you our regret for causing this trouble.

Sincerely,

Juan Jose Mendoza
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

we stayed at Wakapunku for 4 nights during our recent stay in Peru, and it was ine of the best hotels we stayed in during our latin american trip. EXCELLENT SERVICE, and the location twoblocks from the plaza couldnt be beaten. Fantastic

Room Tip: We loved the yellow room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank briboy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights prior to moving on to the NM in Lima. We really loved our stay. The rooms were spacious and well lit, and we loved the decor. The staff went out of their way (Evelyn) to make sure our stay was pleasant, and made sure we had everything we needed. Location was one of the best things about this place. At the back door of a coupe of Cusco's best hotels, it says something about the neighborhood. Really recommend this one to those looking for a special unique stay on a budget!

Room Tip: We had the Blue room, which was perfect for two - and loved the little balcony out the front!.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Only a few steps away from the centre of Cusco, this was one of the best located hotels on our trip. We really enjoyed this colonial style building. The modern touches to the rooms were pleasant and we found the hotel excellent value. The steps up to our room on the third floor were a bit of a
Climb the first day due to altitude( maybe my bad lungs!) but the enjoyment of the hotel outshone the one drawback. Our loft room was light, spacious and I enjoyed the separate tv area. A good stay was had, mostly due to the convenience!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cgtravels1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ruinas
Hotel Ruinas
#52 of 171 in Cusco
270 reviews
0.4 mi away
Los Andes De America Hotel
0.1 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Unumizu Cusco
Hotel Unumizu Cusco
#49 of 171 in Cusco
322 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Garcilaso
Hotel Garcilaso
#74 of 171 in Cusco
240 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amaru Hostal
Amaru Hostal
#34 of 171 in Cusco
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wakapunku Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wakapunku Hotel Boutique

Address: Choquechaca Nro. 133 | Centro Historico, Cusco, Peru (Formerly Wakapunku B&B)
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range: £44 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wakapunku Hotel Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just two blocks from Cusco's main plaza and minutes to some of Cusco's best known bars and restaurants, lies the hideaway WakaPunku boutique hotel. Meaning "Door to the Sanctuary" in the native Quechua language, we have worked tirelessly to make the hotel warm and inviting to the weary traveller, and offer exceptional service to match the exceptional value for our hotel. Each room is unique; its layout provides an oasis of calm in Cusco. With abundant 24 hour hot water, comfortable beds and modern necessities such as an iPhone dock in every room, we hope you feel comfortable during your stay with us. At WakaPunku we go the extra mile, from our complimentary mini-bar to buffet continental breakfast with fresh natural juices, we leave no stone unturned in our quest to offer exceptional value in this exceptional city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wakapunku Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing