We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wakapunku Hotel Boutique
Ranked #64 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Merced, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

This was my second visit to Cusco and at this time, I only stayed at this hotel (for three nights). This hotel is comfortable and well maintained. All the staffs are kind enough and the food (breakfast) is okay.

Wifi is strong (somewhat getting weaker at evening times). Shower facility is well equipped and has enough hot water.

Cons: The room is somewhat warm at night and humid.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank idmolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    99
    21
    12
    3
See reviews for
31
140
33
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the first 3 nights of our Peru trip, before heading to Pisac and Machu Picchu, it's so good we've booked another two nights!

Cusco can get pretty crazy, so it's great to be able to return to such a relaxing place. Bright and clean, creative lighting and an awesome spacious bathroom. There's even this fancy fireplace heating thing halfway up one of the walls which we never used but looks great.

The staff were friendly and very helpful with any questions we had and overall it was the perfect place to come home to each evening.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Doctorlindemans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

I arrived to Cusco without a hotel reservation but with an incredible headache due to the atitude.
I went straight to WakaPunku because a friend recommended it before. Fortunately, they had a room available at a really good price :) The room was very comfy and the staff was incredible helpful.
I only stayed a couple of nights but I was very satisfied with this little boutique hotel.
One more thing, location is perfect, just 3 bocks from the main square so I didn´t need to take taxis at all.
Definitely recommendable!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cecirules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Three friends and I stayed at Wakapunku for several nights and had a WONDERFUL experience. The cost per night was modest and the staff at the front desk was incredibly friendly. They helped us to set up a walking tour of Cuzco, a driving tour of Sacred Valley, and our trip to Machu Picchu. They even made breakfast available at 5 AM when we left early for Machu Picchu! The hotel is in the center of the city near great restaurants and sites, including the Cathedral of Santo Domingo. We walked everywhere. The next time I'm in Cuzco, I will absolutely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank BangaloreTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Great little boutique hotel, The staff were very helpful and friendly. Room serviced everyday and had a comfortable bed, clean and modern bathroom with hot water. It is perfect to help acclimatise to the altitude and to come back to from a big day, or a big week if you do a trek. It is centrally located making it easy to find your way around Cusco. The hotel is very secure, they even held my main luggage whilst i was on the Lares Trek for 4 days. I absolutely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jet502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyattsville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

The hotel is located on a small cobblestone street. The rooms are nice and clean and some rooms have balconies. The breakfast was nice and we enjoyed our stay. We would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sethdwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

This is perhaps the best cost benefit hotel we've stayed at during our entire Peruvian experience. It's a very small but cozy hotel located a 5-minute stroll away from Plaza de Armas. Staff was very attentive. We had one of the balcony rooms, which was very big with a very modern ambiance. Room was clean, comfortable and cozy, with a large bathroom.

The only downside was the breakfast; it was good but somewhat lacking. However, considering the price for stay and the quality of the rooms, we didn't care much. We recommend this hotel for the budget-oriented traveler who wants to get nice accommodations after the exhausting and amazing experience of visiting Peru.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
0.1 mi away
Estancia San Blas
Estancia San Blas
#58 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Amaru Hostal
Amaru Hostal
#34 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.1 mi away
Illa Hotel
Illa Hotel
#39 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Esmeralda by Ananay Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wakapunku Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wakapunku Hotel Boutique

Property: Wakapunku Hotel Boutique
Address: Choquechaca Nro. 133 | Centro Historico, Cusco, Peru (Formerly Wakapunku B&B)
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wakapunku Hotel Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just two blocks from Cusco's main plaza and minutes to some of Cusco's best known bars and restaurants, lies the hideaway WakaPunku boutique hotel. Meaning "Door to the Sanctuary" in the native Quechua language, we have worked tirelessly to make the hotel warm and inviting to the weary traveller, and offer exceptional service to match the exceptional value for our hotel. Each room is unique; its layout provides an oasis of calm in Cusco. With abundant 24 hour hot water, comfortable beds and modern necessities such as an iPhone dock in every room, we hope you feel comfortable during your stay with us. At WakaPunku we go the extra mile, from our complimentary mini-bar to buffet continental breakfast with fresh natural juices, we leave no stone unturned in our quest to offer exceptional value in this exceptional city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wakapunku Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing